Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars11
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2015
Absolutely marvellous.

Striking stories about the requisitioned houses for the war. A sad but very interesting testemony of these historic facts.
Good and very well chosen photographs.
I'm fully satisfied with the product.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
I've read enough of this book through the 'taster' facility to see that it is a well-written, detailed account of a little-known side-effect of the Second World War. Country houses - some well-known, like Mentmore and Chatsworth - were requisitioned for all kinds of use, by the army, by schools, by museums etc. A fascinating insight into how they fared (the army seems to have been the most destructive occupants) and how sad to think how many never recovered from damage inflicted (e.g. Tyneham House, a beautiful Elizabethan manor house in Dorset, now a ruin).

Not having read the whole book I don't feel I can give it 5 stars but this book deserves better than the criticism from the reviewer below. It's easy to muddle east and west and hardly a hanging offence. There may well be the odd inaccuracy but more evidence needs to be given of this than such a sweeping condemnation.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
A very dark period in Country House history and especially what came after! Interesting reading with lots if good pictures - so sad how many houses were ruined and later demolished...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
A most readable and informative book that deals with the fate of many of our finest houses who gave their all for their country
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
A fascinating book and companion to the author's "Felling The Ancient Oaks". Each of the selected houses has a different story to tell and the accompanying photographs are exceptional.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2016
I nearly enjoyed this book, but there was something about the slightly irreverent writing style of the author that sometimes rankled a bit. Just the odd quip here and there ruined what was a fairly informative book. I have read a lot of architectural history books on similar subjects and found this didn't quite engage me as well. It was OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
A first class book, thoroughly reccomend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Intersting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
A beautifully produced work (and produced in book form), rich in accurate detail and insight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
Interesting, informative and thoroughly enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)