Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Pictures
Even if you have not read Peter May's books that are set in the Outer Hebrides this is a wonderful book. The photographs are exceptional and the text interesting and well written as one would expect. Having visited the Outer Hebrides on more than one holiday it is lovely to look at the places I have seen and read about those areas through Peter May's eyes. I recommend...
Published 13 months ago by witchygirl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Peter May Hebrides
This delightful book has page after page of wonderful photographs which are so evocative of the Outer Hebrides. The prose by Peter May is very well written and ties in very well with scenes from The Lewis Trilogy. All in all a lovely book. The one big problem is that having read the book once the final section of binding is coming adrift from the spine. I fear that the...
Published 21 days ago by Mr Kenneth G Fuller


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Pictures, 1 Oct 2013
By 
witchygirl (North Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hebrides (Hardcover)
Even if you have not read Peter May's books that are set in the Outer Hebrides this is a wonderful book. The photographs are exceptional and the text interesting and well written as one would expect. Having visited the Outer Hebrides on more than one holiday it is lovely to look at the places I have seen and read about those areas through Peter May's eyes. I recommend this book highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hebrides (Hardcover)
This is a stunning, stunning book which perfectly accompanies the Blackhouse Trilogy.

Beautiful photographs, and a wonderful narrative from the author illustrating the reasons for basing key sites on these photo's/actual houses and places, together with occasional extracts from the book so the reader can be transported to the location and the fictional book prose simultaneously.

If you've never read the series (do!) but the book works wonderfully well as a standalone photo guide to the Hebrides.

It's just a wonderful footnote for the series - treat yourself in hardback as it will become very well read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a superb book!, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Debbie King (Durham City, Co Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hebrides (Hardcover)
If you haven't already been to the Outer Hebrides, looking through this book will make you want to go at once.

Having read all three books in the Lewis Trilogy (and been disappointed that there are no more) I enjoyed seeing the places mentioned in those books brought to life in the fabulous photographs. Even if you've never read the Fin McLeod books you will be entranced by the rugged, peaceful beauty of the spectacular scenery and landscapes that make up the islands of Lewis and Harris.

Peter May's love of the islands and their inhabitants is evident in his descriptions. Most of the characters in the Lewis Trilogy were based on real people and real events. I would love to see a film or TV series made of the Lewis Trilogy and shot on location in this lovely part of the world.

I recommend this book without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great companion to the Lewis trilogy., 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hebrides (Hardcover)
Breathtaking photography accompanying Peter May's research notes and commentary make this a must have. If you liked his stories - The Blackhouse, The Lewis Man, and The Chessmen - you MUST add this to your library. Stirs you to visit The Hebrides for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hebridean Beauty at its Best., 20 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. G. E. Deen "Gina" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hebrides (Hardcover)
Having read Peter May's 'Lewis Trilogy' (if you haven't, I hightly recommend it), I really want to visit the Hebrides. It's about as far as you can travel in the UK from the South Coast to Lewis, so this book is the next best thing. The photographs are quite stunning and each turn of the page brings new delights and some have references which relate to the Lewis Trilogy. This enables one to imagine even better the events that take place in the books.

If you haven't read the Lewis Trilogy, this is a beautiful photographic record of the Hebrides and cannot fail to please.

Buy it. No, I'm not on commission!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Xmas Gift, 25 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. R. Mackinnon (Glasgow-Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hebrides (Hardcover)
Having read and loved the other books-this was a very nice xmas gift Having come from "The Islands", it brought back such lovely memories-life was never easy living there in the 60 s / 70 s but still a wonderful lifestyle-we never bothered with TV or had electronic gadgets-just our imagination and lots of open space!!

It is a very true saying that "the blood is strong"-and I will definitely be returning home-been a long time but feel the calling to return one more time!!

Wonderful book with fantastic pictures!!

Look forward to more from this great author!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 28 Oct 2014
By 
C. Cassidy "poodle extreme" (bucks, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hebrides (Hardcover)
An essential companion to anyone who loves Peter May's Lewis novels and wants to see what the real places actually look like. The photographs are beyond brilliant and capture both the physical landscape and the haunting spiritual feel of the islands. I have visited Lewis and Harris and wondered about many parts of the landscapes eg deserted houses, half broken down buildings, the haphazard layouts of towns and villages, the absence of pubs etc. and many of my questions are answered in the text. Peter May also describes the background to each of the novels in the trilogy and gives photographs of key locations. If you are planning to visit the Hebrides make sure you buy this before you go - the tourist office in Stornoway was nothing like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hebrides, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hebrides (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift but had a quick look before I sent it, it looked amazing with some beautiful photographs. My friend also loved it and has put it out on show in his house for visitors to have a look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well done, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hebrides (Hardcover)
The pictures are excellent. The narative is the right balance of description and storyline. Makes me want to go there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings about this book, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hebrides (Hardcover)
Beautiful photos of the Outer Hebrides that really help to bring the Lewis trilogy to life. I wasn't expecting so much info about May's involvement with the Machair tv soap (that I hadn't heard of before) and didn't really find that part of the book that interesting. Also, I had expected to be "guided" around the islands with narrative from Fin Macleod but that didn't really happen - there were just a few excerpts from the trilogy. The photos made up for the rather disappointing text, though - hence the 4 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hebrides
Hebrides by Peter May (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2013)
£13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews