Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2005
I couldnt put this put book down, it was so well written and informative. The stories told relive the attitude and experiences of midwives and women and their families alike, in a harsher and sometimes simpler way of life that everybody can learn from. As the review title says you certainly don't have to be interested in midwifery to have full enjoyment of this book
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2009
Whether you are a midwife and have an interest in midwifery, or not, this book is a really lively and interesting read. It gives a fantastic insight into how it was for women giving birth, and their birth attendents, whether professional midwives, or the local handy-woman; and how those handy-women were gradually phased out due to their lack of oportunity to have an education, which would have enabled them to continue and enhance the job they'd been doing for many years. I found it really interesting how women's attitude to pregnancy and childbirth have changed through the years, and the extensive knowledge the care givers had of the birth process, and how they were very much in tune with the natural process of birth itself, which I feel in many ways that intuition has been lost. Great read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2000
I'd recommend this book to almost anyone... The way it is structured and written ensures it's interesting for anyone interested in social history, women's issues, healthcare, midwifery. It includes lots of direct quotes from midwives who are sharing their experiences. A lot of information, well presented.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2008
This book takes a fairly academic, though very readable, look at maternity care in the 20th Century. Particularly interesting to me were the first person accounts of issues such as courting, birth control and working lives. No one can doubt that women today have an easier time than our grandmothers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2006
This book is excellent for anybody intersted in the profession and an interesting read for every student midwife. Easy reading and a breath of fresh air away from student text-books. It gives great insight into how the profession developed without judging the old or modern methods in the profession. The book gives plenty to think about in order to entice forming own opinions on midwifery practice and support for mothers, away from text-book reading. As a student it teaches to use own judgement - a must have to write essays. I will read it again and can not wait to start midwifery, bearing in mind the roots!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Qualitative account of midwifery and childbirth with personal accounts of 20th and 21st century practice. Interesting social history for both those studying or just curious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Interesting facts and anecdotes from a time gone by. Great read for midwives and enthusiasts alike. An insightful read that I would definitely recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Fascinating account of how our modern midwifery service came about, with salutary lessons on keeping mothers and babies central to care
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.