Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
152
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2013
Such a great player deserves a far, far better autobiography. At the end of the book, I still had no idea what makes him one of rugby's all time greats. Where were the insights on his technique? What about his training regime? And where were the observations on the major battles he faced on the field? The book is so littered with dense match reports from irrelevant games that the book misses its key objective of providing any valuable new commentary on the great man. I've been well educated about his gliding career, but little else.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
Books by sportsmen and women are usually so bland, full of cliches and contain hardly any surprises but what is so great about this book is the authentic voice that comes off every page. It feels as if his thoughts had been recorded directly onto tape throughout the period covered and then tidied up for the book. If you're a rugby fan there is much to learn about how the team operates with valuable insights into training, planning and performance but the drama of the two Rugby World Cups portrays the pressure, tension, hope and anxiety of a captain and a team desperate to win the cup in New Zealand for it's people.
It would be a good read if that's all you get but Richie has a life outside rugby and there's stirring stuff about gliding over some of South Island's wilder and most beautiful areas - clearly his passion when he's away from rugby. I thoroughly recommend it; you come away feeling that you've just had a long conversation with a remarkable and very likeable man.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
There's much to enjoy about this book in terms of the writing style, presentation and how it focuses on the key moments of McCaw's career without dwelling on a chronological approach. It gives you a great insight into his thought process and is a useful tool for sports psychology and coping with negatives. I enjoyed the approach by concentrating on the gap between the two pivotal games vs France and how it turns full circle. There are several great stories about a leadership seminar, the earthquake, a couple of team talks, technical aspects of the game and his relationships with teammates and coaches....

But it feels like something is missing. McCaw is an admitted private person and he doesn't seem to completely lift the curtain on himself. Apart from his love of running and gliding, you don't get to find out too much about what makes him tick. Maybe it's because of the kind of person that he is and the lack of controversy in his career (besides a brief rivalry with Quade Cooper) that usually make for great reading.

For an example of what I mean, John Smit's book has a lot more depth to it while following a similar path to the same goal. Enjoyable though, and what a player.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
Richie McCaw has something to say about modern rugby and his role in it. This is not a canned autobiography but a book about someone who thinks deeply about his sport and gives us huge insight into the game. Very hard to put down and lavishly presented. One of the best sports books produced.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
Some have said the book lacked depth or others have said it was boring - personally I found it really insightful to hear a players point of view on some key matches and he didn't hold back on his opinion of other players or referees. Nice to see he still seems like a family man at heart.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
Great book, well written. Not your usual run of the mill autobiography where the subject tells all about themselves - Richie doesn't tell you a massive amount about his private life as that's what it is - private. Richie comes across as a really down to earth, likeable guy who genuinely loves playing rugby and gives you an insight into his rugby highs and well documented lows. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
Not the read I was expecting. If I wanted a full blow by blow of certain games I would have got the deaf persons guide to the games played on the tele. I would have liked to read more about his childhood and other experiences. This book however did change my view on Graham Henry and as such look forward to reading his book. Would only recommend this book if you fancy reading the scripts of certain games.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
A great read and insight into the incredible athlete and competitor Richie McCaw. It also gives a jaw dropping idea of the mindset of the mighty All Blacks - defeat is not an option. I found it too easy to pick up and very difficult to put down - would definitely recommend to any rugby enthusiast.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Really well written and seriously inspirational. Matter-of-fact, honest, and shows McCaw is a human not a machine or a beast. I did not buy this as a motivational book (I detest that genre), but in fact it helped me through a very tough period. I wish there would be a sequel covering the years 2011-15.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
Ok - so I haven't read this yet. How, I heard you ask, can I therefore give a review?! Well it was bought as a present for someone (hopefully I'll read it when he's finished with it!): book looks good, well priced, arrived quickly. And anyone who loves rugby is going to want to read about an inspirational captain who (when I bought it) had just won the world cup
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)