Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated!, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Jewels: The Cheapside Hoard (Paperback)
What a superb book about this subject - it's not light reading but my interest was so captured by the detail and the stories of piracy on the high seas at that time that I read it in two days. The colour illustrations are excellent and the pictures that have been enlarged show the intricacy of the silversmithing skills at that time. I am keen to see the real jewels now if I get the opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Jewels: The Cheapside Hoard (Paperback)
Having read glowing reviews of the 'Cheapside Hoard' exhibition at the City of London Museum, I've already bought a timed ticket to see it on one of my rare visits to the capital. As I believe strongly that an exhibition is far more interesting if you've read the guide book before you go, I was delighted to find LONDON'S LOST JEWELS available on Amazon. It's far exceeded my expectations, however, as despite author Hazel Forsyth being curator of the exhibition this is far more than just a guide book, albeit a beautifully illustrated one.

Briefly, the 'Hoard' comprises thousands of jewels and pieces of jewellery buried under Goldsmith's Row (just east of St Pauls Cathedral) sometime between 1640 and 1666. No-one knows who buried them, why, or -- perhaps most intriguingly -- why they never retrieved them. Those 26 years which saw the Civil War, the Great Plague and the Fire of London are among the most traumatic that London has ever known (only rivalled by the Blitz), and any of those -- or something entirely different -- could provide the answer. We'll probably never know. What the reader of LONDON'S LOST JEWELS will know by the time they reach page 223, however, is a great deal about the jewellery trade of Elizabethan and Jacobean England, a good deal about individual named jewellers and their wealthy patrons, and a fair bit about the political and social climate of the times.

Did I already remark that the book is beautifully illustrated? Printed on high-quality paper in full colour (except for a few mono prints and cuttings) the sheer beauty of many of the jewels dominates the page. Although some of the pieces appear to have been damaged before they were hidden -- perhaps they'd been brought to a jeweller for repair? -- and most of the pearls have degraded with time, many other pieces are perfect, their 350 or so years underground having left their gold and stones unmarked. Jem cutting and setting styles have changed with time, leaving the majority of the pieces unique, though similar ones can be seen paintings of the period, many of which are reproduced here.

All in all, I was left wondering who I admired the most -- the 17th century craftsmen who created such beautiful work, or the 21st century author who had made it possible for so many of us non-Londoners to admire them. Highly recommended, whether or not you have a chance to visit the exhibition before it closes in April 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: London's Lost Jewels: The Cheapside Hoard (Paperback)
The best book what I have bought after seeing the exhibition! It not only complemented what I saw but also took me in the journey in 16th-17th century of trade of jewellery, symbolism of gemstones and objects and much more. The author had done the great job (and other team members as well)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious book, 15 Nov 2013
By 
J. Simpson "avid reader" (London , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Jewels: The Cheapside Hoard (Paperback)
Truly fascinating with wonderful pictures and well written text. So much information about the history of the hoard and how the jewellery business operated in Tudor and Stuart times. And do visit the exhibition as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go and see it in the flesh, 21 Feb 2014
By 
P. L. Tickell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Jewels: The Cheapside Hoard (Paperback)
What a story of mystery and (possibly) skullduggery. The discovery of the Cheapside hoard is a fascinating story. The fact that its contents are so breathtaking ( and there may well be more out there in private collections) and the fact that it is now on display at the Museum of London, make this a fascinating read and a wonderful visual experience. There is a lot of detail that may "lose" some readers but you can always skip the figures and read the ascertainable facts and theories. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivery as advised, good packaging competitive price, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Jewels: The Cheapside Hoard (Paperback)
This is a fabulous book for anyone thinking of visiting the Cheapside Hoard. A lovely reminder, and interesting dialogue to ensure you get the most from a visit or instead of if you can't make it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cheapside hoard, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Jewels: The Cheapside Hoard (Paperback)
went to see the exhibition and thought the book was excellent and a good read with good pictures a reminder of a lovely visit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Book on the Cheapside Hoard, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Jewels: The Cheapside Hoard (Paperback)
I have been waiting for this book to come out for years. I bought her earlier book on the Hoard, but it was only a very small book with small illustrations. Living in the depths of Northumberland I will not be able to view the exhibition, but this book brought it to my door. Wonderful photographs and great descriptions and historical information. Anybody interested in jewellery should buy this book. Anyone interested in the 17th century should also think about adding it to their library. I reenact a 17th century character with a penchant for finery and this book gives me further insight into the period. Many congratulations to the authoress on an excellent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Jewels: The Cheapside Hoard (Paperback)
Firstly this book is more than just a catalog of an exhibition taking place in London.
It's a book rich with historical detail on the hoard, jewellery making processes and London.
Lots of pictures of the jewellery from the hoard but also, plenty of text, background info about each piece.
I really can not praise this book enough. As a jewellery designer maker, with plenty of books on the subject, this one is in my top 10.
The author has really done their homework in producing this great book, and I love the inclusion of original historical documents the author has been able to source and share.
I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LONG AWAITED SINCE THE 1920S, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Lost Jewels: The Cheapside Hoard (Paperback)
THIS LAVISHLY PRODUCED STUDY OF THE MOST IMPORTANT IF MYSTERIOUS POST RENAISSANCE HOARDS ENLIVENS THE HISTORY OF JEWELLERY IN ENGLAND
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0ac294)

This product

London's Lost Jewels: The Cheapside Hoard
London's Lost Jewels: The Cheapside Hoard by Hazel Forsyth (Paperback - 30 Sep 2013)
18.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews