Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One heck of a read!, 3 Mar 2013
This review is from: Frozen Sun (Devils with Wings) (Paperback)
Yet another thrilling adventure from author Harvey Black. This is the third book in this series and the detail is second to none! You feel like you are there - although it's the last place you would want to be because it's pure hell. What is fascinating about this series of novels is that it is an untold story from the German viewpoint. You get to feel the horrors, the bravery, the commaderie and the sheer guts of the paratroopers involved. The research required to write this novel is beyond belief and it's very like watching a film where you can't bring yourself to put it on pause to make coffee - it's action-packed, edge of seat stuff. It is something you find yourself discussing long after you've finished each story and having read the third one, I can't wait for no. 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting Better each new book, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story line has always been great, and Harvey does not disappoint in this third book in the series. The characters and their interaction through speech flows more fluently than in the two previous books.

The only criticism I have is the lack of maps and a glossary of terminology used throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best one yet, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic each book just gets better and better ,a really good read and for war gamers lots of scenario ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly written, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen Sun (Devils with Wings) (Paperback)
Now well and truly hooked onto this series. Read the book in a day and couldn't put it down. Will now be wanting to chase for the fourth installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling Read, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen Sun (Devils with Wings) (Paperback)
You don't have to be a historian, you don't have to have a particular interest in the military and you don't have to be male to enjoy Devils With Wings Frozen Sun - I can't lay claim to any of the above but I do like a good action thriller and thoroughly enjoyed this book.

The technical expertise and knowledge of weapons and strategies employed really comes through in the writing. However, this is all woven smoothly into the plot and doesn't feel out of place as the story progresses. The action and tension builds its way up in this military thriller. You feel like you are in the thick of the action. The battle scenes are not rushed and this, in fact, serves to build the tension up further - at times I was really anxious as to the outcome. The setting was very well described and I could visualise the terrain and `feel' the cold.

I have read the two previous books in this series and this third book is particularly well written. It was nice to be back with familiar characters and I felt I got to know Paul and Max even better. Neither of them let me down.

I would recommend paying the author's website a visit for some great photos and background information to support the Devils With Wings series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold Reality, 1 Dec 2012
This review is from: Frozen Sun (Devils with Wings) (Paperback)
Devils with Wings - Frozen Sun is Harvey's best novel yet. I read it in four days of commuting and found it a joy. The characters have settled down and there is a real comeradery growing in the regular group of Fallschirmjager and they have become hardened soldiers. The Raven has also grown into a human being even if it is obvious his loyalty to the Nazis is unstinting.

The journey into Russia followed history accurately with the dividing of army groups at Leningrad proving a weakness, filled here by Paul's men. The earlier attack on armoured trains set the scene with easy initial victories and fast, relentless drive into the great motherland of the Soviets. Finally Harvey Black has had to deal with the frailties of Barbarossa and Leningrad put the first full-stop on the German war machine's advance. He does this very well and the final conflict in this book is fluently described and graphic. The Russian winter can be felt as the Fallschirmjager find they are poorly equipped to deal with the cold, suffering from Hitler's belief that the war would be won by the autumn.

I found the description or equipment very helpful and quite often on my daily commute looked up weapons on my smart phone to give a good idea as to the weapons in use.This third book has reinforced my view established from the last one. There is a momentum in Harvey's work and, now, at a crossroads in the German campaign I can't wait to see where Paul, Max and the rest end up. Fully formed characters have started to die and the author is ruthless enough not to leave it there; the Russian front demanded sacrifice and the altar is ready for the Fallschirmjager. It will be the long, drawn-out defeat of Hitler's Reich which will add flavour to the coming books.

Well done Harvey Black. 5 Stars. Looking forwards to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 16 Nov 2012
With the triumph of the invasion of Crete behind them, Paul and the rest of the Fallschirmjager are detailed to take part in Adolf Hitler's invasion of Russia. Operation Barbarossa will be the largest land invasion ever seen and the unique talents of the Fallschirmjager will be desperately needed.

Paul and his trusty sergeant Max, along with the rest of the battalion are thrust into battle, enjoying the heady days of summer 1941 as the German Army stream rollers into the beleaguered Russian Army.

With the German high Command using the battalion for specialist tasks, Paul and the rest of the Fallschirmjager have to contend with heavy artillery and Soviet amoured trains!

Pushed up to the front line, the Fallschirmjager are given the task of trying to contain the Soviet bridgeheads on the river Neva as the Russian army desperately tries to escape the encirclement of Leningrad.

As the Russian winter closes in, this turns into a war of attrition as the Russians repeatedly throw themselves at the thin line of Fallschirmjager defenders. With causalities mounting from the increasingly bitter Russian winter and the attentions of the Russian Army, Paul and Max face a tough time trying to hold their command together and keep the Russians at bay.

Harvey Black is a self published author and Frozen Sun is the third book in the Devil with wings series. I have reviewed the first two books, Devils with Wings and Silk Drop previously. It has been a real joy to see the progression of the three books, from the quite stilted dialogue of book 1 to the free flowing fast paced dialogue of this book.

I have to say I really enjoyed this book , I thought it brought home the journey these men made. From tanned confident warriors, confident in their leaders and their equipment to freezing, staving men, using anything to try and keep warm and as the casualties pile up they start questioning their commanders.

The level of detail is astonishing at times, every weapon and piece of equipment is loving described and now that the dialogue is much better it doesn't clog the book up or slow down the story. It is almost a book of fiction and a factual record.

The relationship between Paul and Max is another bonus from this book. We have watched it develop over the three books and it is written with what feels like a real understanding of the bond between men who have seen the horrors of war.

This is a really great book and I would recommend it not only to people who have an interest in WW2 but also an interest in the comradeship between soldiers.

I know the author is currently writing a new series to be published next year but I really hope to see many more books in the Devils with Wings series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's not Sven, but it could almost be, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't be fooled by the title, Harvey has hit the nail on the head here, great series of books that I have found hard to put down. He captures the true feeling of what it's like to serve no matter what flag that flies above you. A great read and I highly recommend the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frozen Sun (Devils with Wings)
Frozen Sun (Devils with Wings) by Harvey Black (Paperback - 24 Sep 2012)
6.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews