Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A striking and fun debut novel
Davarus Cole has a destiny. Only he can wield the sorcerous blade Magebane, one of the few weapons in existence that can kill a Magelord. Five centuries ago the Magelords slew the gods themselves, becoming immortal in the process and seizing control of the world. Now they wage war amongst themselves. Cole knows it is fate itself which has decreed that he will kill...
Published 19 months ago by A. Whitehead

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I've read this book before...
...and a lot of the names in it, too. Basically, it's a good story, a bit too tongue in cheek at times, and the characters a bit too annoying to get too invested in, as a rule. But Joe Abercrombie did the dark twist on classic high fantasy earlier and better with First Law stuff some years back, and he is getting better and better as a writer too. Then again, I suppose...
Published 18 months ago by John Middleton


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting, distinctly original debut novel containing such imaginative vision as to take fantasy to new heights., 21 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Grim Company (Hardcover)
This impressive, ambitious work sent chills down my spine for it literally took my breath away! I was drawn like a magnet into such a vast world of scope and substance, wherein believable settings and atmosphere is brought vividly to life. Cleverly complex and delicately interwoven, this multi-layered tale is as acutely exceptional reminiscent of JRR Tolkien or George RR Martin. As a dedicated lover of the fantasy genre, I felt that Luke Scull beautifully blended the old-style complexity and extensive world-building, yet with a current and thoroughly contemporary twist. He consequently brings fantasy into the twenty-first century, reaching a wide-readership.

Within the land of the Trine, the grey city with its granite walls is perceptible from the edge of the broken sea. The stone that forms Dorminia is impenetrable by the enemy, with The Crimson Watch patrolling the streets and Salazar's Mindhawks scouring the skies - it is a formidable fortress of sanctuary...Amidst the weakening rebels a fellowship is born who unite against tyranny, as a grim company of amoral mercenaries and outlaws. With the world changing and entering an age of ruin, this is not a time for heroes, but a time when a band of outcasts and traitors may rule supreme.

With an ambiance in the vein of Robin Hood, this new series of fallen Gods and deep-rooted magic is simply spectacular! The Grim Company is a new leading voice in epic fantasy.

*I was sent a hardback copy of "The Grim Company (book 1) by Luke Scull" to read and review, from `New Books Magazine'.*
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sep 2014
By 
Mrs. Nicola Fusco (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grim Company (Paperback)
WEll written, fast paced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like a 15 year old boy has tried to write an Abercrombie novel., 10 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Grim Company (Paperback)
This is shockingly bad. I'll be honest, I only got 40 pages in then the it across the living room in a rage having spent £9 on this worthless rag. It's as if a 15 year old boy has read Abercrombie and though 'I can do that'. It is incredibly immature, stupid, lazy, just awful. Luke Scull is desperately trying to emulate Abercrombie, using black humor, foul language and gore. The problem is he cannot write. The 'black humor' is totally lacking in humor, the gore is unneccesary. the plot contrived and predictable, the character unlikable, the dialogue is painful to read. I would give it 0 stars if I could. Please tear up this man's publishing deal before anyone else is fooled into wasting their money. All the 5 star reviews must have been written by children or his friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars S'Okay, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grim Company (Kindle Edition)
Not a bad read, the plot was convoluted but tied together at the end. I would have preferred some changes, but, hey, it's not my book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy by the Numbers, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grim Company (Kindle Edition)
Overall I enjoyed this first novel immensely but it did read a lot of the time as fan fiction, particularly of Joe Abercrombie and Glen Cook. That's fine and laudable but it meant that the story, or the characters in it, never pull up any trees with originality.

It's very funny in places, with some empathetic characters and most of the action scenes are very good but you do feel like you have read it all before.

I will read the sequels as light reading as it was enjoyable, but I'm not expecting to be stunned by them. 3.5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Grim oh yes it is, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grim Company (Kindle Edition)
Shame but I am half way through this and quite honestly i am trying to find excuses to carry on with it. Its boring, lacks real adventure and there is only one character who is slightly engaging. It really is that grim
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Abercrombie Tribute, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grim Company (Kindle Edition)
Great fun but hugely derivative, this dark fantasy borrows the template world from Joe Abercrombie (in itself excusable - it's hardly copyright), his violent and immoral depiction of chaos and end of time anarchy and then steals shamelessly character types to populate his familiar plot. I paid 99p for this. Hope the author slips Abercrombie at least 10p for providing his base material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grim Company (Kindle Edition)
Could not put this book down. It was a brillliant read. Looking forward to the next installment from Luke Scull
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Grim Company (Kindle Edition)
Can't wait for the next one. Just hoped the context at the beginning could of been a little clearer but I suppose I'll find it easier the next read through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly amazing debut novel, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grim Company (Kindle Edition)
I like fantasy, and I believe Luke Scull's "The Grim Company" is a must read if you love the genre.
I am really looking forward to Sword of the North !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Grim Company
The Grim Company by Luke Scull (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2013)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews