Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book
This is a great book. It's bigger than I expected, well written and beautifully illustrated throughout. I haven't finished reading it yet, but what I have read so far has been very impressive. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in the Knights Templar. It's a great book to get a very good understanding of the Order if you're starting from...
Published 15 months ago by John H

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair read
Quite enjoyed the book an interesting read but it does jump around a bit. I would have liked the information to have been linked together with a more fluid feel.
Published 8 months ago by lisa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 1 Nov. 2013
By 
John H (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Knights Templar: The Hidden History of the World's Most Powerful Order (Hardcover)
This is a great book. It's bigger than I expected, well written and beautifully illustrated throughout. I haven't finished reading it yet, but what I have read so far has been very impressive. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in the Knights Templar. It's a great book to get a very good understanding of the Order if you're starting from the beginning or just curious as to who and what the Knights Templar are/were, and it's definitely worth a read and it's highly deserving of a space on any bookshelf for reference later by those who wish to dig a little deeper in to the Order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable source, 3 Dec. 2013
By 
David S. Bradford "Kingfisher" (Blackburn UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Knights Templar: The Hidden History of the World's Most Powerful Order (Hardcover)
Thorough and well structured, this book is the best introduction to the subject I have come across. Susie Hodge is clearly aware of the many angles on which her readers may have a prior interest in the Knights Templar. She does not shy away from the popular conspiracy theories and mysteries, but neither does she sign up to them all. In fact, I was astonished to learn of how many of them already have perfectly rational explanations, which some other writers have chosen to ignore in favour of melodrama. In the end, it is clear to the reader exactly which mysteries remain unexplained, and the fact that Hodge herself is not overly excited by them.
I have just two small criticisms of this book. First, a very small number of factual errors have crept in. For example, the caption to one illustration refers to the dissolution of the Templar Order by Pope Clement V, in 1307. In fact, it was King Philip IV of France who assaulted the Templars in 1307. But Pope Clement V did not dissolve the Order until 1312.
Second, there is no Bibliography and corresponding citations of external, scholarly sources. This could be a stumbling block to the serious reader who would like guidance to extend their study of the Templars. For myself, however, I find this approach a refreshing change from the often unnecessary, tediously incestuous tendencies of orthodox academia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent combination of history and art., 15 Nov. 2013
By 
Jill Meyer (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secrets of the Knights Templar: The Hidden History of the World's Most Powerful Order (Hardcover)
Susie Hodge's book - "Secrets of the Knights Templar" - is not only a beautiful and richly illustrated book, it's also a penetrating look into the Crusades, Papal ,European, and Muslim history. Hodges goes into the intermix of the them and shows how the Crusades influenced the establishment of the Knights Templar and how the order became too successful and had to be shut down. She's very good at looking at the "politics" of the times.

This book is half history and half coffee table book. The illustrations are sumptuous and the accompanying text has the gravitas you'd find in a straight history book. This is not a subject that would appeal to many people, but for the right history buff, Susie Hodge's book is divine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Knights Templar: The Hidden History of the World's Most Powerful Order (Hardcover)
Really interesting read for any Templar fans. Full of fascinating facts. Would recommend if researching Templar history. Very well enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets of the Knights Templar, 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enjoyable insight into a much misunderstood & maligned group written in plain, easy to understand, language. If you delight in the popular theories of Dan Brown & his adherents you will be disappointed, as the answer to most of the mysteries is that they are just made up or borrowed from other sources or legends. However if you have an interest in how the Templars began, what they were set up to do & who they were then this is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Kindle book, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly enjoyable book to read and good value for my Kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Knights Templar: The Hidden History of the World's Most Powerful Order (Hardcover)
I bought it for my gf, as she's really into this kind of stuff, and she's very happy with it. A thick, good, old quality book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Am so pleased with my purchase, exactly as described, Superfast delivery.Great service, I will return to this seller and highly recommend to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Real history of thei famous Masonic Order, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of the Knights Templar: The Hidden History of the World's Most Powerful Order (Hardcover)
An new addition to my library of books on an important historical Masonic subject and indispensable to my own research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good historical fact, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this a little drawn out, and of course a lot is conjecture based on historical evidence available. But nevertheless very informative and a good reference for research further into the religious orders, and there offshoots of the crusade era. The only question that begs answer, and will probably never be answered, is where did all that wealth go to?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secrets of the Knights Templar: The Hidden History of the World's Most Powerful Order
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews