Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Engrossing
Following on from the quite wonderful "Legionary", the question was whether the second book in this series could continue in the same tightly paced, character rich vein. The answer is a resounding yes.

"Legionary 2" is a superb book. The characters - Pavo, Gallus etc - all progress nicely and you can see the effect that events have on them as the story...
Published on 7 Sept. 2012 by drfrankentweed

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
bit sameish as first one but good story
Published 3 months ago by Martin Moffat


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gallops on well, 9 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fans of History and squaddie books will like this. It sets the scene with the ancient worlds but the language structure is that of the modern british soldier.

almost like taking Andy McNab and dropping him 2000 years behind the lines.

a good going action novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legionary 2, 28 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legionary: Viper of the North (Paperback)
A development of the theme started in book 1. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and the progression of the characters. Pavo and Sura seem to survive the action to fight another day. I hope my wait for the next in the series is not going to be to long. All in all an outstanding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting action packed story, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't wait to read this book after reading the first book in the Legionary series and now look forward to the next. Exciting story full of stirring battles and heroism on the part of the main characters and provides sufficient background detail of the historical setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series with great action for all those readers that ..., 18 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Legionary: Viper of the North (Paperback)
Fantastic series with great action for all those readers that love the history and grittiness of life in the legions. Shame still waiting for the first in the series- Legionary which Amazon seem to have difficulty in getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good. Great storyline and characters. Book 3 here I come., 3 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great second book, easily flows and keeps you wanting to keep reading. Only a few books have got my interest enough for me to read at all times of the day, this was one of them. I hope the next one will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars still reading, 6 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
at the moment i am only half way thru this book.i followed straight thru from the first book which in its self was a very good read.i recommend these books to anyone who likes roman history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the Eastern Empire Crumbles, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another interesting and absorbing story of the Eastern Roman Empire and it's gradual decline under the pressure of the migrating Germanic & Hun Nations. Excellent, long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legionary Viper of the North (Legionary 2), 22 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Second of this series.. and every bit as good as Legionary 1, if not better. Follows surviving characters of the previous book and is very descriptive in its portrayal of the cruelty and bitter struggle between a united Goth army and the very thinly stretched eastern Roman Empire under Valens..I hope there is a Legionary 3 which might just round of the series for me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read Gordon Doherty's first Legionary book and was hooked! I'm really pleased that he wrote another. This book continues on from the first and once again I was impressed by Gordon Doherty's knowledge of history and ability to write a really good novel! Gordon Doherty has excelled once again, I'd highly recommend this book and I hope he writes a third `Legionary'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super read, 12 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another super read by Gordon Doherty continuing his fascinating narrative of the troubled world at the end of the Roman period of rule. Now waiting for next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legionary: Viper of the North
Legionary: Viper of the North by Gordon Doherty (Paperback - 14 Sept. 2012)
Used & New from: £4.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews