Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book
I heard about the raid but until I read the book I did not realise how brave these men were.

I would read again and again. This book is not one for the shelf, it must be past around to family and friend to also enjoy. I Would recommend anyone to read it!
Published 14 months ago by Rebecca Stevens

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same Old Calumny
Trouble with writers who weren't there (not like the one's who were) they just stick to the same old story of someone to blame. With the story of the Old Mole they keep getting Tiger Watson to blame Capt. Bill Pritchard for not allowing him to secure this area.
Capt. Pritchard had a job to do with his team and he went off and did it, without Tiger, whom he lost...
Published 12 months ago by Bill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 20 Oct 2013
I heard about the raid but until I read the book I did not realise how brave these men were.

I would read again and again. This book is not one for the shelf, it must be past around to family and friend to also enjoy. I Would recommend anyone to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well balanced and well researched account of the St Nazaire Raid, which provides an objective and non-partisan view of the operation, free from triumphalism. A very compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent action superbly explained, 30 Dec 2013
Authors and publishers frequently select an eye catching phrase to give the front cover of a book the appeal they consider necessary but in this case "Into the jaws of death" does no more than sum up what took place in March 1942. Robert Lyman, with his trademarks of research and attention to detail, has written an outstanding book and at last we can see and fully grasp the complete story of the raid on Saint Nazaire. Not for the first time this author exposes serious deficiencies in attitude among the highest ranks of the services and where enthusiastic co-operation was essential there lurked pettiness. Fortunately the rank and file more than made up for the shortcomings of their superiors. Just one more elderly destroyer to carry the Commandos, rather than the flotilla of small wooden craft they had to use, would have increased the chances of success and greatly reduced the casualties while approaching the target. Given the fact that the primary purpose of the raid was to deny the Atlantic to the Tirpitz, those then running the Royal Navy should have bust a gut to assist. Some did, others didn't.

The sailors and Commandos who took part in the raid displayed stunning professionalism, from the outstanding feats of timing and navigation to the magnificent conduct of those soldiers who actually managed to get ashore. The action is remembered for among other things the number of Victoria Crosses awarded but all things considered the authorities were hardly generous. Just as the entire island of Malta was honoured during WW2 by the award of the George Cross a very good case could be made for decorating every individual who went to Saint Nazaire.

This latest book by Robert Lyman is again clearly the work of a scholar/soldier who knows how to present the whole picture of a great event in a very readable way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Raid of All Retold, 8 April 2014
By 
Nicholas Rankin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an absolutely excellent book, an amazing story of daring and endurance, very well written by Robert Lyman. Operation Chariot, sailing right into enemy-held territory to destroy a heavily defended dock in March 1942, was effectively a suicide mission, but the spirit of the hundreds of heroic sailors and commandos who undertook it was anything but depressed. One can't but be moved by their exemplary courage; five VCs seems almost too few. What a film this raid would make! (And not an American in sight.) As the Germans opened fire on the destroyer Campbeltown on its final run to ram the dock-gates one participant described it as like being trapped in a barrelful of fireworks when the match drops in. CGI could do that, and haven't we got the actors who could now pretend to be that insouciant and brave?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly engrossing, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Stephen Prior - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A superb book detailing "Operation Chariot" the raid on St Nazaire with the intent of destroying the Normandie dock which would prevent it's use by the battleship Tirpitz. The book goes into great detail on the planning and execution as well as background on the Commando force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile read, 15 Sep 2014
This review is from: Into the Jaws of Death: The True Story of the Legendary Raid on Saint-Nazaire (Paperback)
The author makes this book an easy yet informative read about the planning and outcome of the raid by very brave men. One thing that was overlooked was the author gave a descriptive account of aircraft losses while trying to sink the Tirpitz (page 70) while she was in Norway but no mention of the X craft attack that was carried out by the Royal Navy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dad liked it, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my Dad who thought it was very good. Also despite the cheap purchase price the book was delivered quickly and without any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Grandad - we're so proud of you (Bert Shipton, No. 9 Commando - pictured on the left of the cover), 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a truly amazing story of bravery against all odds, on a raid so daring it thought impossible in the eyes of the enemy. 28th March 1942 is a date the whole nation should be forever grateful to a group of British Army Commandos - the world's first and most elite Special Forces. Young men who achieved the impossible; young men you gave everything so that we can continue to enjoy our country for evermore.

What the Commandos went through for us was simply incredible. Once you've read this book you will realise why.

Our Grandad landed on the Old Mole in ML457 as a member the demolition party of No. 9 Commando. Grandad's two best mates were killed either side of him during the raid. When asked why did you put yourself through it Grandad, he simply replied 'I did it for England son'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review of book, 9 Nov 2013
This is a great book. The cover shows a picture of my late father. He was a commando during the raid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant true life story, 8 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. T. D. Wilson "skutter" (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
could not out it down, brilliant true life story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into the Jaws of Death: The True Story of the Legendary Raid on Saint-Nazaire
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews