Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you've got the basics of Angular mastered and want to know more
Not recommended if you're completely new to Angular, this book assumes you're confident with using Github to review code and gives you an overview of the thinking going on behind building large apps using Angular
Published 8 months ago by Damien McMahon

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very misleading!
Totally agree with review from "GotRippedOff", I bought that book on the sole assumption that it would be a "a step-by-step guide showing the readers how to build a complete web app with AngularJS", which has always been for me the best way of learning a new technology/framework, but you never get to actually build anything, just a presentation of the various components...
Published 9 months ago by bstenm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very misleading!, 23 Oct 2013
Totally agree with review from "GotRippedOff", I bought that book on the sole assumption that it would be a "a step-by-step guide showing the readers how to build a complete web app with AngularJS", which has always been for me the best way of learning a new technology/framework, but you never get to actually build anything, just a presentation of the various components of angular, the explanations and advice are not without worth but I can get that from the numerous free tutorials now available online. I'm just left now with the sample application that I basically have to work out for myself which would be a mammoth task (to make matters worse the files are scarcely commented).
Not very nice to mislead your customers really, bordering on disgraceful in my opinion...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you've got the basics of Angular mastered and want to know more, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not recommended if you're completely new to Angular, this book assumes you're confident with using Github to review code and gives you an overview of the thinking going on behind building large apps using Angular
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delivers on content but lacks a bit in presentation, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angularjs Web Application Development (Paperback)
The content, which is by far the most important part, is good. I think this is a great starting point for learning AngularJS and also a great resource for people who have already spent a bit of time on it. I took some very good advice from this book and the example app on GitHub also contained some very good pointers.

That being said I feel that whoever edited this before print didn't do a very good job. There are *lots* of grammar errors and sentences that does not make any sense unless you remove words that clearly is left over after they were rewritten. There's spelling mistakes in several places and many of the code examples either have inconsistent indentation or wrap over on the next page.

I'll still recommend it, but I can't defend giving it a 5 star rating. I blame that on the editors (and/or publisher) and not on the authors, I think the authors did a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - not meeting expectations, 27 Mar 2014
By 
As the other 1-star commenters said it's barely usable beyond chapter 2 if you expect the book to teach you how to write a complete AngularJS app. It was my understanding from the title and promotion that I'd get just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Aimed at professional web developers, may not suit beginners., 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angularjs Web Application Development (Paperback)
Good book but heavy going. It covers everything in AngularJS you may need for a commercial site, including testing and avoiding various attacks. It very much assumes you read carefully and refer to the complete examples (which are downloadable).
As a beginner with Angular, I also bought 'AngularJS' by Brad Green & Shyam Seshadri and 'ng-book' by Ari Lerner.

I would say that 'AngularJS' is a good beginner's introduction, 'ng-book' is a complete reference of all the directives etc. and this book is very good for what it says: 'Mastering Web Application Development' for the serious developer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well explained and concise, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angularjs Web Application Development (Paperback)
[Spoiler] The book ain't for total noobs.

I like the way AngularJS usage is explained, and it has pretty good code examples for one to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AngularJS meets an emerging need, 8 Sep 2013
This review is from: Angularjs Web Application Development (Paperback)
First, a disclaimer: This is the best book on AngularJS co-authored by my son-in law. But I wouldn't be writing this review if I hadn't spent quite a lot of time over the last ten years cursing the HTML DOM and the successive generations of Javascript and its frameworks intended to use it to make viable web front ends.

Having got that out of the way, I'm going to summarise why it might be of interest to you by extracting two things from the book: the first paragraph on Page 7, and the diagram at the top of page 214.
From the first paragraph: "AngularJS is a client side MVC framework...helps to write single page AJAX-style web applications. ...Shines when used to write Create Read Update Delete type web applications."
The diagram on Page 214 shows the architecture: On the left side the business logic, in the middle scopes and digests, and on the right the user interface, with AngularJS Directives between scopes and digests and the HTML markup.

In other words, here we have a modern, properly designed framework focussing on the actual goals of the application developers rather than hacking a way around the fallout from the browser wars.

The book covers the how-to of this in a rather technical way, with a lot of useful material on security, the back end, and the development philosophy of the authors. Like me they are extremely lazy, which means they emphasise the reduction of grunt work through build automation, test driven design, and code reusability. This is all good stuff even if you never intend to write an AngularJS application.

The AngularJS approach is an attempt to leverage the good bits of Javascript (they exist, and there are features of the language which I personally consider to be excellent) while protecting the developer from as much of the cruft as possible. This has of course been done before, but frameworks like JQuery end up with their own cruft and cryptic usages because, deep down inside, the authors are still really manipulating the DOM in their own minds. AngularJS tries to insulate the application design from the DOM as far as possible, without producing so many layers of framework nesting that debug has to extend to the frameworks themselves.

Its approach also lends itself to design by larger teams because of the clean separation of the UI, the API, and the business logic.

Who is the target reader?
Sticking my neck out, but not very far, I suggest one obvious target reader is the system architect or software engineer who is tasked with providing a suitable architectural framework for a new web application which has to run on a variety of platforms and which has significant data storage and management requirements. Reading this book will be a good start on deciding whether this is the right approach given the capabilities and skills mix of the company.
Another, larger group of potential readers is, perhaps equally obviously, students and others who want to work with a robust, well underpinned and somewhat future-proofed framework using modern software technology.

I've given it 4 stars rather than 5 because, as I note above, I'm related to one of the authors, and I can't afford to let them get too swell headed over the excellent job they've done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DONT BUY THIS BOOK!!!!, 10 Oct 2013
When I first came across this book, I was very excited. The book claims to teach you how to build an Agile Project Management Application. The author says he will teach you the development stack of using node.js and grunt.js and teach you to use Karma-Runner and Jasmine for testing.

Its bogus, the book doesn't teach you anything and you never build a single line of code, each chapter gives abstract examples of code, but it never ties it into actually build the application. Its impossible to build code files if they don't show you where to put them or what to name them. These guys have no business in publishing a book, because if your looking to actually learn AngularJS which has a steep learning cure to start out with, this book will only frustrate you and leave you with no valuable information.

I have been a web developer for over 18 years, and I have learned many technologies from books. Books that actaully walk you step by step in building an application - these guys SUCK!!!! The first two chapters get you rammped up to start coding, you start off thinking at some point we will fire up WebStorm and open the terminal and do something with node.js and grunt.js - but that never happens, yet the author keeps stating in the first two chapters that as we progress in building the application.... they are full of crap!!!!

After chapter 2, there is no mention of any of the tools or how to use them. They say you don't need any knowledge of node or grunt or jasmine, yet they never even show where to use it.

DONT GET RIPPED OFF!!!! AVOID THIS BOOK!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angularjs Web Application Development
Angularjs Web Application Development by Pawel Kozlowski (Paperback - 7 April 2013)
26.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews