Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars30
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 September 2013
This is a well-researched and impartial account of a unique and enigmatic band that helped shape the 60s and beyond. The author has an obvious love for The Kinks and explores each of the members and peripherals without too much waffle, which I like in a good biography. It also draws on personal accounts from each member including Ray's 'X-Ray' and Dave's 'Kink' as well as interviews from other members' families and friends. The advantage of an outside biographer is lack of bias to any one person, as the aforementioned autobiographies obviously are. And it is a joy to read a biography from an English standpoint rather than one written by an American, say, who knows nothing of English places or customs. No more than I would read an American biography written by a Brit. A great read, well written.

Jeff Gibbs UK
22 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
Excellent. Enjoyed all the tour of the Kinks journey. Knew there was in band fighting but not this much. Very good knowledge by the author. Looking forward to Ray Davies's autobiography in October to hear his side. Would definitely advise you to buy this. Kinks are my third favourite band and loved this.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
Very informative with a clear understanding of the groups place in the pantheon of rock culture..... The writing is analytical and gives a precise, objective and realistic account of the bands' artistic talents and its ability to undermine their achievements by poor decisions, infighting, petty jealousies and stubbornness, bad management .
The RCA years and the 1970s touring of the USA after the union ban, White city concert demonstrate how the under-dog nature of the Kinks was built on perseverance and artistic integrity, guts and determination. This is superbly chronicled by Rob's detailed account of the bands legacy and cultural significance. A must read for all Kinks devotes .
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
This is the best book I have read on the Kinks, having read it immediately after finishing "You Really Got Me." Don't get me wrong, "You Really Got Me" is also a very good book about the Kinks, but I found this book a bit better as there are more examples from other people who played with the Kinks and I think it gives the book a more rounded outlook. Also, I think that the author of "You Really Got Me" was more in awe of the Kinks music and sometimes got a bit carried away.
There are a couple of errors in the book when it quotes the year of an album being 1968 when if fact it was out before Sgt Pepper, and also it states that Waterloo Sunset was kept of the number one slot by Silence is Golden, when it was Puppet On A String. Whatever way, it was a total injustice..
If you like the Kinks, buy the book, I can assure you that you will enjoy it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Having recently seen 'Sunny Afternoon' at the Harold Pinter Theatre, I was interested in reading a complete biography of the Kinks. This book is just what I wanted - telling the whole story from Ray and Dave's beginnings in the family's modest terraced house in Muswell Hill... to the Rock 'n Roll Hall of Fame. And what a journey it was... punctuated by epic rows and legendary punch-ups... rivalries and feuds... management and money problems... it is a miracle the band created so much incredible music in the midst of all the chaos. But aren't we lucky they did? This book is required reading for Kinks fans everywhere - and distinguished by the author's obvious affection for the band combined with an objective and fair eye for the truth.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There have been quite a few works in recent years on the Kinks, who are one of the greatest of English rock bands. This work covers much ground, and is notable for its insights into the personalities and personal lives of the Davies brothers that fuelled their drive and their success. It follows the traditional emphasis on the early success of the 1960s rather than the later US success. A very worthwhile book all the same,
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
Well written & researched, although Jovanovic doesn’t actually interview the Davis brothers (he uses quotes from their respective auto-biographies).
Jovanovic really seems to have an understanding of the dynamics of the band, the personalities of Ray & Dave & their often combustible relationship with each other.
He also gives a level-headed analysis of the music, pulling no punches on album that he doesn’t think make the grain.
Only criticism is that 282 pages isn't enough to cover a musical career that lasts nearly 50 years.
So an fascinating study of a truly unique & influential band, although The Kinks life was such a soap opera it would probably be harder to write a bad book about them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Decent book, didn't tell me much as to the bands opinions as to their success or lack of commercial success during their career, lots on Ray and Dave's domestic issues, also money, how much did and do the band members earn ? Overall still an interesting book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
A really easy read through the Kinks full career, the downside is that most of the information is from other articles and archive, and as such is only as accurate as the information on record. As such there are several errors in time line and facts, and the problem is that this book now becomes archive research material for the future. That said all Kinks books bring something new to the table and this one is no different, There is no definitive Kinks book out there so Kinks fans need to read all the books to get the different views and angle of the same story.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Having started to read this book, I could not put it down. It provided a vivid glimpse into celebrity lives, and lots of details of the Kinks personal lives and personalities. It is a long book but held my interest throughout.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)