Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Human and Personal Story of Y-Service
I bought this book because I really enjoyed the author's previous one on Bletchley Park.

Like the last one, it is beautifully human and makes you realise all the extraordinary things people did for their country with such quiet dignity and without fuss or fanfare. The last book focussed on the lives of the people code-breaking at Bletchley park, but this one is...
Published 22 months ago by A.K

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down
If you are interested in the human side, Joan Nicholl's and Gwendoline Page's books do it much better. If you want to learn about the Y service this is not the book for you. Hard to wade through and with errors. For the serious reader his references to National Archive files are incomplete and therefore untraceable.
Published 21 months ago by Batford


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Human and Personal Story of Y-Service, 12 Oct 2012
I bought this book because I really enjoyed the author's previous one on Bletchley Park.

Like the last one, it is beautifully human and makes you realise all the extraordinary things people did for their country with such quiet dignity and without fuss or fanfare. The last book focussed on the lives of the people code-breaking at Bletchley park, but this one is about the men and women who were scattered around the world listening in on German communications and meticulously transcribing (and sometimes decoding) the messages to send back to Blecthley (often while also batting away incendiary bombs!).

It's only in recent years that the men and women of the 'Y-Service' (as they were called) have been allowed to talk about their time serving their nation, and it is amazing how humble they are and how woefully un-sung their praises have been. This is a riveting account of the lives of real people.

If you're after a meticulously researched history of the Y-Service then this won't be the book for you, but if like me you like to read the real stories of the people who lived the war and their first-hand stories of what they did, what it was like and how it changed their lives, then this is as good as any I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The wider Bletchley, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Listeners: The Men and Women Posted Across the World to Intercept the German Codes for Bletchley Park (Paperback)
Much has already been written about the remarkable WW2 work at Bletchley but this volume covers the web of worldwide listeners who provided much of the source material for Bletchley. Often working in dangerous, uncomfortable conditions their dedication and concentration comes through in this very readable account. The topic has the potential to be a litany of personal histories but the author cleverly avoids this pitfall by humanising each chapter and allowing the reader to gain just a glimpse of what it must have been like. The fact that the enemy never got wind of the comprehensive allied code-breaking achievements must go down in history as one of the most remarkable achievements of human dedication, self discipline and self sacrifice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Y Service, 14 Dec 2012
By 
I was not sure what to expect from this book, I guess the reason was that the Y service has had virtually no publicity and hence no general recognition of what went on. Clearly the work they did was extremely vital to the much publicised Bletchley park successes but has been left in the background. So it is right that the Y service activies have been given a much deserved exposure and the dedication shown by the operatives rightly praised. With no stand out "heros" the story tends to hop around a bit and gets a bit trivial at times but enjoyable and informative none the less. A timely reminder that we owe a lot to many unsung people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book to accompay others on Enigma & Bletchley Park, 24 Nov 2012
It gives an excellent background to the work of 'Y' Group operators whos efforts have been ignored up to now.
i would recommend it to anyone who has an interest in Enigma and the work of Bletchley Park.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden secret, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. P. A. Roberts (Wakefield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have only discovered in the last year that my late mother was at a Y station. She never mentioned it !
This book has given me an insight as to how she spent her war years. It really is an example of "well I didn't know that"'
time and time again. Oh why didn't she ever say anything ?
A well written and fascinating book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wartime Service that is more of a Secret Service, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book details the lives of the convert operators that monitored German and Japanese communications, usually coded, and both decoded their transmissions and for the overseas operators, forwarded the information to Bletchley Park. Most operators came under the official secrets act and therefore have been unable to discuss their WW2 activities, even to this day.
The book tells of the training, where they operated from both across the UK and overseas, both on land and on small islands in the tropics. Many names are included and tells of the long nights monitoring the enemy transmissions, it goes into their social life and of the various bases that they were stationed at. The volume follows from pre WW2 right through until the later 1940s when they were gradually demobbed! It isn't a technical book as such, its more of a social account of the operators, their lives and how they managed to maintain their monitoring activities and provided immense help in bringing WW2 to an earlier closure.
An interesting book but not for those seeking technical details of equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice intro, 2 Dec 2012
By 
M. Steedman (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The wireless war is a little documented part of the second world war, however it it was the most important battle fought.
To date most of the accounts have concentrated on decripting enigma and the actions of Bletchley Park. However without the "Y" service there would have been no messages to proccess
This book is an account drawn on peoples direct experiance of working in the service.
The two reasons I have given this book only 4 stars are, firstly I think there is a lot more of this story still to come and secondly because it concentrates on personal experiances it does not actually give a full account of how the system worked or what it actually achieved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael T George-Powell - G3NNO, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having held an Amateur Radio licence since 1959 I find this a fascinating book. In the 60s I knew an elderly radio amateur who made vague "hints" at what he had done during WW2 and had been able to retain some of his radio equipment when most other amateurs had their equipment removed by the authorities "for the duration". Having visted Bletchey Park just 3 weeks ago I learned more and this compliments with my reading the book. The book gives a good background on what the VIs did and how their efforts assisted in the final outcome. I now have to assume that my elderly friend was indeed a VI.
A good read for those interested in the code breakers, intelligence services, and in radio in the 1940s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comment from a former Y Service operator., 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the first time recognising the work of the actual operators whose superb skill, dedication and hard work supplied the vital intelligence required by the code breakers at Bletchley and whose heirs and successors carry on the work today. A great and interesting read, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An very good read; interesting & enjoyable, 7 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Brian S. Mudge "Muj" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having worked as a "Y" operator many years ago, I was interested in this subject!
I'm sure others will enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews