Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping
It's very difficult to explain the plot of `Pierre Lemaitre's Alex' without giving away too much. We open with the kidnapping and torture of a girl. The attempts of the police to track down this girl, with no evidence to show that a kidnapping has even taken place, help to start unravelling a web of lies, violence and deceit.

The book is split into three...
Published 15 months ago by Macey89

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can a book be sadistic to the point of boredom? Yes indeed...
A beautiful and naked heroine being tortured by a monster, for goodness sake, clichés can't get worse than that! If you like novels in which there is a huge and tittilating dose of sadism , a fair amount of sex and in which most of the characters are constructed to be grotesquely weird, including most of the police officers, then this is one for you.

My...
Published 1 month ago by Gerard P.


‹ Previous | 112 13 1424 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Belonging to a book club, this was the pick for the month. would not have read it otherwise and would have missed a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to more life after Alex, 4 May 2013
By 
M. Andrew (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent thriller, albeit that the plot is a little hard to swallow in places (pun intended). Enjoyed reading it immensely and am looking forward to English translations of some of his other books when they arrive (promised in 2014).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, excellent twist, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I find that some of the best thrillers can be found in novels translated to English. This book, like Jo Nesbo's, captures the nuances and the culture of the French's desire to think deeply about everything. Only the French would create police team of that includes a vertically challenged senior detective and a highly intellectual partner to solve this crime, there is nothing funny about this novel though, some of the scenes will make you wince, it can get gory. Download it soon, it’s a great read. The only thing missing is a bit more talk about wine and food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal but intelligent, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't usually enjoy reading about violence against women, but this gripping psychological thriller is an exception. It is very nasty, but not gratuitous at all. The tension between the torture of the victim and the utterly convincing police procedures is brilliantly sustained. And the damaged, eccentric detective is a real original. It's a gripping read, but also unexpectedly revealing about the nature of cruelty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars French Noir?, 22 April 2013
By 
JayDee (Shetland Isles, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sold as good reading for those who enjoy Scandinavian crime, as a successor to Stig Larsson, this author certainly has got grim material in this book. Not for the squeamish. Good characters, good plot and not easily figured out. Great ending. I look forward to more writing from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastique!, 19 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marvellous, marvellous thriller. Highly original, highly unpredictable and a wonderful central character as the main detective. Plus a great ending in contrast to so many other thrillers that just peter out rather pathetically. Just get it. Don't even hesitate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read this year, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't recommend this book high enough. It had me gripped from page 1 and it evolves in an unexpected way
Hopefully more books by Pierre Lemaitre will be translated soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of deception, 12 May 2013
By 
Denis Reed (Stockton-on-tees, Cleveland England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The movie can not be long in coming! This is a terrific story,superbly written(and translated).It has more twists than a bankers conscience! What you think you see is not what you get! Not going to give anything away because the reader needs to come to it with nothing more than expectation.Classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rare Find, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came upon this book by accident when searching for a good police mystery and it has been an absolute gem. I could not put it down even while trying to watch a favourite TV show. A wonderful find. Can highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing book!, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read this book in just five days.....couldn't put it down! I don't want to give away any of the twists so will just say that anyone who enjoys a good plot will love this. It's unpredictable, well paced and Alex is such an incredible character. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1424 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alex (The Camille Verhoeven Trilogy)
Alex (The Camille Verhoeven Trilogy) by Pierre Lemaitre (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2013)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews