Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book of Old Betjeman
This is a really pretty little book, which rewards repeated dipping rather than a cover-to-cover read. The selection was largely unfamiliar to me and there is no obvious overlap with the other recent Betjeman collections I've bought, except for a tribute to Max Beerbohm which also appears in the wonderful `Tennis Whites & Teacakes'. Those expecting poetry will be...
Published on 28 Nov 2012 by Mrs H

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
As title indicates this book is rather a mixture. Not all will please. But I purchased it as a gift for someone else so heigh ho
Published 22 months ago by glynroyd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book of Old Betjeman, 28 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Lovely Bits of Old England: John Betjeman at The Telegraph (Telegraph Books) (Hardcover)
This is a really pretty little book, which rewards repeated dipping rather than a cover-to-cover read. The selection was largely unfamiliar to me and there is no obvious overlap with the other recent Betjeman collections I've bought, except for a tribute to Max Beerbohm which also appears in the wonderful `Tennis Whites & Teacakes'. Those expecting poetry will be disappointed though, as Betjeman appears to have penned very little of it for the Telegraph, but anyone familiar with his defence of Victorian architecture, and St Pancras station in particular, is in for a treat. The majority of the book is taken up with articles on Britain's landscape and buildings, starting with a charming travel column which I was surprised to see visit Huddersfield and Southend rather than more obvious destinations like, say, Manchester or Bath. On balance, I would have liked to see more of this kind of writing and fewer of his book reviews, where he seems generally less passionate and insightful, but overall 'Lovely Bits of Old England' sits very nicely with the rest of my Betjeman collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best bits of Betjeman, 5 April 2013
By 
M. F. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovely Bits of Old England: John Betjeman at The Telegraph (Telegraph Books) (Hardcover)
If you are fan of John Betjeman you will love this collection of his articles published in the Daily Telegraph. As always his writing is descriptive and displays his extensive knowledge and research and you can hear his voice on every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great to dip in and out of, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovely Bits of Old England: John Betjeman at The Telegraph (Telegraph Books) (Hardcover)
Bought this for my mum after reading a review of it in the Telegraph. She likes it very much. I would have preferred some illustrations but I suppose that the original articles may not have had any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Bits of Old England, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovely Bits of Old England: John Betjeman at The Telegraph (Telegraph Books) (Hardcover)
I enjoyed most of this book and like and admire John Betjeman for his conservation work of buildings. It has inspired me to visit some of the buildings he mentions and to be more observant, especially of ralway stations and Town Halls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely bits of old England, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. D. G. Morgan "morgandewi" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovely Bits of Old England: John Betjeman at The Telegraph (Telegraph Books) (Hardcover)
A lovely collection of articles written by a master of his art and sorely missed. Call me sentimental but this book is a lovely read and the discounted price was attractive too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JOHN BETJEMAN IS A HERO OF MINE, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovely Bits of Old England: John Betjeman at The Telegraph (Telegraph Books) (Hardcover)
JB had the knack of putting his finger on a subject and then putting it into words; this is a classic and I am glad his writings have been put together in a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovely Bits of Old England: John Betjeman at The Telegraph (Telegraph Books) (Hardcover)
As a fan of John Betjeman I thought this book was a very enjoyable read,the book arrived in excellent condition and delivery was very prompt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars John Betjeman has no hidden taste., 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovely Bits of Old England: John Betjeman at The Telegraph (Telegraph Books) (Hardcover)
John Betjeman has no hidden taste. Up front, no nonsence and a good read.Onw will always turn to his pages at the end of a long.day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovely Bits of Old England: John Betjeman at The Telegraph (Telegraph Books) (Hardcover)
We bought this book as a Christmas present, and it was well received. John Betjeman at his best! Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betjeman at his best, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovely Bits of Old England: John Betjeman at The Telegraph (Telegraph Books) (Hardcover)
I have always been a fan of John Betjeman - his writings and poetry. There is nothing at all to dislike. I would recommend it to friends, neighbours and local library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lovely Bits of Old England: John Betjeman at The Telegraph (Telegraph Books)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews