Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The biggest game in town, 30 Oct 2013
This review is from: Premier League: A History in 10 Matches (Hardcover)
If the title makes you think it's just ten match reports, think again. What you get is something like ten little novels, building into one trillion-pound, slightly deranged narrative packed with incident, atmosphere and insight. White has seen it all at close quarters and takes us to places others can't. He is very good on the blood and thunder of the games and the rough and tumble of the politics. What makes this book so good is its vividness and White is astute - it's not his fault he's a Manchester United supporter (well maybe it is) but he rises above it. He does pulsating justice to the Aguerooooooooo moment and Manchester City's sensational triumph in 2012; the Premier league's presiding geniuses - Ferguson, Wenger and Mourinho - come to life on the page, warts and all; the self-destructive madness of Leeds and Portsmouth are captured and Peter Ridsdale and the other demolitionists properly brought to book. All this and much more, to the sound of millions of fans screaming in adulation and agony. This is the Premier League in 400 pages. Champion stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Than Meets The Eye, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The title of this book really undersells it's content. This is so much more than a report of the 10 matches mentioned in the title. The author uses these matches as a device for explaining some of the more interesting developments in football at the highest domestic level. It gives a great insight into the ups and downs, both on and off the pitch, of teams at both ends of the spectrum of success. It's written with great humour too, having me chuckling more than once. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Covers a lot in these 10 matches, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written book which pulls you in and then you find you have read about 20 pages in no time. The 10 matches are well chosen and the author finds ways to link in relevant history, other relevant stories and in some cases interesting tangents in doing so.

I am sure there are some other Premier league matches not chosen that others might have preferred, but for me the book does what it set out to do and does it very well. And for the price, a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book and the research that was done to put all the facts together. I would definitely recommend this book to all of my friends who love football and appreciate the history of the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile, 6 April 2014
By 
David Clark (Salzburg,Austria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and as described in the foreward,some games that you'd not really have expected there.If you have followed the league a bit since it started then worth the effort to read.At 51p I couldn't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any football fan, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not only is Jim White explaining the reason why the matches he has chosen are important, he has importantly put them into context.

The book is filled with little snippets of information about the club's concerned that I was not previously aware of.
Each match is put into its wider historical context rather than just the season they occurred in.

I was lucky enough to pick this up for 99p, but would have happily paid the cover price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Matthews Prem History Review, 11 Mar 2014
This review is from: Premier League: A History in 10 Matches (Hardcover)
I loved this book as it had all the information I wanted to know about the history of the Premier League in precise detail. I would definitely recommend it. The 10 matches were described succinctly and tactfully & I found I could relate to all the information written in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Premier league's greatest hits, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well researched and full of background detail,I really enjoyed this book.as an avid football fan I knew I would love it and I was right.I remembered all the games featured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent nostalgic account that reminds you how football has changed so much since 1992. It's not just about the big clubs. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
read a few of Jim Whites books this is one of the best. Gripping well written and funny in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Premier League: A History in 10 Matches
Premier League: A History in 10 Matches by Jim White (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2013)
12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews