Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most amazing pictures - buy this and see the world differently on the train every monday morning
This is the first book that has driven me to write a review here on amazon. Other reviews recommended buying the hard copy book rather than the kindle version as the pictures are just incredible.

The writing is enthralling, thought provoking, and above all something I will go back to time and time again as this book takes a pride of place on my bookshelf ready...
Published 4 months ago by steve wroe

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but could have been better.
I heard the author interviewed on the radio and it sounded interesting. However, the book is very long and repetitive on the philosophy of why they do urban exploration, and quite short on what they find while they're doing it. So if you want to know what's in some of the places you'll have to explore them yourself.
Published 4 months ago by Graham


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most amazing pictures - buy this and see the world differently on the train every monday morning, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Explore Everything: Place-hacking the City (Hardcover)
This is the first book that has driven me to write a review here on amazon. Other reviews recommended buying the hard copy book rather than the kindle version as the pictures are just incredible.

The writing is enthralling, thought provoking, and above all something I will go back to time and time again as this book takes a pride of place on my bookshelf ready for further delving on cold winter nights.

A truly inspiring, and brilliant book - with the most amazing photo's - brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explore This, 9 Oct 2013
This review is from: Explore Everything: Place-hacking the City (Hardcover)
First up, 'Explore Everything' is an exhilarating first-person account of 3-4 years exploring London and beyond, all ingenious plans, dizzying heights, run-ins with security and general jaw-dropping derring do. (The Forth Rail Bridge climb terrified me.) Brad tells a yarn with panache and wears his emotions on his sleeve - the excitement, the fear, the come-down.

The book's full of photography from the explorations, which really helps imagine where they've been (and just what the difference is between a storm drain and a super-sewer). And from them you can also understand what motivates people to go urban exploring in the first place - the different perspective on the city (and, perhaps, yourself too).

So secondly 'Explore Everything' is an entreaty to imagine the city anew. The language is evocative, even exciting - it's out to make you feel as well as think. "Urban exploration stimulates an awareness that the city is more like a sponge than a solid mass of paved streets and architecture, more like a body than a machine. Cities are spikes and sinkholes; the surface is porous. The bloodstream of the city becomes a conduit for shock and wonder in infinite doses." (p. 175)

'Explore Everything' is also an ethnography of an urban exploration crew: how the group came together, gained rivalries, bonded through shard adversity, and then ultimately drifted apart. This is a bit more academic in tone - it's asking "anthropologist" questions rather than just "explorer" ones. So if that's your background you can read it for an ultra-participatory take on "participant observation", and a complex ethical field of research. If that's not your background - well, Brad's essentially just talking about relationships between people: group dynamics, egos and arguments. It's all very readable.

Finally, 'Explore Everything' is argument for the "right to the city", a kind of guerilla spatial democracy. 'Explore Everything' is political in how it critiques the status quo, and reminds us how normatively constrained our urban movement is. "Multiplying possibilities, and creating opportunities that are not offered, is always a political act." (p. 174)

So - fascinating, exciting, and leaving you with a whole lotta things to think about the next time you go down into the Underground or walk past a building site in the City of London. It's also a really satisfying as an object - the dustjacket is transparent with the title overlayed like police tape, then the hardback itself is completely free of text, just the one amazing Forth Rail Bridge photo wrapped all the way round. (Don't succumb to the temptation of the Kindle version! The photos will be better in print too.) Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timely Intervention, 21 Oct 2013
By 
M. P. Buckley "Blast" (Royton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Explore Everything: Place-hacking the City (Hardcover)
This book could not have been published at a better time. When Messrs. Snowden and Assange show that we are all being watched by Big Brother, often quite illegally; when photographers are prevented by the Met. Police from taking shots of public landmarks; when more and more legal protection is given to huge corporate bodies, Urban Exploration not only is exhaustive and exciting, but necessary for the spirit to rise above the routine.
Battles against petty bureaucracy, thrilling photography, the thrill of the chase, all set against a rigorous academic backdrop. Ironically the book also shows how the well guarded can become an open door to determination, energy and lateral thinking. An irony that our security services find impossible to see. Urban Exploration leaves no footprints.
Just before reading this book I took some rubbish to our new privately owned "tip", which looked like a space silo set from an early Bond film. I took a Blackberry pic to send to my wife by text. I felt the presence of a yellow jacketed Security guard by my side, asking what I was doing and had I got permission from the "company" to take pics! They were afraid of "competitors" looking at their systems to gain an industrial edge. It was only my manner that persuaded him that I was just visually fascinated by the operation. He retreated.
Buy this book, you will never look at "No Entry, Private for The Elite" signs again in the same manner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars explore everything...a winner!, 9 Nov 2013
This review is from: Explore Everything: Place-hacking the City (Hardcover)
i have known dr bradley l garrett all of his life, being the son of my ex-wife...his accomplishments have amazed me as even a youngster growing up to his present stage of life as a seasoned adventurer and a scholar...and now he has written a fantastic book, documenting urban exploring in an intimate way as only he as a pioneer explorer could do...the writing is electric as he brings us into forbidden places never seen before...the many photographs are beyond the scope of the imagination as he takes us into the dark, dangerous and forbidden...i recommend this book to anyone who desires a read with unusual honesty and the style of a true modern day adventurer...i look forward to seeing a documentary of his significant part in urban exploring or even perhaps a movie of his life's adventures...well done, brad...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book.Looks good . Is good, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Explore Everything: Place-hacking the City (Hardcover)
Just exactly what I wanted, it looks nice and glossy and interesting. There are plenty of pics and good text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but could have been better., 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I heard the author interviewed on the radio and it sounded interesting. However, the book is very long and repetitive on the philosophy of why they do urban exploration, and quite short on what they find while they're doing it. So if you want to know what's in some of the places you'll have to explore them yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done, 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: Explore Everything: Place-hacking the City (Hardcover)
This was a true story about something which few people no anything about. It was well written and held my interest. I look forward to future books of adventure written by Bradley Garrett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read only if you are not scared of been inspired, 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: Explore Everything: Place-hacking the City (Hardcover)
I encountered Explore Everything while roaming on a Friday lunch break in Rough Trade.
I just opened the first pages and realised that the book and I were sharing one passion: exploring, touching first hand that no matter in which landscape or moment we are, we can overcome routines and conventions and free our desires and instinct.
I set in a bar, in the sun and started travelling with Bradley and it's crew across London tubes, unknown site, iconic buildings, to move than across Europe and the US and discover that urban sites are our modern ruins, we do not have to book expensive holiday packages to observe how we evolve and grow in our humans deeds.
The book is never pretending to justify or encourage trespassing, or juvenile rebellion.
The events and the discoveries unfold with a spontaneous sense of endurance, intellectual curiosity and camaraderie.
The narrative is an authentic chronic of a journey of a group of people who enjoy testing their limits but without pretending to convince the reader to transgress or become someone else.
The pictures are slotted in without any caption: that made the discovery of the book more direct, not labeled by post codes.
It is a truly enjoyable read, and you might actually been inspired by the opportunity to start exploring your surroundings, discovering that our learning and self discovery means are only limited by our own inertia and fear to show who we really are!
A great contemporary chronicle: give it a go and leave your bourgeois scepticism a rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadec0798)

This product

Explore Everything: Place-hacking the City
Explore Everything: Place-hacking the City by Bradley Garrett (Hardcover - 7 Oct 2013)
13.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews