Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving, personal account from a war which was the epitome of hell itself.
I had never heard of Jude Law before I watched the film `Enemy at the Gates' which tells the fictionalised tale of a Russian sniper during the Battle of Stalingrad. I vividly recall how those Russian troops were sent into battle with one rifle for every two soldiers. True or not, that portrayal was never far from the reality of the day and I mention it only to draw the...
Published on 18 Feb. 2013 by Ned Middleton

versus
81 of 93 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Impressed
Ok so this book was a must buy when I saw it on Amazon.ca, I was however disapointed. To start its a very very short read 146 pages which hardley seems enough for one of the German Army's top snipers memoirs, further more this book is NOT written by Josef Sepp Allergerger but Albrecht Waker who interviewed Mr.Allerberger and wrote a book that is titled "Im auge des...
Published on 17 Feb. 2006 by J. Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving, personal account from a war which was the epitome of hell itself., 18 Feb. 2013
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I had never heard of Jude Law before I watched the film `Enemy at the Gates' which tells the fictionalised tale of a Russian sniper during the Battle of Stalingrad. I vividly recall how those Russian troops were sent into battle with one rifle for every two soldiers. True or not, that portrayal was never far from the reality of the day and I mention it only to draw the reader into one of the fiercest and costliest times of WW2 - the Eastern front fought between Russia and Germany.

This is a captivating work from Albrecht Wacker in which he reveals the memoirs of a German soldier - and sniper, who was awarded the Knights Cross for his service. Many readers will possibly think an `Iron Cross' is an Iron Cross but the Knights Cross was only awarded to those who already held the Iron Cross and was made to recognise extreme battlefield bravery or successful military leadership. No German soldier became any less brave just because his country was beaten and this is the story of one of the bravest.

As with all good books, this finely crafted work begins right at the beginning where we find accounts of the differences between the hardened soldiers and the newest recruits on the eve of battle. Even the biggest and hardest of men have been known to lose control of either their stomach or their breakfast before a battle and yet, in this work it is explained in such a way that we might begin to understand such matters.

With consummate skill, as the book progresses, we are drawn into one man's part in a huge conflict and the subsequent retreat for those who were lucky enough to escape either death or Soviet imprisonment. I use the words `consummate skill' because we are given the benefit of reliving this simple soldier's life from the day on which he arrived as a raw recruit right through to his eventual survival. Throughout the work there is no triumphalism or defeatism aimed at either one side of the conflict or the other. In short, it is an account of what happened to one man movingly told - exactly as it happened with exaggeration, false modesty or unnecessary anti-Russian sentiments.

Right at the end of the work, we are treated to a poem found in a document which was written by an unknown poet - probably a dead soldier. In many ways that poem explains how true professional soldiers feel after their wars are over. In some ways it almost explains Post Traumatic Stress. For the subject of this book, it also explained why he was required to do what he did but, please, do not read that poem until you get to it or you will miss the enjoyment of the splendid way in which the book is concluded.

A few relevant historic black and white photographs appears together about midway through the work and one of these shows Sepp Allerberger wearing both his Iron Crosses.

NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History at ground level., 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book despite some of the reviews available as I firmly believe you get a better perspective of what war is like from the true perspective of close combat from those who had their bellies in the mud than from some of the more "intellectual" books written by those who did not experience this effect fully as they were removed from it somewhat by their positions of rank and self worth. Not an apologetic work, more a grass roots perspective from Sepp's exploits. I would not expect very much remose from a person in this field, after all a sniper is just that, a killing machine who is analytical and professional in his trade. We here so much about how bad the Germans were in the war and how wonderful the allies were to defeat them that we are in danger of missing the real points. War is nasty and cruel, not just for those we are invaded but also for those who have no choice and have to fight once it starts from both sides.
Some very interseting passages in the book about the behaviours from both sides that took place in Russia and Eastern Europe and neither side comes out of it smelling of roses!. I liked the way the book unfolded and also the way his training (or lack of it) enabled him to undertake what is a very dangerous role in any army. Any recipient of the Knights Cross was a soldier who did outstanding service on the battlefield and as a private soldier the achievement must have been monumental. Given his lack of initial formal training he must have been an oustanding infanteer especially to survive in such a harsh environment.
Read it and see for yourself. there are other books of a similar nature coming out but this one I really liked.Look past the uniform and at the content. Dont prejudge him as German after all they had U boats, (horrible nasty things) and we had submarines (hurrah! the RN). I think you will enjoy the book....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not so quiet on the Eastern Front, 16 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
The sniper is one of the most enigmatic and misunderstood figures in warfare, and this vivid first hand account helps to give an important insight into the role they play and the reactions they evoke amongst comrades and enemies. The Eastern Front was the scene of some of the most vicious fighting of the war, with the Russians and Germans each losing millions of soldiers, not to mention the countless civilian casualties, and in these conditions humanity and ethics were often abandoned in favour of survival.
Sepp Allerberger, a self-taught sniper specialist in the German Wehrmacht, fought for over a year against the Russians, from inside Russia back to the Reich, and his memoirs give a brutally honest and compelling view of this conflict.
Following his life from the time he was conscripted to when he finally arrived home after the war ended, it tracks the friends he made and lost, and the battles he fought in during which he was wounded numerous times and won several medals. It is a rare example of an account of war, not only because the accounts of snipers themselves are so rare, but also because German soldiers from the time rarely publish accounts outside their own country. The book is important in this respect for dispelling the ideas held about german soldiers fo the time, and German snipers in particular. While Allied snipers, especially in the Russian Army, are often held up as glorious heroes and heroines, their German counterparts are often depicted as sly, evil assassins, and this book demonstrates that the truth was nothing of the sort.
There is nothing left out for fear of being too candid; from the torure and rape of civilians and wounded soldiers by the Red Army to the ad hoc executions of suspected spies by the SS, death is a constant and defining feature of the book. Make no mistake; this is not for someone who is easily upset or squemish, but without the poignant examples witnessed by Allerberger, this would not be the same book.
A unique and thoroughly enlightening book, it is not exactly relaxing, but was never meant to be. A view of war through the eyes of a sniper on the losing side is such a rare thing, and this is so vividly written that it cannot fail but leave an impression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 19 Nov. 2006
A very good read, well written and fascinating. Follows a German sniper's war from the eastern front to the end of the war and his homecoming. A great insight into the thoughts and fears of German soldier and the horrors of any conflict. A well researched and factually rich account that isn't disjointed like so many accounts. There are a few horrific accounts of atrocities committed by the Soviets and an acceptance that such acts occurred on both sides. A very human account that made me hope, as I read that Sepp's storey would have a happy ending for him. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 93 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Impressed, 17 Feb. 2006
By 
J. Harrison (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok so this book was a must buy when I saw it on Amazon.ca, I was however disapointed. To start its a very very short read 146 pages which hardley seems enough for one of the German Army's top snipers memoirs, further more this book is NOT written by Josef Sepp Allergerger but Albrecht Waker who interviewed Mr.Allerberger and wrote a book that is titled "Im auge des Jägers" which is double the size of this English translated edition (why cut the book in half?) All of this aside you would imagin that it could still be good, but really its just 146 pages of the most vile and descriptive violence imaginable, very little military information, or even a realistic narrative of what Soldiers on the Eastern front faced, just vivid descriptions of what someones head looks like after Herr Allerberger puts a 7.9 bullet through it. There are also a few attrocious recollections witnessed by Allerberger by the hands of Russians that are akin to the crimes you read about in books about the Holocaust. I have read many many memoirs and the fact the book is very cruel almost makes it feasible, but Im still unsure too much dosnt add up with this title, and in comparison to the likes of "Grenadiers - Kurt Meyer" "Forgotten soldier - Guy sajer " and "Black Edelwiesse - Johann Voss" this book really does not compare in anyway, nor does it stand out as a example of how to do a German memior differant. I have never heard a veteran describe shooting somone in the head as "Like wathching a ripe melon explode" regardless of the savagry of the fighting I think A.Waker add-libb'd a little too much.
Only read this book if you are dead set on doing so, otherwise hope that they re-print "Im auge des Jägers" which is apparently the full story, not half of the story as the english readers seemed to have purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as close as you can get to war without being there, 18 Mar. 2007
It is a mirracle the author has come across a living German sniper with 2 years experience in the Eastern front. He apparently appreciated what he found and put a fair amount of sweat into this book as it is brilliant.

I don't know why the publishers reduced English version to a half of the original. But not being fluent in German I'm still greatful to have got a chance to read at least that much. Many good German books never get translated into English at all. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read. Not a bumbling series of facts., 12 Nov. 2006
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777 - Born again Diver" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of those rare biographies that are readable as a story rather than a series of chronologically tacked together events. The story is harrowing and interesting. The operations of a WW2 sniper and the way they perceive things was very interesting. It certainly gels well with many others and in fact reading the US view of combat in "If you survive" it's almost as if they were written to go together. Sepp explains why he is the merciless killer he is and what turned him into what he became (The Russian Front, and especially the brutality Partisans brought to the battle that up until they got involved still had some of the rules of war operating.) Another example of contrasts is when Cossacks butchered Medics and Red cross personnel doctors and slaughtered hospital wounded when they over ran those hospitals (born out in many recollections of WW2) so when Sepp was transferred to the Western Front they were bemused to see American troops wonder out onto the battlefield to tend to their wounded, as if on a Sunday foorball match. In some instances the germans shot the medics which the Americans viewed as Barbaric. However they never understood that the Germans had been fighting to different rules up until that point. I think not only does this book fascinate with interesting points of being a sniper but the contrast between battlefronts, behaviour and conditions is worth noting. Finally I think some of the most difficult experiences are explained in the book when it comes to self control of a sniper. Knowing when to make a difference and how and controlling anger and emotions until that moment is clearly explained in some of his recollections. Great Book. Good Read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the bullseye, 23 Jan. 2007
By 
Gripping read and you almost feel as though you cannot move sometimes in fear of what the russians did to captured German marksmen but having read Stalingrad I just felt as though the writer could beef up certian areas and topics and generally prolong the read. At 100 odd pages it isn't the longest book. Perhaps a better understanding of the shifting front line might have helped but overall my first word in this review is justified by the still anticipation that the author takes you through prior to this guys so many kills, this mixed in with the usual russian/german brutality makes it a worthwhile read (even if it'll only take a week or so)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The life of the foot soldier is full of horror and death. This more than most. Quite difficult to read but no where near as difficult as it must have been to live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brutal War, 22 July 2013
By 
D. J. Allan "D.Allan" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book really brings home what it must have been like during WW2 for the average soldier fighting the Russians on the Eastern Front. The daily brutality from both sides in an effort to outwit eachother, the stress, lack of sleep and poor diet took it's toll. It made me wonder how much equipment and bodies were buried in unmarked graves from Russia all the way into europe. I certainly would have liked to know how this sniper coped after the war with all the mental scars left from those battles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sniper on the Eastern Front
Sniper on the Eastern Front by Albrecht Wacker (Paperback - 17 May 2012)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews