Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is Life
This book is just an inkling of Karl's insightful thoughts of the different main prospects of life; marriage, children, happiness and death. It is essentially a memoir of his own thoughts as he once again embarks an ambitious journey to explore different cultures and sees how different parts of the world goes about it.
He visits India to see the true meaning of...
Published 11 months ago by batforthecure

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very uninspiring
The whole thing was frankly boring. Lots of uninteresting perspectives, not particularly well written and lacking any purpose whatsoever. I would advise not bothering. But, that's just my personal view.
Published 8 months ago by Gower


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is Life, 3 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Moaning of Life: The Worldly Wisdom of Karl Pilkington (Paperback)
This book is just an inkling of Karl's insightful thoughts of the different main prospects of life; marriage, children, happiness and death. It is essentially a memoir of his own thoughts as he once again embarks an ambitious journey to explore different cultures and sees how different parts of the world goes about it.
He visits India to see the true meaning of happiness in an arranged marriage and how both families actually go through with deciding why someone is perfect for their daughter.
Then he meets a lot more strange faces throughout America and takes note that there are very different and alternative people across the world who go to extreme lengths to achieve their happiness, some stories are very much unbelievable and the book was good enough to include photo's to help is understand what exactly we are reading because sometimes it is a little gross.

But once again, Karl manages to get you to see life differently and even turn something negative such as death into something more positive- although he may be the morbid, waiting for death kind, you'd be surprised to know he actually enjoys life, he just sees it in a different way and he comes out with some very cracking points and quotes which really nails it.
Sometimes I feel the title An Idiot Abroad series make him come across as an actual idiot and he might have not enjoyed it before, I can tell he's really taken his new experiences on board and produced this amazingly delightful and easy to read autobiography because in actual fact he is really wise.

It'll have you laughing and dying with laughter in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mans a Genius, But fill your lines in karl, 6 Jun. 2014
By 
A. Owen "Aidey" (Cardigan wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moaning of Life: The Worldly Wisdom of Karl Pilkington (Paperback)
Great Book that is a bargain price of £3.50 when i bought it, Karl is a Genius, but going from the recent youtube review of this book he needs to get his lines on his head filled in again, hopefully some of the proceeds from this book sale can pay towards more botox for you Karl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and enjoyable, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read in 2 days and watched the programme as well. Had its funny moments and also interesting facts . Well enjoyed it .100% would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chocolate button coffin...., 9 Dec. 2014
Karl's persona in the book is so much nicer, funnier and less moany than he appears on tv. I laughed out loud at many of his comments and have to agree with much of his outlook on life. Different type of travel writing where a topic takes him to a place to study it in more detail. That twix double coffin is amazing. My husband and I prefer giant chocolate buttons so not sure how that would work....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant reading material my partner loves it as well she says I,m a bit like karl so can relate to it just as good as watching the program get it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top notch, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very funny man, I've read all of his books and he's not dull that's for sure, well done on another great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Moaning of Life, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. Bought it as a present for my son, he was very happy and couldn't wait to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have to accompany the DVD, 12 Mar. 2014
This book is a must have to accompany the DVD as it just allows you to delve deeper into the mind of the round headed buffoon that is Karl Pilkington, it allows to see more of his thoughts from his travel around the world looking at how different countries handle different aspects of like such as death and marriage. Great read and really funny much like the Idiot Abroad Travel Diaries !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very uninspiring, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The whole thing was frankly boring. Lots of uninteresting perspectives, not particularly well written and lacking any purpose whatsoever. I would advise not bothering. But, that's just my personal view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Moaning of Life, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moaning of Life: The Worldly Wisdom of Karl Pilkington (Paperback)
Similar to a pregnancy waiting for this book to come out as date of delivery kept being changed, but well worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Moaning of Life: The Worldly Wisdom of Karl Pilkington
The Moaning of Life: The Worldly Wisdom of Karl Pilkington by Karl Pilkington (Paperback - 5 Jun. 2014)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews