Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your nose will turn red, your children will disown you and your wife will run off with a Spanish waiter called Pedro.
I bought this book to read on my hols in sunnier climes and I wasn't disappointed, in fact it became a struggle to put the book down, lever myself from my sun-lounger and plop into the pool. Gripping, fast-paced and well written this has to be up there with the best of genre. As others have said, the "story" was one that wasn't widely reported and was new to me...
Published 8 months ago by Jeff

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable story... too much repetition
Much as I admire some of his previous books this narrative is fairly repetitive & slow reading. No doubting the sentiment & bravery of the guys involved but story strung out & far better if written in half the words.
Published 16 months ago by Jim.M


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your nose will turn red, your children will disown you and your wife will run off with a Spanish waiter called Pedro., 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to read on my hols in sunnier climes and I wasn't disappointed, in fact it became a struggle to put the book down, lever myself from my sun-lounger and plop into the pool. Gripping, fast-paced and well written this has to be up there with the best of genre. As others have said, the "story" was one that wasn't widely reported and was new to me - had it been a work of fiction I would probably be marking it down for its unbelievability.

My only criticism is that it ended a little abruptly: the story was told, but it would have been good to have a little more detail on what some of the main players did next. But if a book leaves you wanting more then it has probably done its job well.

If you enjoy this sort of book, buy this - you wont be disappointed. But watch out for that red nose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable story... too much repetition, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zero Six Bravo: 60 Special Forces. 100,000 Enemy. The Explosive True Story (Hardcover)
Much as I admire some of his previous books this narrative is fairly repetitive & slow reading. No doubting the sentiment & bravery of the guys involved but story strung out & far better if written in half the words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LIVELY AND COMPELLING NARRATIVE WELL-TOLD, 15 Feb. 2015
By 
Kenneth D. Watson "ken" (australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zero Six Bravo: 60 Special Forces. 100,000 Enemy. The Explosive True Story (Hardcover)
leaving aside all questions of the legitimacy of the war,what is striking about the story is the utter and complete lunacy of the original mission which the SF was tasked to do and that British soldiers-one American in their group- had such poor air support having to struggle in and struggle out again on the Chinook shuttle....following this of course the men took a hammering in the media with their SAS commander sacked when the real issue was which idiot or group of idiots would send a team way into enemy territory to take the surrender of a massive enemy force-100,000 strong-without absolutely guaranteed and corroborated intelligence??? (Its also interesting to note that the earlier mission described to board the NV Nisha was also based on flawed intelligence)And one can guarantee almost that these idiots didnt even get a wrap on the knuckles.......rant over.
Its a well-told and lively narrative,with many human touches and little descent into SF jargon of brave men doing a tough and impossible mission and their escape.You dont have to agree with why they were there or indeed any of it to enjoy a powerful adventure.It could be shorter and chapters 2 and 3 dont tell you much(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, no more said!!!, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a book - this is a must read! I've read previous Damien Lewis accounts and enjoyed his style and attempts to give an honest account on behalf events. This is a gripping read and left me hanging on the edge right to the very end. Buy it, read it, and be proud of what our troops do and can and must endure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a page turner - i enjoyed it, 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i was sceptical as a few books of this ilk recently (there's a lot been popping up) havn't cut the mustard. This one does, albeit i took some scenes with a pinch of salt - i wondered if the action had been 'ramped up' a bit for good effect. All true?.. oh well i'll never know i guess. btw here's a cpl' must-read 10/10 books - 'We Were Soldiers Once, And Young' by Lieutenant General (Ret.) Hal Moore and reporter Joseph L. Galloway... and Bat-21 Lt. Col. Iceal Hambleton, USAF. Both true and backed up by archive evidence. but neither were served well by hollywood imo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
Mr. Andrew C. Marks "eng man" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent and very revealing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True grit, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an excellent read this was.
Showing true determination and proving that British special forces are and always will be the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it read it like I was there with them, awesome book, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read it and you will feel like part of the team , out there with them in Iraq , the lads certainly got some balls of steel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, couldn't put it down., 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Fast paced and action packed. The author really gets across the tension and desperation of the situation they found themselves in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fast paced and exciting story. Hard to believe the outcome in terms of casualties but the story doesn't come a cross as over hyped. The author has really given a great insight into what it was like to be there behind enemy lines and living by their wits, skill and experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zero Six Bravo: 60 Special Forces. 100,000 Enemy. The Explosive True Story
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews