Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars17
3.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 2011
Just finished reading this book and it is not a biography but just a collection of press cuttings and third party interviews. There are no direct interviews with Rory and most of the content I am sure you will have already heard if you have been following the young lad. I wouldn't waste my money on this book
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
An extremely disappointing and badly written biography. This has clearly been thrown together, as indicated by the huge amount of repetition, spelling mistakes and grammatical errors. Rory should probably have waited a few years instead of allowing someone to churn out this garbage. Garbage which assumes that the reader is too stupid to recognise that the content is too thin to warrant its 250-odd pages.
11 comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
I really admire Rory McIlroy, but this biography was very disappointing. Granted, it's very difficult to make a volume out of so short a life, and I didn't want to wait until he's past it before reading about the great golfer, but they even used large type to spread it out! There was an awful lot of reprinting of interviews, none of which appear to have included the author himself. Another favourite trick was to quote what a fan had said - not a very authoritative opinion! Very few insights from Frank Worrall. Overall I felt cheated, I'm afraid.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
Some factual errors detract from the quailty of this biography. As an amateur golfer I can identify with the issues Rory had to deal with as he tried to make his way in the professional game, but the book wasn't a "can't put it down" read.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Sports book of the month

[...]

Thankfully, the prolific sporting biographer Frank Worrall reminds us of the young man's undoubted talent in a tone which counter-balances much of the unnecessary criticism and over-analysis to which he's been subject....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
Don't know if the book was any good got it for my daughter to give to her boyfriend who the next day finished with her before she gave it to him so now in Car boot box
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
He still only in his early 20's and so so much to do in life on and off the course, this was a good teaser of what could be an even greater book in 30 years time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
just finished book,on my new kindle (first book i downloaded)as im from n.i.it was very interesting hope the next book is as good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
Only bought this book because it was £1 on kindle. It is not a traditional biography in the sense the author hasn't put much research into it. The author seems to have written many 'biographies' and from that alone you can tell not much time goes into them. I didn't learn anything new which would be the same of most golf or Rory fans. However if you know very little about Rory this book may be quite informative
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Picked up this book whilst on holiday,pleased I never paid for it,anyone remotely interested in golf could have made a better effort,the only part that held my interest was his early days as a junior of which no pictures are included,a very lazy attempt at a biography.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse