Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Volume of a superb Trilogy
This,like the two previous volumes is a beautiful book covering all the elements of the films production from beginning to end with hundreds of illustrations, set pictures (including a stunning one of Princess Leia in THAT costume and a surprise foe for the Rancor that made me burst out with laughter when I saw it),not to mention reams of detailed production notes...
Published 9 months ago by Paul E. Jackson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly Fine
This doesn't give you as much inside information that is interesting as the prior volumes. In fact it drags as it goes on endlessly about the effects and editing.

The real frustration is that none of the enhancements work on my Galaxy Tab so the primary reason for buying this is a total waste.
Published 2 months ago by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Volume of a superb Trilogy, 4 Oct 2013
By 
Paul E. Jackson "PJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of Return of the Jedi: The Definitive Story Behind the Film (Hardcover)
This,like the two previous volumes is a beautiful book covering all the elements of the films production from beginning to end with hundreds of illustrations, set pictures (including a stunning one of Princess Leia in THAT costume and a surprise foe for the Rancor that made me burst out with laughter when I saw it),not to mention reams of detailed production notes.
Its broken down into a dozen or so chapters that truly show how the film evolved through the entire production and ,just like its predecessors,its a wonderfully detailed recollection of how a very well loved film was made and brought a fitting end to a trilogy that has no equal, at least by my reckoning anyway.I've spent a good evening just browsing through it and smiling at various set photo stills,everybody looks like they had a blast on this final shoot. I'll even forgive the Ewoks appearance (and interestingly they don't appear that much in this book).
The whole series easily surpasses anything I've ever read on how these films were really made nearly three decades ago and this last one completes the series most fittingly. It's a superb addition that completes a stunning set. No real fan of the trilogy can call himself that and NOT have these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and invaluable, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Mark West (Kettering, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of Return of the Jedi: The Definitive Story Behind the Film (Hardcover)
In case you hadn’t guessed, I’m a big fan not only of the original Star Wars trilogy but also of behind-the-scenes books and so this was an absolute perfect fit for me. The third in Rinzler’s series - but the first I’ve read - this is an exhaustive account of making the third Star Wars film from preparing the script right through to the release. I thought I knew a lot about the production (last year I read Peecher’s “The Making If Return Of The Jedi” and although that is quoted frequently here, this book is markedly more in-depth) but Rinzler reveals several facts here I’m sure are appearing for the first time (I didn’t, for instance, realise Ralph McQuarrie left the film early, burned out from Star Wars and Empire), building the story from contemporary interviews (in 2011 and 2012), vintage ones (from Peecher and various magazines and journals) and also production reports in the Lucasfilm archives.

What I liked most about it is that even though this is clearly sanctioned by Lucasfilm, it is remarkably candid. Interviews are often frank - nobody liked the Ewoks apart from Lucas, Richard Marquand’s filming style annoyed several actors (Carrie Fisher accuses him of treating her badly, whilst fawning after Harrison Ford), the ILM supervisors often clashed heads over equipment and Fisher’s party-girl antics sometimes affected her performance - but all the better for that, as it shows how hard people worked in often trying circumstances.
I particularly found the transcripts of the story conferences fascinating, as Lucas and Lawrence Kasdan (who do most of the talking), Howard Kazanjian (the producer) and Marquand build the script up, piece by piece, often following paths that lead nowhere (an awful lot of design work went into the Imperial stronghold of Had Abaddon until they decided to put the Empreror on the Death Star), putting the story together. There’s talk of death and sacrifice (even before Harrison Ford signed on), as pretty much every aspect of the film was open to discussion.

Moving beyond pre-production, the book charts the progress as sets go up in England (designed by Norman Reynolds), Buttercup Valley in Yuma (the barge sequences - which cost millions and yet appear in the film so briefly that Lucas now regrets not filming it all at Elstree) and Crescent City in Northern California, where the crew got to take over a portion of logging forest. The actors add fresh angles to the story and, again, the frankness of some of them is refreshing, even if some of the behaviour (from the likes of Anthony Daniels and David Prowse) isn’t.

For me, the most interesting part was post-production, as ILM moves into gear and the deadline to release day counts down. Taking on an unprecedented number of effects shots and with a writer/producer who kept adding shots (with Lucas shooting most of the live action inserts himself as Marquand had moved on to his next project), the book captures well the frenzied atmosphere of a crew making ground-breaking discoveries whilst not really having the time to do so (especially since most of the crew were coming off other films, such as E.T., Dragonslayer and Poltergeist). It also does a good job catching everyone’s reaction on Black Friday, as Lucas threw out a load of shots as not being good enough. Ken Ralston (space battles), Dennis Muren (speeder bikes and the rancor) and Richard Edlund (everything else) are quoted extensively and clearly convey the scope of work they were dealing with. Phil Tippett, who designed the creatures with Stuart Freeborn, also lays claim to naming Salacious Crumb when, after a night on the sauce, he apparently said, “Wait a minute guys while I tie my soolacious.”

George Lucas casts a long shadow, involved in the process from the beginning and his comments on hiring Marquand since he didn’t want to do all the work himself quickly come back to haunt him. Although Marquand did direct the film - his wife and son are interviewed - and Lucas clearly had a great deal of respect for him, he had to be on set virtually every day as Marquand wasn’t experienced with special effects. The toll on Lucas’ home-life was devastating, with him hiding his impending divorce from most of his crew (both Lucas and Spielberg were involved in divorce during the pre-production of “Indiana Jones and the Temple Of Doom” (concurrent to this), with both of them blaming their ruptured personal lives for the darkness of that film). In a nice turn, for a modern book, Marcia Lucas’ role (though slimmed down with this film) is still acknowledged, even if she only makes a couple of appearances.

The final part of the book deals with the release and reception of the film, as it gobbled up box office records and delighted the paying public, whilst drawing mixed notices from the critics. There’s also an epilogue, charting what happened to most of the key players after the film wrapped and Lucasfilm went into a ‘two-year hibernation’ and as Lucas himself is quoted as saying, it’s good to see so many people going off and changing the way films are made and perceived. The ILM and Lucasfilm group from the early 80s, was probably the equivalent of the Corman outfit in the 60s and 70s).

The book is filled with beautifully reproduced photographs - designs, on-set, pretty much every aspect of the production - and Rinzler has done a great job, identifying most of the personnel captured in them.

If you’re a fan of Star Wars and/or Making Of books, then this is a superb read - informative, amusing, frank - and I was sad to finish it. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars read it iam in it, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of Return of the Jedi: The Definitive Story Behind the Film (Hardcover)
iam in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of Return of the Jedi: The Definitive Story Behind the Film (Hardcover)
great coffee table book. You can browse for hours or just have a quick flick through. A must for all fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Second interactive book in the series and great enhancements. Very detailed and informative. Great for Star Wars and film making fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly Fine, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This doesn't give you as much inside information that is interesting as the prior volumes. In fact it drags as it goes on endlessly about the effects and editing.

The real frustration is that none of the enhancements work on my Galaxy Tab so the primary reason for buying this is a total waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent work on a cult saga, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of Return of the Jedi: The Definitive Story Behind the Film (Hardcover)
Like the 2 previous books, Rintzer does an excellent and remarkable labour of love. The pictures, the drawings and sketches, the text, the interviews. Everything of it is interesting.
Highly recommended at such a price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of Return of the Jedi: The Definitive Story Behind the Film (Hardcover)
A real in depth look into ROTJ -

Great buy if you love the franchise.

A nice addition to the other 'makings of'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Last one of trilogy and doesn't disappoint, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of Return of the Jedi: The Definitive Story Behind the Film (Hardcover)
quoted from my hubby who had it from me for Christmas 'really pleased they did the last one and it is just like the other 2 in the set, excellent and interesting read for any fans.' I think he was pleased...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Making of Return of the Jedi: The Definitive Story Behind the Film (Hardcover)
Bought this for my 13 year old granddaughter for her birthday as she likes all Star Wars items. She was very pleased to receive it so I can only give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Making of Return of the Jedi: The Definitive Story Behind the Film
26.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews