Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-researched, worthwhile...but something missing?
Please don't get me wrong - I genuinely like this book and would recommend it without hesitation.
I just can't help feeling there's something (I'm not even sure what) missing..

The first few chapters document the whys' and wherefores of the specification which led to the Whirlwind and gives an insight into the mindset of the RAFs' leadership, pre-war. It...
Published 15 months ago by Border Reiver

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for the aero techies like
Very detailed information. Only for the aero techies like me
Published 4 months ago by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-researched, worthwhile...but something missing?, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Border Reiver (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whirlwind: Westland's Enigmatic Fighter (Hardcover)
Please don't get me wrong - I genuinely like this book and would recommend it without hesitation.
I just can't help feeling there's something (I'm not even sure what) missing..

The first few chapters document the whys' and wherefores of the specification which led to the Whirlwind and gives an insight into the mindset of the RAFs' leadership, pre-war. It also gives some insight into the, seemingly, almost chaotic state of the aviation industry in the UK in the late thirty's with companies vying for orders they could not possibly fulfill.

One can only marvel at some of the design decisions alluded to in the aircrafts development and I would have liked a more in-depth and wider-reaching review of this aspect of the subject (perhaps this is what I'm referring to above?).

The majority of the book is an immensely detailed research of the service history of the type for which the author is to be congratulated. However, the book really needs the addition of some maps to show both the operational areas of the squadrons equipped with the Whirlwind and the bases from which they flew.

While 1000 were originally ordered, the final delivery of only just over a hundred always meant the Whirlwind would only ever be a footnote in history.Enigmatic, certainly. Interesting, definitely.

I've always had a particular interest in the Whirlwind and have to confess I think my biggest 'grouse' with the book was that I didn't feel that I 'knew' the aeroplane any better after reading it.

However, I DID have a much better appreciation of the aircrew who flew it, often in extremely difficult weather conditions.

To sum up - worth buying for the operational history alone, but a wider and deeper technical review of the aircraft itself would have guaranteed that fifth star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another good idea, destroyed by beauracrats, 27 Aug 2013
By 
M. Steedman (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whirlwind: Westland's Enigmatic Fighter (Hardcover)
At the time people though designing a monoplane with four machine guns was daring, to design one with four cannon was just fantastic.
The fact the four machine gun planes became the eight machine gunned Spitfire and Hurricane, both of which went on to carry four cannon shows how correct the idea was. However as is the burden of most future designs this one ran into unseen problems and it being the early years of the war when fighters were required yesterday there was never enough time to wok the design problems out.
When it finally seen limited service initially the RAF had no idea what to do with it and while its performance was ok for 1939, it was struggling by1942.
The book covers the struggle to get the design excepted and into production then the planes war record, with the two squadrons, is accounted for.
The book is a good read and a worthy account of what might have been
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive Monograph, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whirlwind: Westland's Enigmatic Fighter (Hardcover)
A thorough history of the origins of the aircraft, and of how it was used, together with histories of the individual aircraft. An enjoyable read.
Criticism - No discussion of what might have happened if the design had been actively progressed since inception, and how / if it's presence, and it's cannons, might have affected the 'Battle of Britain'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, considerable operational information, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whirlwind: Westland's Enigmatic Fighter (Hardcover)
Well written and interesting. A little light on the technical side and not much detail on the politics however there is quite a bit on the design and loads of operational information about the units and people which make it an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Corduroy does us a favour, 14 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is worthwhile early history about the inception and development of the Whirlwind, and general background of Fighter Command's philosophy as it changed between the two wars. There is also detail that I hardly expected - who'd have thought that the cockpit cover would blow off! But I won't spoil it for you. The war service of the Whirlwind is covered extensively, though it doesn't appear to have been a very marked success, which may be why there hasn't been much written about it before that I know of. Good book, worth reading, but I found it something of a hassle on my Kindle. Probably best to get the paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Westland Whirlwind, ground attack aircraft, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book to take you from conception, development to use in service. A lesser known aircraft of WWll, this book covers just about all the aircraft built (and lost). With so few to actually get built and enter service it is easy for many to overlook an aircraft that provided some excellent service for it's day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bucketful of problems, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whirlwind: Westland's Enigmatic Fighter (Hardcover)
A detailed account of the trials and tribulations of the ground breaking fighter, the then small firm of Westland that built it, and the pilots that flew it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent explanation of the Whirlwind story, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Andrew Johnson (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very helpful piece of research from which I learnt a lot. The Whirlwind concept dated from a period when the Air Ministry were starting to have doubts about 8 machine guns bringing down bombers, so they invited designs for some 4 cannon fighters. The Westland offer won the competition but soon after the Ministry wanted Westland to concentrate on Lysanders and Rolls Royce on Merlins not Peregrines. But when the decision to cancel came there were already enough Peregrines to make 100+ Whirlwinds and so they made their small contribution to history. Sadly too late for BoB but making a contribution to the new offensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and fascinating, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had always wondered why such a potentially potent aircraft had such a limited service life. This book explains why. Thanks to the author for tackling the subject. A nice job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult development, 20 Dec 2013
By 
Jean-pierre Laurent (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whirlwind: Westland's Enigmatic Fighter (Hardcover)
It gives an interesting view of the difficulties of decision and multiple hesitations. A lot of feats by the crews, impressive but a little bit repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whirlwind: Westland's Enigmatic Fighter
Whirlwind: Westland's Enigmatic Fighter by Niall Corduroy (Hardcover - 19 July 2012)
Used & New from: £16.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews