Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars75
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2013
This is a very good collection of stories, by some very well-known names. Obviously you're not going to like them all, but so far I have found very few that haven't caught my attention and some are mind-blowing. Great to have stories to read on the kindle, ideal for train journeys - though I'm reading it at home too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
Great book I kept this book on my kindle for months regretting I had borrowed it using Kindle Prime I enjoyed readong all the diverse range of stories Short stories are great fr insomniacs as I can read for hours and short stories as good as these give me time and space and helpme go back to sleep
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Looks lovely and would make a lovely gift. Bought for myself and love reading the shorts in here. The one's I have read so far are old school stuff but still very good. Looking forward to reading more recent ones too. Love the variation of writing styles. Definatly worth investing in
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Shocked and delighted at the price. 59 pence for 100 well chosen stories. This has been put together by Victoria Hislop with love in her heart. Haven't read any of the stories yet. I have just looked at the names of the writers and the stories. Many collection of stories just rehash the same old standards without any thought that the reader has read them all an hundred times before. I am new to most of these stories. The authors are out of the top drawer. They could not write a bad story. The story I am going to read first is called Corruption by Penelope Lively. According to Victoria Hislop in an interview she gave to Open Book the story is about a judge and his wife going away on holiday with their car boot full of pornography magazines which have been impounded by the authorities. It's a comic tale.

I'd advise anyone to snap this 800 page book up before Amazon come to their senses and increase the price ten fold or more. This is no cheap collection. It looks good inside and will certainly read well. The bargain of the century.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
I chose this book because I was heading for a course in London and imagined that the short story format would suit my commute. I did give it a good try - I sat on the tube for three hours and read most of the chapter on Lives of Women - but the stories were invaribly dismal and uninspiring - they really bought my mood down. This was a Kindle purchase, maybe if I'd bought it in paperback I might of found it easier to select from the stories? Unfortunately, since it is on my Kindle - I can't even pass it on to a friend who might enjoy it more - possibly all for the good - I love my friends and wouldn't want to be responsible for bring them down too!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
This is a book you will have for a long time. There are so many wonderful stories in here. easy to pick up and put down whenever the mood strikes.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
This book was classified as in 'very good condition', it wasn't. There is a tear on the sleeve, a dirty sticker mark on the front cover and quite obvious wear / usage. Didn't return because I don't have the time but disappointed with the overall quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
It felt like travelling all continents in a matter of hours. I introduced to authors and voices that were worth while listening to. Some stories were so facinating that i ve become addicted to short stories because they are so powerful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
A good collection of short stories. Great for downloading onto your tablet and having in your bag to fill in time while waiting for your permanently late teenager or for while having a coffee in peace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
This is a great collection of short stories from widely differing writers. It's great value for money, especially the Kindle edition. Our Short Story Discussion Group will make good use of these gems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.