Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple Reminder
This book is a wonderful addition to anyone's library, especially if you are a historian as I am. A simple collection of World War I poems by some of the greatest poets during that conflict, who portray through words the horror of it all.
Published 11 months ago by Ms. E. Freeman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poems
It is what it says on the front with a selection of the best known WE1 poems ,inspiring and depressing.
Published 3 months ago by S. Harrad


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple Reminder, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a wonderful addition to anyone's library, especially if you are a historian as I am. A simple collection of World War I poems by some of the greatest poets during that conflict, who portray through words the horror of it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Moving, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To read poetry written by those in the thick of the war, many of whom would never have claimed to have been poets,is a moving experience.
If you have any interest in poetry, or the First World War, then you will find this book of great interest. It is a tribute to all of those who were there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars in flanders fields, 1 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. G. S. Jones (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
a book that shows the reality of war through the poems of many soldiers who didn't return.
Beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Were we who died there, grateful for these on-the-spot verses?, 12 April 2013
By 
Mr. N. B. Hodson "Bruce Hodson" (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes, of course we were: they were so blatantly inspired by all the terrible things that happened. And so are all generations after: a tribute (if that is the right word) to all who, so vilely, died in that terrible conflict and a stark reminder to all after. A book that epitomises all that occurred, all those injured and killed - and a book that deserves to be read by all who (or all who should) grieve for the vast loss that first great war incurred. A very good investment for a brilliant but tragic read bringing to life again the nastiness of death that all those who died there deserved (to warrant their gift to us who live after).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
wanted a book of war poems for a service, found a lovely reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars anthology, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An anthology of classicc poems by war poets. Heart rending but appropriate for this 'remembrance' year. All those 'snippets' learned at school in their entirety. A reflective way to honour all war casualties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Poems, 4 April 2014
By 
S. Harrad "Craftaholic" (Northants, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is what it says on the front with a selection of the best known WE1 poems ,inspiring and depressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poetry, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this as I love poetry and I remember some of these from my schooldays. The price was good value and the book was delivered promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book but several very well known poems missing. Worth reading our great wartime poets though as you get a true feeling of the horrors of WW1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Flanders Fields: And Other Poems of the First World War (Deluxe Slipcase Gift Edition) (Hardcover)
I would recommend anyone interested in this book to buy this! Perfect christmas gift. Picture doesn't do it justice. Smaller than picture portrays as I expected a standard sized hardback. This is actually not a bad thing though as the book is cute and compact with gold edged pages and comes in a sturdy sleeve box. I am so pleased with it and much nicer than I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Flanders Fields: And Other Poems of the First World War (Deluxe Slipcase Gift Edition)
Used & New from: 6.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews