Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark thriller with excellent twist
I was wondering why the excellent CJ Box had written this as a standalone thriller (featuring Cody Hoyt, a character from an earlier book) rather than making it part of his Joe Pickett series when all of a sudden a great big twist in the middle of the book made it perfectly clear why.

The book is quite graphic in the way it describes the kidnapping and abuse of...
Published 11 months ago by Charlie Ntamark

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars C.J. Box Fan Disappointed
I've read and enjoyed many of C.J. Box's books. Someone described Joe Pickett, the ethical, clean-living hero of a number of Box's books as Dudley Do-Right, with his darker side being portrayed by Nate Romanowski. I loved both characters. The previous work featuring Cody Hoyt introduced us a to a darker side again, an alcoholic reactionary in the mold of a drunken...
Published 6 months ago by Mach1


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark thriller with excellent twist, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (Kindle Edition)
I was wondering why the excellent CJ Box had written this as a standalone thriller (featuring Cody Hoyt, a character from an earlier book) rather than making it part of his Joe Pickett series when all of a sudden a great big twist in the middle of the book made it perfectly clear why.

The book is quite graphic in the way it describes the kidnapping and abuse of young girls. As usual, Box manages through his beautiful prose to conjure beautiful images of beautiful places whatever depravity is transpiring in the plot.

It's smartly-written, indeed perhaps a little better than some of the recent Pickett books, and the author's fans (of which I am one) should certainly snap it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (Kindle Edition)
What a fantastic read,exciting,scarey and couldn't put down.I wish I could give it 10 out of 10.I would recommend anybody buying this book, to first read Back of Beyond to familiarize themselves with the people in his new book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good yarn, 31 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. D. F. Finnegan (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (Kindle Edition)
It flows along and draws you in with plenty of twists and turns. A bit brutal and disturbing in places but with a well crafted ending. I kept on hoping Joe Picket might turn up but the heroine still measured up well. A good yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a comfortable read, but it was a very, very good one., 7 Sep 2013
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Highway (Hardcover)
First Sentence: Lewis and Clark County Montana Sheriff's Department Investigator Cassandra Dewell winced when a pair of headlights broke over a rise onto a long treeless bench in the foothills of the Big Belt Mountains north of Helena.

The first thing readers need to know is that this is definitely not a Joe Picket book. If you are expecting Joe's Dudley-Do-Right morality, do not read this book. That said...

The elements of Box' style which hold are very visual descriptions--occasionally more so than some might care for -and excellent dialogue being top among them.

As many of the characters in this book previously appeared in "Back of Beyond," I greatly appreciated that Box summarizes the first story, providing the back story and relationships of the characters. The characterization of the two girls was very well done, even down to Danielle's anthropomorphizing her car. The contrast of the two sisters is excellent; one being a survivor, the other a victim.

The protagonists, Cody Hoyt and Cassie Dewell, are as different from one another as could be. Cody, hardened by life and experience, believes in doing what is necessary to get the bad guys. Cassie is fairly new to the force and somewhat nave; at least in the beginning.

This is a much darker story than we're accustomed to from the Joe Pickett books. There are points where it's ugly and very difficult to read. There is an unexpected twist which is so shocking, it's hard to believe it happened. The story has an excellent reveal and climax, as well as a very, very good, albeit creepy ending. I applaud Mr. Box for taking this slightly risky step to the dark side. He is an author, I believe, who deserves much more credit and notice than he receives.

"The Highway" was not a comfortable read, but it was a very, very good one. As an audiobook reader, Holter Graham did a very credible job, although it's always a bit challenging having a man doing female dialogue. Even so, his voice did not take you out of, or get in the way of, the story.

THE HIGHWAY (Suspense/Pol Proc-Cody Hoyt/Cassie Dewel-Montana-Contemp) - VG+
Box, C.J. (Read by Holter Graham) - 2nd in series
A Macmillan Audiobook from St. Martin's Press, 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. Am a huge fan of the 'Saddlestring' books and loved the slightly different feel of this stand alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars C.J. Box Fan Disappointed, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (Kindle Edition)
I've read and enjoyed many of C.J. Box's books. Someone described Joe Pickett, the ethical, clean-living hero of a number of Box's books as Dudley Do-Right, with his darker side being portrayed by Nate Romanowski. I loved both characters. The previous work featuring Cody Hoyt introduced us a to a darker side again, an alcoholic reactionary in the mold of a drunken Dirty Harry. A great character and a good book. C.J. has messed up with this one. A well-drawn serial killer, some strange girls making stranger choices, and lawmen who just aren't near believable. A storyline/plot which takes you in many directions, but in a bad way, as if the writer himself had lost control.
Retain your enjoyment of C.J. Box books and don't read this one.

Michael Thurlow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flirts with darkness., 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (Kindle Edition)
I like stand alone novels and Box certainly draws the reader in, in part due to the grisly depictions and then you're plugging for the girls to turn around and head back and later the pages turned as Box firmly took hold of my need to know.

Other reviewers criticised the ending, however I like a novel which does not have a classic black and white ending - it allows the story to float on in your mind for days if not longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page turner...., 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this, as with all C.J Box's work. A bit quick to end, though. Still, a very engrossing read overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Highway, 6 Oct 2013
By 
Alan Teasdale "Alan" (Folkestone Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Highway (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book. Extremely well written and researched. Read it in one marathon session. Couldn't put it down. I will be looking for more C J Box books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Highway, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (Kindle Edition)
Another page turner from C J Box. I loved it. I'm sure anyone interested in these novels has read the book description. Suffice to say it lives up to expectations. Now eagerly awaiting the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Highway
The Highway by C.J. Box (Paperback - 8 May 2014)
6.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews