Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars downfall
this is a really good read for anyone interested in WW2 and the battles that standout as turning points in it giving a lot of detail and facts. it is a striking story of the hardships that the people had to endure and how sheer determination can keep you fighting through to a final victory. written with a lot of detail and I would recommend it as a first class history book
Published 22 months ago by bluenose

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A basic introduction to the Russian campaigns
A little disappointed, frankly. I found this book rather shallow. It is perhaps, a good introduction for say, 5th or 6th former students, seeking to discover more about the German - Russian campaigns. I did not care for its format either. It is in large print, with a simplistic, almost child-like presentation. It attempts to explain far too much in a far too short a book...
Published 3 months ago by Mr. M. Herbert


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars downfall, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a really good read for anyone interested in WW2 and the battles that standout as turning points in it giving a lot of detail and facts. it is a striking story of the hardships that the people had to endure and how sheer determination can keep you fighting through to a final victory. written with a lot of detail and I would recommend it as a first class history book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive account of one of the key events of the 20th century, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book sets the battle for Stalingrad into the context of both the war on the Eastern Front and the Second World War as a whole. It is a very good introduction to the subject, though is probably not going to add much to the knowledge of anyone who is already well read on the Great Patriotic War. It is very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable and well organised, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have already read books on this terrible battle, I've watched as many films and history programmes I can find so half expected this book to be more of the same... it is and it isn't. Yes the facts are there obviously but the writer gives so much more and presents his work in an extremely readable way. He gives so much detail about the backgrounds of the conflict and he does so with a direct and conversation type way that I know they will stick in my mind. The way the chapters are organised in a way that you don't find yourself trawling through overly long chapters with well placed sub-headings. This made a recent tram trip very easy as the book can be put down / picked up / repeat as necessary... I would tell anyone interested in Stalingrad and the World War in general to buy this. Actually even if your not interested in Stalingrad or the World War then buy it anyway because anyone could read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stalingrad, 24 Dec. 2013
Very informative and I believe factually correct, gives a good account of the problems faced on the western front, and a picture of the Russian resolve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read history on a great battle, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read lots of books on Starlingrad , but this book is great for any one who wants an overview of this great battle .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TubeReader, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well documented and easy to read. A good balance between the story and the military facts. Out of the many historical accounts I have read, this is amongst the best and for the price, well worth enjoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. The scale of this Eastern front is brought ..., 13 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant. The scale of this Eastern front is brought in to focus in this fast moving account of the savage and brutal war as the fortunes swing back and forth. We in the West tend to see the Second World War from our perspective, naturally, but the sheer numbers involved on this front is mind boggling. Truly the war was lost here in the great expanse of Russia and the catalyst for this turning point was Stalingrad. No one can really appreciate the horror and despair experienced by the civilians and the troops on both sides. You can only try and imagine the suffering, the relentless cold, starvation, disease and hopelessness all in this burnt out urban sprawl. The book doesn't dwell over long on the details in the city and in fact the book covers much more of the events and Generals, decision makers and armies that led up to Stalingrad and what followed afterwards.
I devoured this book, my only criticism it would have enhanced the book further if there had been a few maps dotted about between chapters as it's hard to visualise all the locations and distances involved. The build up was also very interesting, I didn't know much about how the other countries were sucked in to the struggle. Top Marks Mr Matthews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative , easily read , book you could pick up at any page and enjoy , a good overall view of the battle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A basic introduction to the Russian campaigns, 9 April 2015
By 
Mr. M. Herbert "Bowmore" (Scotland uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalingrad: The Battle That Shattered Hitler's Dream of World Domination (Paperback)
A little disappointed, frankly. I found this book rather shallow. It is perhaps, a good introduction for say, 5th or 6th former students, seeking to discover more about the German - Russian campaigns. I did not care for its format either. It is in large print, with a simplistic, almost child-like presentation. It attempts to explain far too much in a far too short a book. The German- Russian pre-war relationship is way too over simplified as are other "accounts" of the prelude to war in Europe. Nonetheless, this book would suit anyone looking for a initial overview of the Russian campaign. It is not a book which would bring anything to the reader who already has a reasonable hknowledge of this period of history. I do not condem the book, but would merely caution those more knowledgeable readers, regarding its nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very easy to read and not just about the battle itself. Lot's of historical facts about WW2. Gives a good overall account of the
build up to the start of hostilities on the Eastern front.
Would recommend to anyone interested in WW2 history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stalingrad: The Battle That Shattered Hitler's Dream of World Domination
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews