Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great
As soon as I received this book a client asked me to produce a module for Magento which was described in this very book so the delivery was absolutely perfect timing.

I have found that the recipes in this book are easy to follow and produce a nice learning curve throughout. I'm more of a front-end developer, as opposed to a programmer, but I still find it very...
Published 8 months ago by S. M. Perry

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Cookbook with basic recipes for beginner chefs
This book is aimed at those with little or no knowledge about Magento and is of little use to people that already knows how it runs. I expected a book packed with "recipes" for modules or extensions that could in fact be potentially implemented in online stores currently running, or at least as starting blocks. The majority of these recipes are closer to...
Published 8 months ago by Charles Thomas Leftwich


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Jun. 2014
By 
S. M. Perry (Staffordshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magento 1.8 Development Cookbook (Paperback)
As soon as I received this book a client asked me to produce a module for Magento which was described in this very book so the delivery was absolutely perfect timing.

I have found that the recipes in this book are easy to follow and produce a nice learning curve throughout. I'm more of a front-end developer, as opposed to a programmer, but I still find it very useful and I would strongly recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Cookbook with basic recipes for beginner chefs, 22 May 2014
By 
Charles Thomas Leftwich (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is aimed at those with little or no knowledge about Magento and is of little use to people that already knows how it runs. I expected a book packed with "recipes" for modules or extensions that could in fact be potentially implemented in online stores currently running, or at least as starting blocks. The majority of these recipes are closer to "Hello world" that teach the concept and theory but very little in terms of practicality. Just glad I bought the Kindle version and not the hardback copy that was three times the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant guide for getting you up and running with Magento, 31 Mar. 2014
The Magento development cookbook is a brilliant way to dive in with Magento and get to learn the structure of the system and how to start developing with it. You will need some basic HTML and CSS knowledge, along with a bit more knowledge of PHP and MySQL, but anyone who has this will find the book very easy to navigate and get up and running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to become a Magento dev or are already one, read on..., 27 Feb. 2014
By 
J. Horton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As long as you have the basic skills (PHP/MySQL/Magento user) then this cookbook is what other Magento titles have failed to be. Fully comprehensive! Starting with a succinct guide to set up a development environment which goes beyond the bare minimum you would get in your average online tutorial. And this is a pattern repeated throughout almost all the recipes, out of the 30 or so I have read so far, without exception. The authors give more than the bare minimum. Which is of course what you would expect in a book of this price but so often you don't get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Judge this book by its cover and you'll know what to expect..., 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magento 1.8 Development Cookbook (Paperback)
The eight part Magneto developer guide provides the majority of this book, written in a far clearer way: http://www.magentocommerce.com/knowledge-base/entry/magento-for-dev-part-1-introduction-to-magento
Don't waste your money on this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magento 1.8 Development Cookbook
Magento 1.8 Development Cookbook by Bart Delvaux (Paperback - 21 Feb. 2014)
£27.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews