Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars11
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2015
A very useful book. It is full of excellent advice to help and support leaders in reforming a school. It takes the reader through all different aspects related to running a school with steps to be taken to make change work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
A few interesting points, but no real substance. Worrying to see how a head of an all through school focuses only on the oldest children. Pity those in Key Stage 1 !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
This book stirs the embers and relights the passion. Amidst the constant flux of education at the moment, Dave Harris steps forth with clear and practical advice to remind all school leaders why we need to be bolder, brighter and braver than ever before.

Thinking of headship or just starting out - Brave Heads is a no-brainer!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2016
Love this book and refer back to it often!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
This was an interesting read which consolidated some views and made me consider others. A good, simple starting point for someone taking on the role of headship for the first time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
Fine book that arrived promptly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
Good service & good product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
I often start these books and never complete them. This is one I read from cover to cover. At times you may feel that David Harris is a little too full of self congratulations at the work he has done as a head but just as I was beginning to get annoyed he was able to be truly self effacing and reflect on his behaviours and impact as a head. Useful suggestions throughout that have lead to some good discussions at SLT. In summary a must for all heads and deputies thinking that they are banging their heads against a brick wall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
Dave Harris has written a book that shows that bravery and humility can exist side by side. This is a guide for leaders at any level that simplifies a wealth of research and boils it down to practical and simple tips. The best advice I have yet come across (and entertaining too) Some books leave you with a real buzz and make you want to get straight into school to begin to incorporate some of their ideas, this is one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
You chose this career. As a deputy head this has inspired me to seek out a headship now over the next 12 months.
I like the premise that you don't need to the "perfect super head" to succeed, you just need to believe in your convictions and stay strong.

Many thanks Mr Harris!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse