Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KING
Oh Ledley Ledley,
He's only got one knee,
He's better than John Terry,
Oh Ledley Ledley.

Best book I've ever read, much better than Terry's book.
Published 20 months ago by Andy Winbourne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it could have been
Ledley could have been one of the greatest players for club and country in the last 50 years. Tragically, coping with constant injury, his career was not as fulfilling or as long as it should have been. This book mirrors his career. It is enjoyable but I can't help feeling it could have been so much better and a bit longer.

Time passes in a series of vignettes...
Published 16 months ago by Tim


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KING, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
Oh Ledley Ledley,
He's only got one knee,
He's better than John Terry,
Oh Ledley Ledley.

Best book I've ever read, much better than Terry's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it could have been, 12 Jan. 2014
By 
This review is from: King: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
Ledley could have been one of the greatest players for club and country in the last 50 years. Tragically, coping with constant injury, his career was not as fulfilling or as long as it should have been. This book mirrors his career. It is enjoyable but I can't help feeling it could have been so much better and a bit longer.

Time passes in a series of vignettes but one season tends to merge very quickly with another. Players come and go with little if any comment and those that are mentioned are all "good lads". For example, there is virtually no mention of the efforts of Berbatov and Modric to secure transfers and then it is mainly sympathetic. Only Stephane Dalmat receives anything approaching criticism, rather an easy and obvious target. Similarly, we learn almost nothing about the widely differing types of managers that Ledley worked under. Only Ramos receives any real negativity and even then it only hints at the problems with any detail being reserved for minor issues with the players diets - the players reaction to Ramos' sacking was to take out the bags of sweets hidden in their kit bags!

Ledley comes across as a really nice person and it is no surprise that the nearest we get to any criticism is of his own behaviour on a few publicly drunken escapades. Ledley is still one of my favourite players in the 45 years I've been watching Spurs and I've no doubt that this book reflects his personality but an awful lot happened at Spurs during Ledley's time and I think Mat Snow could have helped him produce a more interesting reflection of that career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True legend, 19 Jan. 2014
By 
Simon Scott (Herts, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
True legend, great book containing season by season reviews and tales aswell as england stories and players and managers past and present. Fantastic book by a decent human being and club legend, book is suitable for not just thfc fans but any football fans and anyone who has suffered with injuries. Nice to have an insight into Ledleys current role with the club too. No scandal in this book just a nice interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true spurs legend, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quality read , a must read for any spurs fan , really enjoyed the book , getting to know the ups and downs of a spurs legend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good insight into the life that goes on behind the cameras. No controversy but that is the legend that is ledley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every Spurs fan should read this book. Ledley is a true Spurs great.

Sad to read what could have been for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The king has spoken, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
He really has delivered a sensational book where you get to see the real him and how much love he has for the club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Who is the real Ledley King?, 13 Mar. 2014
By 
This review is from: King: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
This was a book I received for Christmas, it was an easy read about a spurs legend / nice guy who was not able to fulfil his potential because of injury. But I am not sure it told me a great deal about the man, there's some interesting background stuff about how he grew up and his journey in football. He discusses how injuries curtailed both his England and Tottenham playing careers.

I hope that as he becomes more comfortable with his role as ambassador and, as I am sure he will, move into coaching we get some more about his life at Spurs, only time will tell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Nov. 2013
This review is from: King: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
This book was really difficult to find on the high street. Super fast delievery, value for money. If your a spurs fan you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ledley King book, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
A fund of entertaining stories from a thoroughly decent man, worth a read and perfect present for fans of an y football club
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King: My Autobiography
King: My Autobiography by Mat Snow (Hardcover - 12 Sept. 2013)
£15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews