Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lethal allies revew
brilliant book , great insight as to what happened during the troubles,
great work done by the author. great read,
Published 1 month ago by john kavanagh

versus
16 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lost chance
As an avid reader of history, especially about Ulster, i couldn't wait to read this book when i heard it was being published. There are plenty of reasons why they called the Troubles in Ulster...The Dirty War..., and the part this book sets out to tell, is still one surrounded in so much secrecy and controversy, around an area of Ulster that is almost impossible to...
Published 5 months ago by tommy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lethal allies revew, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lethal Allies: British Collusion in Ireland (Paperback)
brilliant book , great insight as to what happened during the troubles,
great work done by the author. great read,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incontrovertible evidence of British State Murder, 25 Oct 2013
This review is from: Lethal Allies: British Collusion in Ireland (Paperback)
Even though I am well aware of the history of collusion, reading this book forced me to draw breath and recall just how subversive, murderous and immoral was the British state and its cheer leaders in unionism and its apologists in the media. Anne Cadwallader is a good writer, forensic in her approach. Like her last book, Holy Cross, she cuts through the propaganda, the excuses, the pretexts, and lays bare the incontrovertible evidence of the British state's involvement in murdering and in condoning the murders of its own citizens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent purchase thank you, 2 July 2014
By 
Mrs. L. Ware (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lethal Allies: British Collusion in Ireland (Paperback)
excellent purchase thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Factual, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lethal Allies: British Collusion in Ireland (Paperback)
Very enlightening with well researched and hither to unknown facts. A must read for anyone interested in Irish politics. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive and should be compulsory reading, 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: Lethal Allies: British Collusion in Ireland (Paperback)
As someone who lived in South Armagh through this period and later worked in the media, I've been waiting for a book like this to have the courage and integrity to make public specific documentation confirming the collusion that we knew at the time was endemic, but could not substantiate. I have no doubt investigations by the same team into events in other areas and times of the Conflict would produce similar results. It is a difficult read, both in the enormity of the history it recounts and in the abundance of factual references that punctuate the narrative- but necessarily so. No society can move forward without establishing truth and working for justice. I am saddened that some people interpret this factual and remarkably unemotional work as 'opinion.' It should be included in any curriculum of the history of the Conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Revelatory, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lethal Allies: British Collusion in Ireland (Paperback)
This book covers a period I remember well and lived through. The deaths of several friends are covered and you have to keep an objective mind when reading it. It is an excellent bit of research but what will the British government do about it. Nothing? I recommend this book to anyone who lived through the "troubles" and anyone who really wants to know the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Harkin "JOANHDERRY" (IRELAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lethal Allies: British Collusion in Ireland (Paperback)
Brilliant book for anyone interested in the years of the troubles , great investigative journalism, a real eye opener !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRUTH., 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lethal Allies: British Collusion in Ireland (Paperback)
the truth shall set you free. EX BOOK AT A GREAT PRICE, A MUST READ FOR ALL WHO BELEIVE IN THE TRUTH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking., 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lethal Allies: British Collusion in Ireland (Paperback)
For years I thought it was just Irish republican propaganda set out to discredit the RUC and other members of the security forces, however now my mind has changed. I have read many books on the Irish troubles and for the most part they have been very informative, however this book has shed light on specific incidents involving the Glenanne gang

This book is a seminal book from a widely experienced and well respected journalist. The book delves into the murderous activities of the Glenanne gang and their victims. The gang comprised of members of the "Security Forces" RUC and UDR who by day were policing the community and paradoxically by night killing them. The victims (all but one) were innocent Catholics apolitical and not members of any republican terrorist organisation, yet they were treated as if they were terrorists and subsequently murdered.

The RUC (as a police force) were at best, useless and not fit for purpose, or ,their ranks were saturated with anti catholic bigots masquarading as police officers. Even simple things like investigating crime, evidence gathering , taking witness statements and forensics were botched up(intentially/unintentially). This pattern emerges through out the book of incredibly poor policing, thus allowing the guilty to walk free and their list of victims to ever mount up.

It never ceases to amaze me that certain Unionist politicians always come up with "a few rotten apples" who gave the police a bad name.I am in no way tarring all members of the police and army with the same brush, there have been some exemplery members over the years. However it has not gone unnoticed the some of its members have behaved less than honourably, thats the distinction I want to make. The RUC and UDR in certain policicians eyes can do no wrong, even though they clearly have and managed to get away with it. Loyalist terror groups could not tie their laces without the help of certain members of the security forces, certain members of the "security forces" were pulling their strings and effectively collaborating with murderers route planning, target aquisition etc etc.

My only problem with this book is that it didn`t go far enough in its investigations in the case of Robert Nairac who in my opinion was helping the loyalists then setting them up by the IRA to kill them, thus effectively doing his work for him. Although I have no proof of this, from a casual observers point of view this is what it looks like.

I am absolutely sure the truth will out and a pandoras box will well and truly open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Surprised, annoyed and deeply saddened, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lethal Allies: British Collusion in Ireland (Paperback)
If you want to read and get a sense of feeling for people effected by the troubles this is the book. My mum says I am a war baby but I don't agree. You need to be effected by the troubles or have endured a loss to call yourself such.
It shows the total ignorance of loyalist operations that they had access to weapons and intelligence and still could only kill soft targets (random catholics ) and not any high level republican or IRA operatives. It re-enforces the belief that UDA/UVF/UFF just hated catholics, everyone was a target and politicians, police and army helped. The Provo's were no angels either.
Our country today has a lot of people who are nobodies and thrive on the hatred on both sides, a shame, our shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lethal Allies: British Collusion in Ireland
Lethal Allies: British Collusion in Ireland by Anne Cadwallader (Paperback - 18 Oct 2013)
8.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews