Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thinking Allowed, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking Allowed (Kindle Edition)
I agree with the writer that politics should be taken out of decisions about what education, or schooling as Mick Waters prefers to use is about. Other professions have their own governing bodies, as the medical profession has the BMA.
If Education also had a governing body that covered all staff involved with schools, colleges, universities etc., they could research which methods and styles of teaching matched the children's abilities to learn.
Governments seem to think that any system from a foreign country, even the USA which has a worse outcome of children reaching University level, is worth looking at even when they fail. They rarely ask the experts in our own country, e.g. Mick Waters, a previous Chief Education Officer.
For anyone joining our Education system I would recommended to read this book, and anyone else with children, or grandchildren at school, would benefit from his wise words.
If parents have worries about anything that involves their children, I would ask that they have a word with the class teacher, and if not satisfied, to ask to speak to the Head of the school. School days are short, many children leaving school at 3.30pm. Take out assembly, lunch and playtime breaks, and the day is very short. To expect a teacher to cover everything that is currently required in such a short time is impossible.Teachers try their best, but everyone that I know will confess that they simply cannot do everything that they are asked to do.
Many parents feel anxious that their children are facing a very different world in the future, and they want to help their child, if only they knew how. Many parents do, of course, but if you are reading this, and you would like to help your child but are perplexed by all the different opinions, do ask your child's class teacher if you can help in some way.
Loved the book, and Mick Waters would make an excellent Head of the National Council for Schooling, as he would like to call the governing body. Personally I would call it the National Education Council, thus bringing in Universities, and their research department.
Teachers are professional people, qualified, and tested to make sure they are proficient. The teaching profession could be a real power to change peoples lives if they were given the right recognition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Education- as a whole, 6 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking Allowed (Kindle Edition)
Great book with clear thoughts on the education system and possible ways forward. Engaging and dynamic author is a clear voice for many. Would recommend this book to others interested in the children of today and future generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Mick!, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking Allowed: on Schooling (Paperback)
Good for the body and mind to be refreshed by normality and basic common sense with a kind purpose .so we hold dear in troublede times what is the true fun essence of good teaching: delivered at pace with rigour.
Do not mistake this obvious openness and kindness as easy, but it brings the fun,smiles and joy back to teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear analysis of English schooling, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking Allowed (Kindle Edition)
I wish I had read this before I worked in education in England for five years(2008-2013). It is such a clear analysis.
It reviews the purpose for schooling; it explores how we have used schooling to strive for equality. And then with all the money spent, it explores all the mechanisms for accountability...Ofsted, league tables.

What I love most is that Mick constantly reminds us how accountability measures and political ideologies have had a negative effect on the realities for learners.

But it doesn't stop there. Mick Waters goes on to suggest ideas for a way through the different issues.

I have been advocating that new Zealanders read this book as a warning of what we should not do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every teacher should read this, then do something!, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking Allowed (Kindle Edition)
This book offers such practical advice grounded in a wide experience and reality that should impact all schools - if only to review and bench mark their current practice. A reminder of the often forgotten QCA 'Big Picture' for the curriculum was most welcome and caused me to consider what, how and why I currently deliver.

The clarity of writing and inclusiveness of commentary parallels that formerly offered by Ted Wragg and so should also develop government vision, but that may be expecting too much! In the absence of coalition action, schools should use this as a launch pad for decisive, inspirational action for the benefit of their children, especially the qualities v leadership grid offered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Full of challenge, 25 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking Allowed (Kindle Edition)
Mick Waters challenges much of modern educational practice with lots of excellent practical ideas. But the book could have usefully been half the size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mick at his best!, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking Allowed: on Schooling (Paperback)
Reassuring for Heads & Teachers and all in Education of what the real values for 'Schooling' should be.
But with a good level of challenge to our thinking and practice in and outside of the classroom.
Hope this influences current curriculum review and get us back to having a true set of high level curriculum aim?
A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must read' for everyone with an interest in education, 9 May 2013
This review is from: Thinking Allowed: on Schooling (Paperback)
As everyone who has heard Mick Waters speak knows, he delights in being in schools and experiencing children enjoying their learning. This enthusiasm shines through in 'Thinking Allowed on Schooling'. He asks searching questions about big issues and challenges today's accepted 'rules of the game' relating to data, examinations, league tables and inspection; always from the perspective of what is in the best interests of learners. This book should be read by all education professionals, but especially by those for whom compliance with these rules has come to dominate their thinking and their practice.

As the title suggests, thinking really is allowed on schooling and it is quite clear that all of us involved in education need to do a lot more of it if we are to overcome the absurdities and focus on the sound common sense highlighted by Prof Waters, so that the profession can regain its professionalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 13 Jun 2013
This review is from: Thinking Allowed: on Schooling (Paperback)
When I picked up "Thinking Allowed on Schooling" by Mick Waters, I knew that I was in for a treat. In the author's note he says it is a book "to pick up, dip into and hopefully debate". Well, I picked it up and hardly put it down until I had savoured the wisdom of each word. As I read I was on a roller coaster, laughing one minute at an anecdote and then near tears the next at the state of English education due to the meddling of politicians.
This is a must read book for everyone who cares about the future of our children and a battle cry for those in the field of education to pick up the suggestion for a National Council for Schooling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful, excellent synopsis covering vital topics about "schooling" versus "learning" today and why it matters., 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thinking Allowed (Kindle Edition)
Reading for great "sound bites" to make you think.
Like the way it is laid out so you can dip in and out as you wish.
A must read for all leaders in education. An absolute must for those making decisions for our children's future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thinking Allowed: on Schooling
Thinking Allowed: on Schooling by Mick Waters (Paperback - 15 April 2013)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews