Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was good, am satisfied
It was informative about the corruption and greed inside the Mexican Cartels and more worryingly the government. Keep it up!
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed and poorly translated
The story behind this book and the author's endeavours to research it are very impressive and worthy. However it's quite hard to read and does not provide a readily pieced together picture of events, which is an indicator of poor translation and I found myself wishing I could read Spanish.
Published 2 months ago by Elsmier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed and poorly translated, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story behind this book and the author's endeavours to research it are very impressive and worthy. However it's quite hard to read and does not provide a readily pieced together picture of events, which is an indicator of poor translation and I found myself wishing I could read Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was good, am satisfied, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Narcoland: The Mexican Drug Lords and Their Godfathers (Hardcover)
It was informative about the corruption and greed inside the Mexican Cartels and more worryingly the government. Keep it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This isn't an easy book to read, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Narcoland: The Mexican Drug Lords and Their Godfathers (Hardcover)
This isn't an easy book to read, although it might be if you're Mexican, or know the country intimately, in which case many of the characters would be known to you.

However it is well written, not badly written as many reviewers here and on Amazon.com have claimed. It is however written in a style which perhaps owes something to the Spanish language or way of speaking, and it takes a little while to get into the swing of it. However if you can't handle that you're never going to get anything from a serious book anyway.

In fact this is a careful, comprehensive and very carefully put together history of the drug business in Mexico, with its connections to many other Central and South American countries, and also of course the good old USA, with a starring, perhaps even leading role for the CIA.

Having said all that I read the first third of this book carefully and then started to skip because I simply don't need this much information. But for anyone who wants or needs to know chapter and verse on the characters involved, and the way it all stacks up it is invaluable.

I have read several books on the drug wars including the remarkable 'Dark Alliance' by Mark Webb and 'Amexica' by Ed Vuillamy. This book however, being written by a Mexican has far more detail in the Mexican experience than they do especially in showing how by the mid 1980s the drug business was being run by the drug cartels but in equal partnership and with the total protection and connivance of the Mexican government.

Hernandez also gives chapter and verse of how the cartels received a massive shot in the arm, to say the least, from the CIA, acting illegally, against the instructions of Congress but with encouragement from President Reagan. Reagan ensured the cartels were given carte blanche to export drugs to the USA in return for them supplying arms to the Contras so that they could fight political parties like the Sandanistas which Reagan viewed as Communist.

She also gives an account of John Kerry's report into the Contra affair, which implicated the CIA and which, although she doesn't say this, was obstructed in every way possible by the American establishment and then ignored by the press when it was finally published.

I have never read such a profound and detailed study of corruption in government as this book. The author, who I heard speak not long ago when her book was published, is to be congratulated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars was not able to finish it as it bored me to tears, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Narcoland: The Mexican Drug Lords and Their Godfathers (Hardcover)
Ultra hard going with all the names, was not able to finish it as it bored me to tears. I'm sure the book is great if you have a lot of time to digest it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Narcoland: The Mexican Drug Lords and Their Godfathers (Hardcover)
My twin read it, compliment enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no coherence and poorly translated, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Narcoland: The Mexican Drug Lords and Their Godfathers (Hardcover)
in english, this has no coherence and reads like a very literal translation of the spanish.

regardless of this, the book itself reads like an 8 year old reeling off facts without any real linear theme.

Avoid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This will be an interesting read. I have not started it yet but believe I will be hooked. Can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good read, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Narcoland: The Mexican Drug Lords and Their Godfathers (Hardcover)
very good book but could have been a bit more condensed , a very good book would recommend if you like true stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Narcoland: The Mexican Drug Lords and Their Godfathers
Narcoland: The Mexican Drug Lords and Their Godfathers by Roberto Saviano (Hardcover - 10 Sep 2013)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews