Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Water by Ann Turnbull
I couldn't put this story down - it's dramatic and absorbing and I feel sure boys in particular would enjoy it a lot. They would relate to Jon, who feels guilt because he has abandoned his friend Ryan and yet cannot face telling the truth which will get him into trouble. As the lies pile up, the tension rises and the author has skilfully portrayed Jon and his background...
Published 17 months ago by G. M. H. Hall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Deep water ann turnbull.
Okay has a moral and leaves suspension about John and Ryan got boring at times However i will not give it away overall okay.
Published 7 months ago by andrew preston


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Water by Ann Turnbull, 18 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Deep Water (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't put this story down - it's dramatic and absorbing and I feel sure boys in particular would enjoy it a lot. They would relate to Jon, who feels guilt because he has abandoned his friend Ryan and yet cannot face telling the truth which will get him into trouble. As the lies pile up, the tension rises and the author has skilfully portrayed Jon and his background so one can sympathise with him, even though he has wronged his friend. The final scene is very exciting but I won't give the plot away!

Griselda Gifford
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Y7 and Y8 struggling readers, 24 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Deep Water (Kindle Edition)
Reading this with my y7 struggling readers at the moment. This book is short, with larger print and easy to manage. The cover looks grown up and the subject matter is age appropriate. I've also read it with several other y7 classes over the years and it never fails to engage the audience. Last year, my class refused to leave the room when the lunch bell rang until they'd heard the end of the story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars growing up dilemmas, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Water (Kindle Edition)
A simple issues and dilemma story. The plot is simple but effectively gets across how all actions have consequences, some bigger than others! Nice ending ensures good discussions about forgiveness can ensue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for reluctant Year 6 and Year 7 readers, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Water (Paperback)
Excellent book for Year 7 students who find reading difficult. All students engaged with the story and wanted to read to the end of the book, something not all of them would usually have done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Deep water ann turnbull., 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Water (Kindle Edition)
Okay has a moral and leaves suspension about John and Ryan got boring at times However i will not give it away overall okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Water
Deep Water by Ann Turnbull (Paperback - 11 Oct. 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews