Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book
This is a great book. It's bigger than I expected, well written and beautifully illustrated throughout. I haven't finished reading it yet, but what I have read so far has been very impressive. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in the Knights Templar. It's a great book to get a very good understanding of the Order if you're starting from...
Published 5 months ago by John H

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potted History
I can only review this book based upon reading it on my standard Kindle. The illustrations may look fine on either a tablet or in book form however they really did not add to my reading pleasure as they were just monochromatic. As a potted history of the Knights Templar, it is quite good. For a more detailed account I would turn to Malcolm Barber’s “The New...
Published 1 month ago by Anthony M. Bennett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 1 Nov 2013
By 
John H (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Knights Templar: The Hidden History of the World's Most Powerful Order (Hardcover)
This is a great book. It's bigger than I expected, well written and beautifully illustrated throughout. I haven't finished reading it yet, but what I have read so far has been very impressive. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in the Knights Templar. It's a great book to get a very good understanding of the Order if you're starting from the beginning or just curious as to who and what the Knights Templar are/were, and it's definitely worth a read and it's highly deserving of a space on any bookshelf for reference later by those who wish to dig a little deeper in to the Order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent combination of history and art., 15 Nov 2013
By 
Jill Meyer (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secrets of the Knights Templar: The Hidden History of the World's Most Powerful Order (Hardcover)
Susie Hodge's book - "Secrets of the Knights Templar" - is not only a beautiful and richly illustrated book, it's also a penetrating look into the Crusades, Papal ,European, and Muslim history. Hodges goes into the intermix of the them and shows how the Crusades influenced the establishment of the Knights Templar and how the order became too successful and had to be shut down. She's very good at looking at the "politics" of the times.

This book is half history and half coffee table book. The illustrations are sumptuous and the accompanying text has the gravitas you'd find in a straight history book. This is not a subject that would appeal to many people, but for the right history buff, Susie Hodge's book is divine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Knights Templar: The Hidden History of the World's Most Powerful Order (Hardcover)
Really interesting read for any Templar fans. Full of fascinating facts. Would recommend if researching Templar history. Very well enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable source, 3 Dec 2013
By 
David S. Bradford "Kingfisher" (Blackburn UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Knights Templar: The Hidden History of the World's Most Powerful Order (Hardcover)
Thorough and well structured, this book is the best introduction to the subject I have come across. Susie Hodge is clearly aware of the many angles on which her readers may have a prior interest in the Knights Templar. She does not shy away from the popular conspiracy theories and mysteries, but neither does she sign up to them all. In fact, I was astonished to learn of how many of them already have perfectly rational explanations, which some other writers have chosen to ignore in favour of melodrama. In the end, it is clear to the reader exactly which mysteries remain unexplained, and the fact that Hodge herself is not overly excited by them.
I have just two small criticisms of this book. First, a very small number of factual errors have crept in. For example, the caption to one illustration refers to the dissolution of the Templar Order by Pope Clement V, in 1307. In fact, it was King Philip IV of France who assaulted the Templars in 1307. But Pope Clement V did not dissolve the Order until 1312.
Second, there is no Bibliography and corresponding citations of external, scholarly sources. This could be a stumbling block to the serious reader who would like guidance to extend their study of the Templars. For myself, however, I find this approach a refreshing change from the often unnecessary, tediously incestuous tendencies of orthodox academia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knight Templars, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Knights Templar: The Hidden History of the World's Most Powerful Order (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a present for a friend. I haven't read the book but I was pleased with it. my friend thinks that it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knights Templar, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Knights Templar: The Hidden History of the World's Most Powerful Order (Hardcover)
As expected a very detailed history of how they were formed and what happened to them.
Would recommend to anyone interested in history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Facts easy to read, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For a factual account of this part of history, it was easier to read and not get bored with facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boring, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No "secrets" here, read like information from wikki..slung together. I did not even finish it. Save your money and buy something worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not what I was after in a book. Not a good story line. Or very good hero caritures in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interminable, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It goes on and on, facts and figures, proably useful for students, poorly illustrated. I am still tying to plough my way through as it is good bedside reading in that it puts me to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa218c174)

This product

Secrets of the Knights Templar: The Hidden History of the World's Most Powerful Order
13.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews