Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eight Doctors???
As Big Finish's celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of Doctor Who, `The Light at the End' could otherwise be more traditionally known as the Eight Doctors. In many ways though, it could easily be considered as a second Five Doctors. It is certainly written and performed in the same spirit as `The Five Doctors'. It has also has definite plot similarities. Both involve...
Published 13 months ago by Alaran

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Love Doctor Who - this left me bored. Bits with Tom Baker and Paul McGann double act was good - but Colin Baker and Sylvester McCoy left me annoyed and then bored. Shame considering it was the 50th anniversary Big Finish -- silly story.
Published 26 days ago by Aramchek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eight Doctors???, 28 Nov 2013
As Big Finish's celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of Doctor Who, `The Light at the End' could otherwise be more traditionally known as the Eight Doctors. In many ways though, it could easily be considered as a second Five Doctors. It is certainly written and performed in the same spirit as `The Five Doctors'. It has also has definite plot similarities. Both involve the Doctors being taken out of their own timelines by the evil machinations of certain dubious Timelords.

This time it is not the Fourth Doctor who ends up stuck in some type of limbo but rather the first three Doctors who are rather sidelined. Obviously it is a little different to feature the three great actors who are no longer with us, but a more than adequate job is done in covering them as best as possible. William Russell provides a very convincing First Doctor and Frazier Hines delivers yet another perfect Second Doctor. The Third Doctor has, perhaps, the smallest role and some of his lines are a little unclear on the audio.

Doctors four to eight all receive a well balanced share of the action though. The Fourth and Eighth Doctors are paired off early on. This gives them the bulk of the first quarter and their interaction is possibly the highlight of the play. Tom Baker and Paul McGann are at their most playful, witty and Doctorish. Their toying with the lead antagonist and the irritation they cause him is highly entertaining. They seem to really enjoy playing off each other.The relationship is also somewhat reminiscent of their meeting in Terrance Dicks' novel `The Eight Doctors'.

Doctors five, six and seven all spend most of the story sectioned off with their companion; Nyssa, Peri and Ace respectively. They are each given separate tasks/missions by the author giving them equal air time. They are sufficiently varied and combine well as the story is revealed. Eventually they come together in true multi-Doctor style. It comes as little surprise, especially considering the marketing, that the main villain is the Master. Geoffrey Beevers plays it more in line with a Roger Delgado interpretation than his own decayed corpse, on screen version. Somehow this seems fitting. He also seems to revel in acting opposite Tom Baker and Paul McGann. Celestial Time Agent, Straxus, who has appeared in previous Big Finish productions, also makes a significant appearance.

The multitude of Doctors and companions are fitted into the storyline quite well. Obviously for some of the companions there isn't a great deal to do as the Doctors are almost acting like their own companions (similar to what has been scene in `The Day of the Doctor'). Even so, their performances are all of a high standard and all are clearly enjoying the experience of being in this anniversary piece. Nicholas Briggs, the writer of this and the voice of many televised monsters, also gets to take part in playing the Vess.

It is a somewhat complex but still easy to follow plot that is well written and highly enjoyable. But it is the performances that really draw the listener in. Its only major drawback is that when you reach the light at the end you are left with the wish that it could have been televised.

The special edition of this is also beautifully presented in a book style format with a whole array of fan indulgent special features and even a bonus audiobook. Well worth the extra cost and a good souvenir of the anniversary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams Come True For Who Fans, 4 Mar 2014
By 
David P. Weber (North Fremantle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light at the End (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
It's as good as you'd expect, probably moreso.

I hadn't ever heard a Who audiobook before so every aspect of it was something of a treat. The Doctors and their companions haven't aged much, in terms of their voices, they sound roughly as they did back in the day. Each of the five have their spotlight moments, and are also teamed up with one other of the Doctors for periods of the story.

Briggs has captured the personas brilliantly. The digs between the Fourth and Eighth Doctors are reminscent of Troughton versus Pertwee. The Fifth Doctor's curious approach and his somewhat hapless inquiry of the poor family man in 1963 before finding a solution are typical. The Seventh Doctor's preposterous language enlivens, and he is somehow an 'elder statesman' of the group. The Sixth Doctor's 'immodest' presentation has me liking him more and more as I get older-- his dressing down of one of the enemies is priceless.

When it was done, I found myself wanting this to go on for another hour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time terror in Totton, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light at the End (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
The light at the end is a special Doctor Who audio story from Big Finish Productions, made to give everyone the multi Doctor story they all wanted for the fiftieth anniversary of the show.

It comes in several different editions. One on vinyl. One with a lot of extras. And an ordinary one which just has the story across two cd's. And absolutely nothing else whatsoever in the way of extras or trailers or interviews.

This review is of that ordinary version. Which has to be mentioned first as the Amazon system will probably lump them all together.

The story runs for just under two hours, and each disc is basically one long episode. The only breaks are the usual cd chapter ones, and there is a cliffhanger to the end of disc one.

This story does stand entirely on it's own and you don't need to have heard any other audios to get into it.

The story features Tom Baker, Peter Davison, Colin Baker, Sylvester McCoy and Paul McGann all in prominent roles. Each Doctor is with just one companion. Who would be Leela, Nyssa, Peri, Ace and Charley. [Young adventuress from the early twentieth century, just in case you've not heard many other audios. She was mentioned in a recent tv special and appeared in lots of other audio stories].

The story sees the Master [not a spoiler, as he's on the cover of the box and the cast list] launch a scheme to rid the cosmos of his old enemy once and for all. Which draws people to a road in Totton [ which is just to the west of Southampton] on a certain date in November 1963.

The life of an ordinary man is shattered.

And the Doctor[s] have to fight for their very existence.

The Master is played by Geoffrey Beevers, who played the part in the tv story the Keeper of Traken, and who has reprised the role several times on audio.

Can this story give everyone an equal amount to do, and be something that more than justifies it's existence?

Disc one does take a little while to get going. Initially we're with the Eighth and Charley. It's nice to hear them again as they were early on in their run, when they were both full of the joys of exploring and adventure. When things start to get strange as they're caught up in the Master's trap it does take a little getting used to, since you're as in the dark as they are as to what is going on.

What then grabs the attention is the first meeting of Doctors in the story. The two in question do have a great amount of chemistry together.

Others are gradually pulled into things. What really does then next grab the attention is the performance of Big Finish writer John Dorney as the aforementioned ordinary man. It's convincing and subtle and steadily does become rather chilling.

Whilst you're still somewhat waiting for the story to come together though, there are lots of little moments that delight. A certain companions reaction to a sight of all the Doctors. A fun exchange about the costume of one of them. A stunning bit of imagery on a tv screen...it would take a while to list everything. But with things like that, you get great repeat value because it means you can listen to the story again and again and discover things that have slipped your mind.

Things really do click come disc two, though. With more fun meetings and the eventual exposition pulls it all together. Then when the Doctor[s] start to deal with things there are moments that are really quite rousing listening. Frankly by this point I didn't want the story to end.

But end it must. It does though manage to do what the tv special for the anniversary did, in that it looks both forward and back, celebrating both. The way things are resolved is one of those complicated explanation moments that make perfect sense if you just go with it and don't think about it too much.

There are some very nice wrap up scenes to follow.

This is not the greatest Doctor Who audio story ever. But it doesn't need to be. It does exactly what it has to do, in that it gets everyone involved [the first three do figure. Which is not a spoiler also because you'll hear them very early on. The actors who voice one and two are very good indeed. The voice of three isn't quite on a par with them, but that's only a minor complaint], provides lots of memorable moments, and celebrates the programme as a whole. So it's well worth five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Light at the End (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This was the first time I purchased an audio adventure by Big Finish. I've heard of them before, but... well... I don't like to dabble in non-canonical stories when it comes to my franchises.

This was worth making an exception for!

It's funny, sweet, interesting, and couldn't have been better without a seance or the second coming allowing the return of Doctors 1-3.

My only regret is having purchased the standard edition (which is what I'm given to understand this is) and not the limited collector's edition (It was my first purchase, I wasn't going to shell out that much money on my first go! What if I didn't like it?). I should very much have liked to watch the "Making of" video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Golden Audio Adventure Celebrating The Doctor's 50th Anniversary, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Light at the End (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
The Light At The End (Standard Edition).
Doctor:
First, Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, Eighth Doctors
Main enemy: The Master
Companion(s):
Susan, Ian, Vicki, Steven, Sara, Polly, Jamie, Zoe, Jo, Leela, Nyssa, Tegan, Turlough, Peri, Ace, Charley
Main setting: Totton, Hampshire, 23 November 1963
The Factory
Publisher: Big Finish Productions
Writer: Nicholas Briggs
Director: Nicholas Briggs
Producer: David Richardson
Music: Jamie Robertson
Sound: Jamie Robertson
Format: 2 CDs x 2 Episodes.
Running Time 120 Minutes

Positive.
1)The writer Nicholas Briggs has been able to write a multi Doctor adventure that gives each Doctor his arc in the main story's plot.
2)The Doctor's interactions with himself sounds crazy but it does work especially the scenes between Tom Baker & Paul McGanns Fourth & Eighth Doctors.
3)A great intriguing plot featuring the sinister Master whoms chilling tones are brought to life by the amazingly good Geoffrey Beevers.
4)The companions also get there moments especially Louise Jameson's Leela & Sophie Aldreds Ace.
5)This story features some smaller cameos from other companions see how many you can hear.

Negative.
1)The voice actor Tim Treloar impression of Third Doctor who was originally played by the late Jon Pertwee doesn't sound much like him.

Cast.
The Doctor - William Russell
The Doctor - Frazer Hines
The Doctor - Tim Treloar
The Doctor - Tom Baker
The Doctor - Peter Davison
The Doctor - Colin Baker
The Doctor - Sylvester McCoy
The Doctor - Paul McGann
Leela - Louise Jameson
Nyssa - Sarah Sutton
Peri - Nicola Bryant
Ace - Sophie Aldred
Charley Pollard - India Fisher
Ian Chesterton - William Russell
Susan Foreman - Carole Ann Ford
Vicki Pallister - Maureen O'Brien
Steven Taylor - Peter Purves
Sara Kingdom - Jean Marsh
Polly Wright - Anneke Wills
Jamie McCrimmon - Frazer Hines
Zoe Heriot - Wendy Padbury
Jo Grant - Katy Manning
Tegan - Janet Fielding
Turlough - Mark Strickson
The Master - Geoffrey Beevers
Bob Dovie - John Dorney
Straxus - Oliver Hume
The Vess - Nicholas Briggs
Kevin Dovie - Benedict Briggs

Trivia.
1)This release has a standard audio cd release A 5 Disc Limited Edition cd release & a Limited 2 record Vinyl Audio release.
2)The voice of the boy Kevin is voiced by Nicolas Briggs son Benedict Briggs.
3)The Vess are a robotic species who sell arms to the Sontarans, Cybermen & the Daleks.
4)Kevin Dovie wonders if the Doctor's police box belongs to Father Christmas.
5)At this point in their personal timelines, the Fourth, Seventh & Eighth Doctors have not told their respective companions Leela, Ace or Charley about regeneration.
6)The Sixth Doctor expands the dimensional stabilisation field of Straxus' TARDIS to the entire pocket dimension, to allow his Fourth, Fifth, Seventh & Eighth incarnations to fully materialise their own TARDISes in the dimension itself.
7)Over the course of two hours on 23 November 1963, Bob Dovie was visited by the First Doctor, Susan Foreman, Ian Chesterton, Barbara Wright, the Second Doctor, Jamie McCrimmon, Zoe Heriot, the Third Doctor, Sarah Jane Smith, the Fourth Doctor, Leela, the Fifth Doctor, Nyssa, the Sixth Doctor, Peri Brown, the Seventh Doctor, Ace, the Eighth Doctor and Charley Pollard in rapid succession.
8)Originally announced for release nearer the actual 23rd November 2013 anniversary date, the Special Edition CD & the digital versions of all editions were released by Big Finish one month early on 23 October.

What's Up Doctors?
November 23rd 1963 proves to be a significant day in the lives of all eight Doctors...
It's the day that Bob Dovie's life is ripped apart...

It's also a day that sets in motion a catastrophic chain of events which forces the first eight incarnations of the Doctor to fight for their very existence. As a mysterious, insidious chaos unfolds within the TARDIS, the barriers of time break apart...

From suburban England through war-torn alien landscapes & into a deadly, artificial dimension, all these Doctors & their companions must struggle against the power of an unfathomable, alien technology.

From the very beginning, it is clear that the Master is somehow involved.

By the end, for the Doctors, there may only be darkness.

Timelord Thoughts.
This is Big Finishes 50th Anniversary story celebrating the Golden anniversary of Doctor Who that been written by Nicholas Briggs the executive producer of Big Finish who is also a, director, writer, voice of the Daleks, Cybermen & Ice Warrior's, as this epic story features Doctor's 1-8 battling against there old foe The Master.

The plot focuses on the Doctor's first transmitted date of 23rd November 1963 where the Eight Doctors are pitted against strange event's are have been set in motion which could erase the Doctors timeline completely as the Timelord must fight for his very existences as chaos erupts throughout many the Doctor's timeline & for Bob Dovie, well his life is about to take on a very dramatic turn for the worse as these events may have a connection to each other somehow? & if so the consequences could be disastrous which would cause the fabric of time to be completely ripped apart.

This is a epic well written adventure by Nicholas Briggs whom is the first writer to have weaved all the elelments together to make a multi Doctor story that does justice to each incarnation & actually deliver a intriguing storyline that actually works.

Each Doctor & his companion have there moment's & the chemistry between Tom Baker & Paul McGann is electrifying, so please do another audio adventure with these two Doctors together please.

Out of the Companions Leela & Ace come out the best served & deliver some truly classic lines especially Aces description of the Doctor's previous incarnations.

The Master is a excellent choice of villian considering the Daleks & Zygons are being used in the TV special 'Day of The Doctor' & as always he is superbly played by Geoffrey Beevers whom brings a chilling menace tone to the role of the emaciated renegade Timelord.

The story is well written & easy to follow & writer Briggs keeps the Doctor's bickering to a minimum & instead focuses on the Doctor's working together to solve the mystery & the catastrophic events going on throughout his own Timeline.

This is a must buy purchase as this release is a celebration of 50 years of Doctor Who honouring it's past history & paving way for its future.

With Big Finish Productions Doctor Who is in very safe hands, so here's to the next 50 years of time travelling with the Doctor & his Tardis.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "What I like is a Big Red (Button) Light", 11 Nov 2013
This is a review of the Light at the End Special Edition CD from Big Finish. This is the 5 disc edition. The first two contain the anniversary story. The third is a behind the scenes documentary, the fourth a documentary covering Big Finish itself. The last disc is a companion chronicles during the First Doctor era called "The Revenants".

Expecting backlash from those of you who do not like reviews before the release date, I would like to point out that this package has been released early by Big Finish ahead of its general release and that of Amazon. The content is the same......

I started to listen to this and at first missed the theme tune bursting in. It was followed by confusion as Doctors appeared and disappeared, teamed up then were somewhere else on their own. But I was hoping it would all gel by the end of the first episode. It turned out I had the tracks on random play. I started again.

Someone elsewhere will probably give a cast list, cameo list or outright plain spoilers. I want to help keep the mystery to first time listeners so wont be giving much away. Suffice to say the adventure begins with a reworking of the theme tune which is quite a disco. Big Finish has reimagined the title tune a number of times and nothing yet can top David Arnold's 8th Doctor original version. It's a bit strange on a first listen but I do like the whistles. After a second go on full blast with headphones it's actually a good bombastic anthem.

Everything is converging in this adventure to 23 November 1963. The 8th Doctor and Charlie start the story (should I say they are the first pairing to appear) and it feels like they have never been apart. Their appearance here takes place during the early part of their `relationship' as the darkness of Charlie's arc hasn't yet taken grip.

It's not long before the other Doctors start appearing (All, from 1st - 8th) and many cameos from the companions. They also team up so it's not a case of singular missions with a reunion in the last act. Previous team ups have had the Doctors bickering with each other. Here they occasionally make the odd quip but are better matched. No offence to the other actors but the Big Finish Big Guns of Tom Baker and Paul McGann work terrifically together.

What is also refreshing and can only be done on audio (sorry dodgy cgi TV Doctors) is that all the Doctors (courtesy of additional voice artists - If you don't know I would suggest you don't read the cast list before listening) are all involved in the story. Not one of them sits in an armchair in his living room, not one gets made of wax, not one is a disembodied head pickled in time, and not one is recast as a different character. The first three Doctors do get involved quite a bit more than you would expect.

This by far is a proper celebration of Doctor Who and all the actors who have taken on the name. It's a clever story with some good twists but it's also NOT a complicated Moffett style plot that might alienate casual listeners (I'm worried Day of the Doctor won't be a celebration and will be dark and complicated [I'm not against the latter in general but I do want the Special to be fun])

LOOK OUT FOR - Plenty of audio links. There is so much to listen out for in the background. The Master is as sinister and malevolent as ever

The disc covering behind the scenes is well documented with all the contributors involved giving their thoughts. The second documentary disc runs down the history of Big Finish itself which is a fascinating listen as there is so much more than a series of Doctor Who audios to contend with. The bonus audio of the Revenants was only ever released before as a special download through Doctor Who Magazine and is a nice edition. Personally I'm not a fan of these part narrated audios, preferring full audio casts, but each to his own. There is also a Limited Edition Vinyl release with the same content and a basic cd that just covers the story itself.

It's worth looking at the BIG FINISH site but Amazon does sell them cheaper although you won't get the free download if you purchase the CD options.

RUNNING TIME

The Light at the End parts 1 & 2: 1.56.31
Behind the Scenes: 1.06.48
This is Big Finish: 1.06.26
The Revenants: 1.10.40

The Special edition has the 5 discs, and a 32 page booklet with some pretty cast photos in an attractive case. I thought that they were additional postcards at first which would have been nice) judging by the promotional photo but on closer look they are pages from the book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Light at the End, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light at the End (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
This 2-cd audio story features a fairly rare thing – all eight of the Doctors taking part in an audio story. Yes, the first three Doctors are also present – voiced admirably by William Russell, Frazer Hines and Tim Treloar respectively. But the main roles in the story are taken by the Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh and Eighth Doctors and their companions – Leela, Nyssa, Peri, Ace and Charley. Also heard through the story are other companions – Susan, Ian, Steven, Vicki, Sara, Polly, Jamie, Zoe, Jo, Tegan and Turlough. The release of this story coincides obviously with the 50th anniversary and I think it’s really nice that Big Finish have been able to put something together that really strongly features the first eight Doctors; the more current Doctors have been well served in tv specials, and this story really highlights the huge contribution of the earlier Doctors. And it does it very well. It’s full of in-jokes for the avid Doctor Who fan (which is not to say that anyone not so familiar with earlier Doctor Who material will not understand or appreciate it, because they most certainly would), the most apparent being the significance (or not!) of November 23rd 1963 at slightly after 5 p.m.

The story begins quite cryptically with the Master (it is clearly him, as his voice is totally recognisable; played perfectly as always by Geoffrey Beevers) makes a choice. Are you sure? the other voice says. Oh yes, the Master is sure. But we, as listeners, are left wondering what is he sure about and what has he chosen? Evidently he believes it bodes ill for the Doctor, but we have to wait a while to find out exactly how. Even when we think we might know, some way through the story, it really has a lot more layers left to unfold before we find out the whole series of events and plans. And mention has to be made of John Dorney playing poor Bob Dovie brilliantly – I loved his emoting at the end!

This is brilliant stuff; the Doctors are all played perfectly. While the first three Doctors are often heard in the distance, or not materialising quite fully so their voices are somewhat in the background, the other Doctors, played perfectly by Tom Baker, Peter Davison, Colin Baker, Sylvester McCoy and Paul McGann really get to play their parts. Their roles are all word- and character-perfect I think. The Fourth Doctor is larger than life, the Fifth is worried, the Sixth brash, the Seventh mysterious and the Eighth trying to do the right thing. But of course they’re all more than just specific character traits that we can readily identify; they each carry the whole of the Doctor ethos with them, and bring it all to the table in this multi-layered, multi-cast, broad story of times, events, people (important and not so important) and November 23rd 1963 on Earth. Absolutely recommended – if you buy only one Doctor Who audio cd this year I think it would best be this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light at the end, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light at the End (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
Half decent story but support by having all theses actors in it! Amazing,worth hearing all the doctors together!for once,if youre new to audio then give this a go!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let there be Light at the End, 25 Nov 2013
By 
R. Thomas "unreadable" (S Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Finally heard it and fully enjoyed it, managed to avoid spoilers completely so I got a nice surprise at the start with the villain being revealed so early. I enjoyed the fact it was more of what I term of a plot story than "fluff" which was what I was expecting, if I hadn't have known it was a multi Doctor story I'd genuinely have believed it was an 8th Doctor and Charley story for the first 10 mins or so. Even when another incarnation turned up I did worry that all the Doctors were about to be thrown into the mix but the story isn't afraid to put various incarnations on the sidelines and give others moments to shine. I also like the fact that the story is firmly about the regulars with few other characters rather akin to The Visitation. I haven't met Straxus in the range yet but judging from a few posts it looks like I'll meet him eventually. The villain was very well played and I enjoyed each time he met a different incarnation of the Doctor was a joy. While listening I didn't know who were doing the first three Doctors voices - I guessed Frazer was doing 2 as I'd heard him in The Destiny of The Doctor series and had heard good things about him from the companion chronicles. William Russell was very good as One but I'm not familiar with whoever performed as Three and to be honest I thought the performer struggled.

I clicked 5 stars but out of 10 I'd probably give it a 9 as I enjoyed it (I must mention the theme which I enjoyed), got a few surprises, had a good ride and had lots of lovely moments. In terms of story most of the regulars got something to do - not to sure about 7, it came over technically well and one of my personal favourite things about it was the Doctors various different reactions to the trap from those who wondered into it blindly to those who were suspicious and over complicated things getting themselves into deeper trouble. Very good stuff and keep it up Big Finish.

Also included is a very good behind the scenes documentary which is very lengthy and quite a good listen. A rather good celebration of Big Finish who have been making these audio's for well over a decade and a well regarded Companion Chronicle which was originally an exclusive with Doctor Who magazine starring original companion William Russell and Sharon Small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yet another winner from the chaps at Big Finish!, 25 Jun 2014
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Light at the End (Doctor Who) (Audio CD)
As we know, Doctor Who's 50th Anniversary was one MASSIVE party, enjoyed and celebrated through so many different medias, with the whole franchise and fanbase determined to celebrate to the fullest. Everyone and everything came together for this momentous occasion, including & especially all the different Doctors throughout history.

The Light at the End is a Big Finish audio drama that unites the Fourth (Tom Baker), Fifth (Peter Davison), Sixth (Colin Baker), Seventh (Sylvester McCoy) and Eighth (Paul McGann) Doctors in a all-star team-up (very similar to The Five Doctors and Day of the Doctor). Having enjoyed Big Finish & AudioGo's Destiny of the Doctor range so much, I was most keen to check out this particular drama, especially to see all the legends come back for this particular 50th Anniversary celebration in a brand-new setting.

The Light at the End focuses on November 23rd 1963 (sounds familiar...!), and Bob Dovie's life has been torn apart. The devastation that this innocent man has suffered, turns out to have grave consequences for the first eight of the Doctor's incarnations. The Time Lord's entire existence is threatened by arch-nemesis the Master and the mysterious `Vess'. Can the Doctor's various incarnations all work together to save themselves and all of time itself?

Nicholas Briggs (voice of the Daleks in the TV series and head-honcho of Big Finish) has written and directed The Light at the End, and (all-in-all) he should be proud of his production. With all the cast on form, rich sound-effects and soundtrack (LOVE the rendition of the Doctor Who theme used here!), The Light at the End is an audio drama of VERY high-quality. Worthy of Doctor Who's 50th Anniversary.

Tom, Peter, Colin, Sylvester and Paul's different Doctors all get sufficient time to shine through with their performances and roles within the story. And they all interact beautifully (just like Matt, David and John in Day of the Doctor), with the best team-ups being Doctors Four & Eight, followed by the exchanges with Six & Seven. Of course, companions are on hand with the likes of Leela (Louise Jameson), Nysaa (Sarah Sutton), Peri (Nicola Bryant), Ace (Sophie Aldred) and Charley (India Fisher) all providing great support and conversing brilliantly with each other and different Doctors. Geoffrey Beevers provides a deliciously malevolent turn as The Master, who is the perfect (and natural) foil for the Doctor in this audio-drama.

Plot-wise, The Light at the End is a bit tricky to follow, but coherent enough to make you want to continue. There's some nice twist-and-turns, and it juggles all the various plot-elements quite nicely. It's a major-outing that lives up to the hype, and adheres carefully to the continuities of both the Big Finish and original TV series. However, the Master's plan to undo the Doctor's life is somewhat underwhelming through the use of victimising a completely random innocent like Bob Dovie, and the Vess themselves come across as `filler' (especially when compared to the much meatier Creevix from The Time Machine). Aside from those issues, the rest of the Master's machinations are sinister and true to his brilliant scheming nature.

The only thing really that betrays The Light at the End, is its anti-climactic ending. Aside from that, this is an audio-drama that (like Destiny of the Doctor) helps celebrate 50 years of Doctor Who in style. Like the Destiny series, like Day of the Doctor and everything else, The Light at the End simply cannot be missed by Whovians. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Light at the End (Doctor Who)
The Light at the End (Doctor Who) by Nicholas Briggs (Audio CD - 23 Nov 2013)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews