Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
164
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£4.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2016
Stunning pictures. Really show off the landscape of the islands.
Interesting to read Peter Mays story along side although there are a couple of errors I have noted so far. Two pictures of the free church in Stornoway. One labelled wrongly as the " wee free " church.
However well worth buying for the pictures alone. Beautiful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
.Wonderful ....... all the places mentioned in the Lewis .Trilogy3 books are shown and discussed .so glad I read the books first ,,,,, beautiful photos of my Fathers birthland before he .emigrated to Canada in 1923
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
A wonderful book of detailed text alongside beautiful photographs. The collaboration between author and photographer is evident to see. An ideal reminder for those who have previously visited these delightful islands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Bought as a Christmas present for my husband who has the Triology of Peter May books set in the Western Isles. He adored the the books but as he is a keen photographer and as we have travelled from top to toe of the Western Isles made this a very special choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
This book is for anybody who has read the Lewis trilogy by Peter May. So interesting seeing pictures of the locations that are mentioned in the three books. Love Peter May's books and cant wait to visit the Hebrides for myself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Really pleased with my purchase, and amazed at the fantastic photography and quality of the book. Definitely one to treasure and pass on to friends and family. Slightly biased as I grew up in Stornoway and have read all the books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
The photos in this book are wonderful and so evocative if you've ever visited the Hebrides. If you haven't, rhese photos will tempt you to go. The prose excerpts from the Chessmen trilogy compliment the images perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
Wonderful photos of such a special place and the naming of places in the Lewis trilogy books. I bought the book because of the trilogy and have now planned a visit based on what I have read and the photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Having spent A FORTNIGHT on Lewis ,Harris,N.Uist,S Uist in June 2009 and with such vivid memories of these beautiful Islands,marvellous beaches,wildlife etc. This book and the superb photos brought back the memories.
I am using it as a source book to collate my images -100's taken and print them.
If you go to the outer Hebrides look at this book before you go and you will not be disappointed!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
The photographs in this book are breathtaking even toa Lewis person like myself .As someone who loves the sea in all its moods and who has lived away from it for many years this is the nearest experience I can have to being there >I love the strong colours of the sunsets and know they really are true to life .For me this book is a wonderful experience I shall return to again and again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)