Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars17
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
9
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2013
A few years ago finding out that a family history takes you to Ireland scared most people as the trail differed so much from the rest of the UK.
Thanks to the work of Chris and other prominent Irish family historians the position has greatly improved with the recognition of so many varied sources of information.
Chris has managed to write the definitive book for anyone who wants to follow their family history in Ireland whether you are completely new to family history or much more experienced.
The book is written in an easily digestible fashion avoiding jargon which populates many FH books and although it is suitable for use in planning a visit to some of the physical locations it is brilliant for armchair genealogists who want to access records via the internet.
To this end downloading the kindle edition and reading via Kindle on PC means that links can be clicked to open the relevant page while you read or if downloaded to a tablet PC it can accompany you to records offices for instant reference when carrying out searches.

If you have any ancestors in Ireland then you must buy this book as it will save you from much anguish was well as saving your time and money and you may well find those elusive relatives.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
This is a very useful book for anyone chasing their Irish Ancestors. It has provided me with many Irish Research sites that I was unaware of!
NB I was also very impressed by the speedy delivery from Amazon too!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Great information on Irish family history.So many references given.Now I know where to start at last.Well worth obtaining if you have Irish ancestors.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
The book does what it says on the cover and was in excellent condition when delivered. On following the guidelines I got through my first brick wall and promises to be a good roadmap for anyone researching family history.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Well laid out and very easy to follow book
Up to date and accurate information on how to go about tracing ancestors from both N Ireland and Eire as they are two very different systems
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
This was a good source of family history sites with every conceivable web site with detailed referencing. It was so easy to just read and click. History unfolded at the click in the mouse.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
This willcontinue to be a very good reference book. I hav ancestors from Ireland and it helps to have a guide to resources.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
Have been too busy to use this yet but it is packed with useful info and websites. Would recommend it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
This is not the sort of book that one reads like fiction but it has all the information that will help me when the time is right. For what I need this is perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
If you are a first timer at Family Research this book is complicated if you do not understand how to start. It gives lots of detail and
I tried some of the sites it suggested, but you get on to them and they are mine fields. It is also so easy to get signed up for some
thing you don't want and spend lots of money on sites they say they are free - what you get in the end is a name & date of birth
nothing else so you have to spend money one way or the other i.e. getting tokens or signing up for 6 to 12 months.

I am now looking for something more simple for beginners.

I am not under the illusion that this research is easy because it is not, you must be prepared to double check everything. I am still
keen to learn.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)