Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old friends
I'd read this as a young man and my copies had fallen to pieces- it was an efficient way of replacing them. Pure Fantasy- and the John Carter film could so nearly have been great.
Published on 22 April 2012 by Dr. John Chapman

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but flawed formatting
ERB's Barsoom stories are a great example of early sci-fi that has patently influenced later works. The hero, John Carter, is at once a laudable hero character and at the same time a sexist, racist barbarian - and thank god. Without the Flash Gorden-esque parading of manliness it would be a lesser tale. I heartily recommend the story at least; it has shades of Moorcock...
Published on 4 Jun 2011 by GraemeP


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but flawed formatting, 4 Jun 2011
ERB's Barsoom stories are a great example of early sci-fi that has patently influenced later works. The hero, John Carter, is at once a laudable hero character and at the same time a sexist, racist barbarian - and thank god. Without the Flash Gorden-esque parading of manliness it would be a lesser tale. I heartily recommend the story at least; it has shades of Moorcock about it.

Transported to Mars inadvertently, Carter encounters warlike Martians who he impresses with his military abilities; accidentally seduces a Martian princess, overthrows an empire, and breezes through every setback with the implacable nature of an Englishman (he's American, but any English man would be proud of his reserve and stiff upper lip).

ERB's writing style is that of pulp fiction; don't expect any clever plot twists. But there is a real pleasure in reading these adventures.

One thing I can't recommend though, is the Kindle version. The formatting has not been kind; chapter headings are rammed up against preceding chapter's trailing sentences, and I've seen a few occasions where footnotes suddenly appear halfway down a page - in the middle of a paragraph. So buy the paperback, rather than the kindle version, and enjoy some early 20th century sci-fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good price and a romping story!, 1 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I decided to try this book (actually the complete set) out after Disney released the John Carter movie, and it intrigued me that I had not encountered it yet.
The prose took a little getting used to, but once you do it's a real Dan Dare boys own type read.
Lots of guts, glory, impossible escapes and nasty baddies!

The areas of the book where you are just expected to believe what happens without any explanation are a complete sea change to the modern literature I normally read, but it was a refreshing change, and I found myself staying up stupidly late at night to read more and more.

It definitely comes under the old classics title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old friends, 22 April 2012
By 
Dr. John Chapman "jpo" (birmingham uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd read this as a young man and my copies had fallen to pieces- it was an efficient way of replacing them. Pure Fantasy- and the John Carter film could so nearly have been great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't pay for something that's free!, 8 Mar 2012
Folks, considering these books are long out of copyright and now in the public domain, you can get pretty much all of the Barsoom series for free on Project Gutenberg and download it straight into your Kindle for consumption. Simply go to the Project Gutenberg website and search for "Burroughs".

Don't be fooled into paying for this.

EDIT: For anyone who didn't already notice, this review refers to the Kindle ebook version ONLY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this Kindle e-book on Amazon after watching the movie "John Carter". The movie had bad press when it came out, but I loved it. It was therefore even more interesting to read the origin, with these 3 nicely told stories. Some of the action is getting over-the-top, but at the same time, it was the start of the genre, and even with more than 100 years of age, these stories still pack the punch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved th this story!! Although some of it was a little drawn out it was still brilliant and for the most part I could hardly put my kindle down, I also like how this love story has plenty of action and is from a male point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The original John Carter, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dated but enjoyable. Good old fashioned scifi. Stories that don't rely on technology as many modern scifi do. Just a good old fashioned adventure story full of imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth taking a chance on., 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book after watching the Disney film. As usual the book knocked the film into a cocked hat. Considering how long ago this was written it is a cracking romp of a story. Very heroic fantasy with monsters (both two and six legged) and swashbuckling.
Go on buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive., 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just forget that we know alot more about Mars now than when these stories were written. Also try to forget the John Carter film! If you like square jawed heroes and plenty of action and romance you'll enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barsoom, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book many years ago and loved it, a great love story with lots of action, Definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Carter of Mars (Barsoom): Omnibus 1: A Princess of Mars, the Gods of Mars, Warlord of Mars
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews