Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars157
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£4.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2013
This is a stunning, stunning book which perfectly accompanies the Blackhouse Trilogy.

Beautiful photographs, and a wonderful narrative from the author illustrating the reasons for basing key sites on these photo's/actual houses and places, together with occasional extracts from the book so the reader can be transported to the location and the fictional book prose simultaneously.

If you've never read the series (do!) but the book works wonderfully well as a standalone photo guide to the Hebrides.

It's just a wonderful footnote for the series - treat yourself in hardback as it will become very well read.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
If you haven't already been to the Outer Hebrides, looking through this book will make you want to go at once.

Having read all three books in the Lewis Trilogy (and been disappointed that there are no more) I enjoyed seeing the places mentioned in those books brought to life in the fabulous photographs. Even if you've never read the Fin McLeod books you will be entranced by the rugged, peaceful beauty of the spectacular scenery and landscapes that make up the islands of Lewis and Harris.

Peter May's love of the islands and their inhabitants is evident in his descriptions. Most of the characters in the Lewis Trilogy were based on real people and real events. I would love to see a film or TV series made of the Lewis Trilogy and shot on location in this lovely part of the world.

I recommend this book without hesitation.
11 comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
Even if you have not read Peter May's books that are set in the Outer Hebrides this is a wonderful book. The photographs are exceptional and the text interesting and well written as one would expect. Having visited the Outer Hebrides on more than one holiday it is lovely to look at the places I have seen and read about those areas through Peter May's eyes. I recommend this book highly.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Breathtaking photography accompanying Peter May's research notes and commentary make this a must have. If you liked his stories - The Blackhouse, The Lewis Man, and The Chessmen - you MUST add this to your library. Stirs you to visit The Hebrides for yourself.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
Having read Peter May's 'Lewis Trilogy' (if you haven't, I hightly recommend it), I really want to visit the Hebrides. It's about as far as you can travel in the UK from the South Coast to Lewis, so this book is the next best thing. The photographs are quite stunning and each turn of the page brings new delights and some have references which relate to the Lewis Trilogy. This enables one to imagine even better the events that take place in the books.

If you haven't read the Lewis Trilogy, this is a beautiful photographic record of the Hebrides and cannot fail to please.

Buy it. No, I'm not on commission!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
Having read and loved the other books-this was a very nice xmas gift Having come from "The Islands", it brought back such lovely memories-life was never easy living there in the 60 s / 70 s but still a wonderful lifestyle-we never bothered with TV or had electronic gadgets-just our imagination and lots of open space!!

It is a very true saying that "the blood is strong"-and I will definitely be returning home-been a long time but feel the calling to return one more time!!

Wonderful book with fantastic pictures!!

Look forward to more from this great author!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Loved the Peter May Hebrides novels which is why I was bought the book. The first part is lots of photos and Peter Mays' history with the Island I found that some of the photos were repeated or very similar, however the second part which relates the novels to the pictures I loved. The quotations from the book put the photos into context and served as a reminder to some parts of the stories I may have forgotten. As a travel guide/photo book ok, as a companion to the novels, wonderful.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
The pictures are excellent. The narative is the right balance of description and storyline. Makes me want to go there.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
Now this is the perfect book for booktrailers everywhere! With pictures right out of Peter May’s imagination – this is Peter May country

Whether you have read the books by Peter May or not, this is an ideal book to really introduce yourself to Peter May country. This is the Hebrides yes, but the islands seen through his eyes and those of his characters. This is the landscape which inspired the man and the books, the islands with cultural and historical traditions you may not have heard of before. For this is a place you may not have visited, remote and desolate as these islands are. They are the doorway to really seeing this stunning part of the world as Peter May evokes in his books.

The landscape of the Outer Hebrides has become just as much a character in Peter May’s Lewis trilogy as the characters themselves. All stunningly evoked in fiction, this is a real chance to see them for yourself, if you can’t get to the islands, There’s rocky headlands, small lochs, long and winding roads and a sense of isolation and ravaged land. There is real history here as well as a magical island setting where you just know there are tales of folklore, mysterious deaths and a sea that takes people and sinks ships. Walking in the footsteps of Fin Macleod, Peter takes you around the island showing you it as Fin would do, showing you his view of flora and fauna and explaining how the islands have shaped him and the other people on the island.

There is also mention of the many traditions and mysteries on the island as featured in the books such as the the land where the bird hunters track down the gulls each year and where the worst British maritime history took place.

You can really see the island as Peter describes it and how Fin lives it and Peter is the perfect guide telling you why and how certain places inspired and lent themselves to the events in each of the three Lewis Trilogy books.
review image
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
Beautiful photos of the Outer Hebrides that really help to bring the Lewis trilogy to life. I wasn't expecting so much info about May's involvement with the Machair tv soap (that I hadn't heard of before) and didn't really find that part of the book that interesting. Also, I had expected to be "guided" around the islands with narrative from Fin Macleod but that didn't really happen - there were just a few excerpts from the trilogy. The photos made up for the rather disappointing text, though - hence the 4 star rating.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)