Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winner of this year's Ellerbeck Literary Award
J L Carr, was a man whose name is as enigmatic and as varied as his writing. Christened as Joseph, know to his friends as Jim and published at least once as James, J L Carr is quite possibly one of the finest English novelists of the 20th century. He was also well known for being a private and closed person, who presented a different side of his character to different...
Published on 1 July 2003 by Smokey Joe

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars only for the interested
This book isn't anything for anyone who knows nothing about Carr -- it is unfortunately clumsily structured: at times not chronological, leaving the reader a little confused. Despite some well-written and entertaining anecdotes, it is easy to lose interest, with quite a lot of the beginning of the book being more about Carr's father and, predominantly, his brother...
Published on 13 Aug 2007 by allesteer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winner of this year's Ellerbeck Literary Award, 1 July 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
J L Carr, was a man whose name is as enigmatic and as varied as his writing. Christened as Joseph, know to his friends as Jim and published at least once as James, J L Carr is quite possibly one of the finest English novelists of the 20th century. He was also well known for being a private and closed person, who presented a different side of his character to different people. And for being a puckish humorist who enjoyed teasing the literary establishment. As he did with the biographer Michael Holroyd to whom he awarded the fictitious Ellerbeck Literary Award, along with a remaindered copy of "The Harpole Report" and a token for a pound a best steak.

An enigma. A private person. A bit of "card". A tough proposition for any biographer, let alone one who confesses at the start of the book, "until I started writing this book, I had little idea of what biography involved". And yet, Byron Rogers' painstakingly researched, beautifully written and immensely pleasing book is not only a worthy tribute to his memory and achievements but in its own right, a fine example of the biographer's art.

Perhaps his lack of experience as a biographer is the reason that he devoted the time and effort to track down and interview first hand the witnesses to the events in Carr's life. This not only includes friends and colleagues but also pupils and even parents of the children he taught both in the UK, and on his two exchange experiences in the US.

This research gives the reader familiar with Carr's work a fascinating insight into where the facts of his life merged into the fiction he wrote. On several occasions Rogers reminds us that Carr's publishers would have had a heart attack if they knew just how close to real and living individuals some of the fictional characters in his books really were.

If there is one biographical work you should buy this year, this is it. Here is the story of an Englishman, his love of the real England (outside of London!), his devotion to his profession (both teaching and writing) and how his life experiences found their way into some of the most urbane, original and exquisite literature of the last 50 years.

By the time the book is finished, I felt as though I had really come to know J L Carr, almost to the extent that I could sit down in the pub with his friends and swap stories. The book itself includes some excellent photographs in which readers familiar with Carr's work will recognise many references to his works.

The real legacy of this work is that Rogers' book will be available for many generations in the future to understand the context and complexity of J L Carr and for that both he and his subject will be remembered for many years.

NOTE on 09/2006: I think it an absolute crime that this book is currently unavailable. It is a classic and well worth the money for any true J L Carr fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, droll biography, 11 Mar 2004
By 
Petropolis (London, England) - See all my reviews
For any readers who know nothing of J.L. Carr beyond his classic "A month in the Country", Byron Rogers' book introduces a portrait as detailed as the maps of England his hero drew and illustrated.
Carr led a very public life as a headmaster, campaigner and publisher. But he was not an intimate man, as his son ruefully commented to the biographer. Many of his acquaintances were baffled by him. Reading this book merely increases his mystery for the reader. And his fascination: for Carr wrote like an angel. He wrote in terse, dry sentences with the ability to move you and make you laugh very hard. Byron Rogers is clearly influenced by him, in awe of him, and tries to recapture in his biography some of the mood of Carr's own work. He succeeds in doing that, and has created a lovely book and a fine biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hope For Us All, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like all great biographies, this book doesn't just bring to life an author, or his work, but it manages to recreate the spirit of a lost age. J L Carr was many things, and given that his masterwork (A Month In The Country) didn't arrive until he was 68, there is a big back-story to tell. The degree to which each of his varied life chapters eventually produces a matching novel is extraordinary in its literalness, and reveals a process towards justifiable, if belated, recognition and (partial) reward that gives hope to all of us. Byron Rogers has the benefit of being a long-time friend and death-bed confidant of his subject, but he makes the most of his advantages and tells a wonderful, inspirational life story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comments by Michael Calum Jacques author of '1st Century Radical'., 12 Nov 2008
Let's be frank. Many people will not be familiar with, nor possible even have heard of the name J.L.Carr. That is a pity. Carr's novella 'A Month in the Country' (rendered into a beautiful movie with Richard Brannar, Colin Firth, Partick Malahide and Natasha Richardson et al) is one of the finer pieces of English literary fiction which resounds strikingly with awful reminiscences of the Great War.

In actual fact, 'A Month in the Country' is only an indication of the rich and - in certain ways - 'regular, yet curiously off-beat' personality and character that was the man called Jim Carr; a collector, decrepit Church fanatic, miniature book publisher and a superb writer.

Byron Rogers has produced a superbly interesting and readable biography about the life and happenings this quite remarkable man. We could argue around the clock about whether or not the epithet 'The Last Englishman' (also attributed to Hereward the Wake, and others, by the way!) is an entirely defensible one; in any case it is one quoted not smithed by Rogers. This would be to miss the point, though, which is that the achievements and struggles of Carr's life will strike familiar chords with many of us.

The work is both, at the same time, appreciative and highly critical of Carr. Rogers has not skimped on his research and has managed to delve and to unearth heaps of what were (this reviewer suspects) largely redundant and forgotten ecclesiastical and municipal documents which shed light on the controversies and contests Jim Carr was involved in with one institution or another. Such research requires considerable time, patience, diligence and expertise and this reviewer congratulates the author on his achievement: a remarkable book about a remarkable man.

Michael Calum Jacques
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating biography of a fascinating man, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I share two things in common with J.L. Carr - I've been a headteacher and I write novels. So my attraction to this biography was pretty inevitable really and I wasn't disappointed. It really is a good read. It's very well and sympathetically written and brings out the quirkiness of its subject. I came to it after reading 'A Month in the Country' which I believe is a great novel. Reading the biography led me back to other Carr novels. I certainly recommend this to anyone who enjoys biographies even if they've not been a headteacher or written any novels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful and informative biography, 4 Nov 2012
By 
Hywel James "Hywel James" (Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Byron Rogers has written a delightfully discursive biography of a complex, fascinating and highly gifted man who wrote one undoubted masterpiece, "A Month in the Country", and a number of other novels which are equally interesting if not in the same class as that book, and who also, as an independent publisher, following his retirement as a primary school headmaster, wrote a large series of tiny books on cricket, history and genealogy.

This biography is in many ways an ideal tribute to a remarkable man and joins that small list of biographies which demonstrate that to write a person's life, an author must accept that his or her subject is likely to be contradictory, fallible, highly idiosyncratic, difficult and frequently elusive. It is clear from Byron Rogers' great book that J L Carr was all of these things and more.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It provides a wonderful Insight into a man whose contribution to the body ..., 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Englishman: The Life of J.L. Carr (Paperback)
Readers who may have read some of Carr's novels need to read this exceptional book. It provides a wonderful Insight into a man whose contribution to the body of English literature is quite unique but never truly received the recognition it deserves. Rogers approaches his subject with great care dealing with each stage of Carr's life in separate chapters. He writes with great clarity emulating Carr's own command of language and style. It is a true pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life of JL Carr, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Life of J L Carr - really enjoyed htis book - had read a review of J L Carr, an impressive man indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great English Eccentric, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stumbled upon this book whilst looking for another book of the same title. Enjoyed it immensely. A fascinating, original and inspiring man. Have committed to read all his novels. The only one available from Amazon - A month in the Counrty - was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and inspiring., 29 April 2013
By 
"He was the Last Englishman"

I first became aware of J.L. Carr having read his novel "A Month in the Country (Penguin Modern Classics)". It is one of the best books I have ever read. It is rare that I have felt so powerfully affected by a story. In short, it's a masterpiece, and one that I look forward to re-reading. A few days after finishing "A Month in the Country (Penguin Modern Classics)", I read another J.L. Carr novel "The Harpole Report by Carr, J. L. New Edition (2003)" - a very different book, both in terms of style and content, but a great read. So, by now, I was very intrigued by J.L. Carr. Who was he? How did he come to write two such contrasting books? Fortunately his friend, and journalist, Byron Rogers wrote this biography that was published in 2003.

I am very grateful to Byron Rogers for such a readable and thorough account of the unusual J.L. Carr. I tend to overuse the word maverick, however can confidently label J.L. Carr as a maverick. In short he was brought up in a staunchly Methodist, and deeply religious, family in the North East of England; he was a teacher, and head teacher; was a photographer in the RAF during the war; spent time in South Dakota teaching; played amateur football; campaigned for the preservation of a disused village church; and, upon retiring, became both a writer and a publisher. That, however, is but a fraction of what defined this fascinating character. It is his intellect, idiosyncrasies, values, determination, and originality, that make this book worth reading. Not only are all his novels biographical, and therefore this biography provides helpful and illuminating insights, his is also one of the most unusual lives I can imagine - despite hiding behind a facade of profound ordinariness. J.L. Carr died on 26 February 1994, and that was, to quote Byron Rogers, "the last day of his life and the only one in which he had not been fully conscious."

I will be reading the rest of J.L. Carr's novels, and my enjoyment and understanding will be greatly enhanced by this splendid biography. I heartily recommend it: interesting and inspiring.

Finally, I should mention that The Quince Tree Press, J.L. Carr's small publishing company, is still in business, and is run by J.L. Carr's son and daughter-in-law. All J.L. Carr's novels are available, in addition to to a range of pocket books, and J.L. Carr's maps of English counties. I intend to foist them on my friends and relatives at Christmas and/or on their birthdays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Englishman: The Life of J.L. Carr
The Last Englishman: The Life of J.L. Carr by Byron Rogers (Paperback - 16 May 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews