Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A detailed book with clear strategies clarified to illuminate your path and master your chosen field. A great Life /career read.
Mastery is a practical guide to achieving great success in your chosen path or career in life. Robert Greene describes a detailed journey of focus and commitment so intense, - that you cannot fail in reaching your full creative potential should you choose to embark on this mission of discovery.
The greatest Masters of all time are studied by Greene not in their...
Published 9 months ago by misspink

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stories, but not a practical guide to mastery
Greene is a devoted researcher and a master of the historical anecdote. In this book, he tells some very interesting stories about some very interesting people (Einstein, Mozart etc.) If you like the author and his style, you may enjoy this book.

However, I wouldn't recommend this as a serious advice book. It's extremely long and Greene's list of things you...
Published 22 months ago by Evelyn


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A detailed book with clear strategies clarified to illuminate your path and master your chosen field. A great Life /career read., 5 Mar 2014
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
Mastery is a practical guide to achieving great success in your chosen path or career in life. Robert Greene describes a detailed journey of focus and commitment so intense, - that you cannot fail in reaching your full creative potential should you choose to embark on this mission of discovery.
The greatest Masters of all time are studied by Greene not in their achievements but in how they achieved them. This book will re-focus you on your destiny and prove along the way that Mastery is not a mysterious and complex phenomenon, - but a demonstration of dedication and tireless commitment to your passion.
There are 6 chapters covering the ascent to Mastery which serve as a detailed manual in developing key skills needed to attain supreme power in your chosen field:
1. Discover your calling – Greene describes the emotional highs of following your passion and why listening to your inner voice will lead on to your destined path to becoming a master in your work.
2. The Ideal Apprenticeship- “Consider the roles you lead in your career as Apprenticeships”. This phase goes through the various elements of transformation in the mind when a person is continually learning and developing.
3. The Mentor Dynamic – The mentor –protégé relationship is the most efficient and productive form of learning. Greene analyses the process and drives home the importance of having the right mentor in your life, what to look for in a mentor, how to attract them and when to leave them.
4. Social Intelligence – “Often the greatest Obstacle to our pursuit of Mastery comes from the emotional drain we experience in dealing with the resistance and manipulations of the people around us.” Greene identifies the seven deadly realities or negative qualities to watch out for in people and how to avoid them. Strategies for acquiring social intelligence are also highlighted to meet the challenges of dealing with people in your work.
5. Awaken the dimensional mind: The creative active – Greene has devised a 3 step programme to awaken your creativity and expand your mind. A) The creative task, B) Creative strategies, C) The creative breakthrough. Greene goes on to list the six emotional pitfalls that may threaten your work along the way and finally clarifies 9 Strategies for the creative active phase to help you reach your goals.
6. Fuse the intuitive with the rational – Mastery - The closing chapter sets out the strategies required to attain Mastery throughout your life, and how both intuition and rationality are both equally important in achieving greatness in any field.
“The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind a faithful servant. We have created a society that honours the servant and has forgotten the gift. - Albert Einstein.
Robert Greene has written a detailed book giving excellent case studies to further clarify his message. The irony is you do have to be somewhat dedicated and focused to take in the vast amount of information included in each chapter. However if you do take the time without distraction to sit and work your way through it this is the most thorough example I have read of what is essentially a success manual. Do not be put off by the flowery descriptions of each chapter, as contained between the pages are some transformative guidance notes on becoming the best version of yourself you can be ,- and I guess that’s we all want that in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stories, but not a practical guide to mastery, 2 Mar 2013
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
Greene is a devoted researcher and a master of the historical anecdote. In this book, he tells some very interesting stories about some very interesting people (Einstein, Mozart etc.) If you like the author and his style, you may enjoy this book.

However, I wouldn't recommend this as a serious advice book. It's extremely long and Greene's list of things you 'must do' numbers in the hundreds. This is not a practical guide to mastery; it is just a very long book with some interesting ideas and inspiring stories.

If you want a more practical, clearer guide to mastery, I highly recommend George Leonard's Mastery: The Keys to Success and Long-Term Fulfillment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mastery a good book, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
I am a very big fan Of Greenenand you can never go wrong with a Greene and the book is new as advertised but I didn't realise tht this wasn't the full copy but a concise version of it but all in all a great read,, I will buy a again from seller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Contains much useful material, despite its occasional self-help babble and patronizing tone, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Alexander Sokol (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
"Mastery" is the word Greene uses to describe the state of being characterized by stepping beyond mere understanding of a topic, instead obtaining superior command over it, yielding intuitive understanding, integration of manifold ideas and resulting in a major increase in creative output. In his book, Greene sets out to understand the nature of mastery, in particularly seeking to provide a practical guide for how to attain mastery.

Greene's topic is inherently interesting, in the sense that mastery obviously is desirable for many people. Also, to a large degree, Greene achieves the goal he has set for himself. The book is divided into six main chapters, and particularly the later chapters on social intelligence, creativity and intuition are well written and contains useful insights. Furthermore, throughout the book, Greene relates stories from the lives of a series of people having attained mastery in very varied fields such as robotics, painting, piloting and dancing. These stories are among the best parts of the book.

There are multiple aspects of the book, however, which I found seriously aggravating. First, in several of the chapters of the book, in particular in the introduction and in the first two chapters, Greene presents a very simplistic view of human nature, coming up with endless self-help clichés of the type "People get the mind that they deserve through their actions" (p. 14), "You possess a kind of inner force that seeks to guide you toward your Life's Task" (p. 19), "At your birth a seed is planted. That seed is your uniqueness," et cetera. Greene also comes up with some very generalizing and quite unfounded statements about the world such as "We are entering a world in which we can rely less and less upon the state" (p. 28). And finally, with scientific veneer, Greene proposes some very oversimplified and unfounded ideas about human history and biology, for example claiming that mirror neurons are the major component giving humans their superior visual and social skills and expounding in unrealistic detail the behaviour of our distant ancestors (p. 7-8). To top it all off, Greene occasionally also displays a rather condescending attitude, opening his paragraph with imperatives such as "Understand:" and the like, and has an annoying habit of capitalizing all kinds of words ("Mastery", "Life's Task", "The Apprenticeship", et cetera). Taken as a whole, I found the hyperbolic lack of objectivity and rigor so irritating that during the introduction and the first chapter, I really wanted to put the book down, and only pressed on because of the recommendation of a friend.

If you can look past all this, however, the book actually starts to shine. Once Greene is done with his simplified ideas about human history and is done extolling the attaining of mastery as the ultimate goal of life, he commences to seriously consider how to attain mastery. The tone of the book shifts to something more factual, and at this point, it's good reading. Greene's attitude is that in order to attain mastery, you should keep your eyes on the prize and be practical about your planning instead of grumbling about the unfairness of the world. For example, in chapter four, when discussing social intelligence, he observes that people who are difficult to work with is a part of life, and instead of passing around blame, he simply discusses how to get along with these people anyway and get the most out of the situation. In this part of the book, Greene's analyses are generally useful and sound, making these chapters the best of the book.

Summing up, the quality of Greene's book is diminished by the flaws in its initial chapters. However, if you can look past this, there is a solid amount of good material in the latter half of the book, and this might well be worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A star in the darkness, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. B. Browton "toxicshock" (Hastings, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
I saw this book in a bookstore at a difficult time for me in my work life last year. My purchase and reading of it in subsequent weeks proved most prescient in getting me back on an even keel and valuing my talents again. It served as a reminder of the value of creative thinking allied with hard work bringing results. However, I was not to keen on the Air Force example (not very peace-loving). I have recommended this book to friends, and will move onto the 'Power' tome next. Nice one, Mr Greene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking as always, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
Robert Greene has always had the knack for cutting through the proverbial cheese. His writing is thought provoking in a way that I find typically unrivalled, and he is able to put into words those things that you have a general feeling about, but couldn't ever 'firm up'. I bought this book because I absolutely loved his 48 Laws work - which I thought was a masterpiece. Sinister at times, but true none-the-less. The stories in Mastery were extremely well researched, and linked well to what he was teaching. The steps through Mastery are laid bare in this book, and I thoroughly enjoyed what he had to say. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I thought it got slightly repetitive towards the end, a little bit of a 'filler'. But that does not take away from the fantastic work right through the book. Another well written piece, which gave me the conviction that we can all achieve Mastery in our fields of expertise - if only we follow the process as so many who have gone before us have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
I feel I need to highly recommend an amazing book. For anyone that struggles with any kind of creativity, on a daily basis, this book is very inspiring. To stay motivated is always difficult, we all reach plateaus. This book uses real life examples of those who achieved mastery through sheer hard work -is there any other way? - Everyone from Mozart, Faraday, Leonardo da Vinci and Darwin has undertaken this process, he advocates the (now disparaged) apprenticeship system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
Really really good. The only down side is that if you're reading large chunks of the book (which I'm doing as it's a great read) there's quite a bit of repeating. This has been done to keep making points but it can be a tiny tiny bit tedious. It'd be definitely a 5* otherwise. The book's more like 4 1/2 stars... but there's no half option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Kindle Edition)
Educational and enjoyable read, great to understand how the masters took a journey of experience. Well worth a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge value, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
I just do not really know what else to say about this book other than it offers a huge amount of value... I just think it is a very very valuable book. It is excellent...

I got a the sample on my ipad, this was enough to make me then get it from my local library. After that, I knew I wanted to own it myself to take my time reading and be able to refer back too. I read a lot, books of all types though I'm not really into 'fiction' ... this book is great... so much tosh coming out from so called lifestyle 'guru's' who are just taking a punt to make a dime... Do yourself a favour, have a look at this book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mastery
Mastery by Robert Greene (Paperback - 19 Nov 2012)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews