Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars62
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2013
Am I Missing Something...? is the fifth book in Ian Hollingshead's series collecting unpublished letters to the Daily Telegraph and it is every bit as funny as previous volumes. Although they might have missed publication in the `paper itself, these correspondents to the Telegraph sure are on fine form whether they are critiquing the birth of Prince George or enumerating the Cypriot bailout, musing on UKIP's Rude Awakening or bemoaning the decline in standards of English. Am I Missing Something...? is a great book to flick through when you feel that society, the media or even yourself has clearly got a screw loose. It's a book that is sure to raise a laugh and, dare I say it, would make an excellent Christmas present for the grumpy old geezer in your life.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
I have purchased this selection of unpublished letters to the editor (Daily Telegraph) every year it has been published and they never fail to amuse and entertain - at first reading and at subsequent dips.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
As one has come to expect from this series of books this one is well up to standard. Most of the letters are amusing and well composed but the occasional one warrants a real laugh and one wonders why it never made it to the DT pages live.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
This is the fifth book in the series and they continue to amuse me. I keep going back to them and they always put me in a good mood for the rest of the day.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
We like to have a little light and entertaining reading beside the bed for our guests to read when they come to relax with us.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
Bought as a gift for my husband and it has kept him chuckling for hours! Wonderful letters. Can recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Written by the wonderful, laconic British public, such a pleasure to read and often very laugh out loud comments. I have all of the series and will continue to buy as they will always be a joy to read in years to come. Highly Recommended
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
Good bedside or loo book - dip in whenever but first time you can hardly put it down even if some ( a very few ) of the contributions are not of your ilk. I buy it every year; can't wait to be given it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Follows all the others in the series. Totally excellent and cannot be faulted. The Telegraph readers are a race of their own where wit and wisdom are concerned. Will buy any forthcoming editions.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
The great thing with this collection is every one is unique and contributed by a different writer. There's a splendid variety of thoughts, ideas, humour and subject matter, but most of all, so many will make you laugh or chuckle. A pick me up, put me down kind of book for almost any spare time you have, so perfect to enjoy almost anywhere. I'd be amazed if you're not amused by this collection, even if they didn't quite make it to print.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse