Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars17
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 6 June 2008
I enjoyed the challenge set our heroine by the circumstances of the battle, her training, her sense of honour, and the kinship of those around her. This is hard edged science fiction with the always successful combination of thought provoking new ideas and good old fashioned stand up battles between alien races experiencing the misunderstandings of different cultures and perspectives. My suggestion? Read it. Then read the rest.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 2 March 2014
I enjoyed Valour’s Choice from the get-go. The Prologue introduces the world quickly and painlessly then we’re straight away introduced to Staff Sergeant Torin Kerr. I loved Kerr; she’s tough, funny, devoted to her people, and not immune to the charms of the di’Kayan. The story proper begins with the morning after the night before. Kerr’s indulged in some post-battle R&R with a nameless di’Kayan, the most sexually adventurous known race and almost irresistible to humans. Certainly Kerr had no intention of resisting this particular one last night, but now duty calls.

What ought to have been a standard debriefing turns into something less welcome and with a few surprises. Kerr is assigned to a diplomatic mission designed to convince the Silsviss to join the Confederation against the Others. She also has a new senior officer to train up with her unique blend of humour and influence. Kerr is anything but thrilled at her new mission but orders are orders.

I enjoyed how the story developed, both the tedium of diplomatic negotiations, especially for a combat unit, and the unscheduled call to arms. The heroic last stand was pretty exciting and I did like the ending - it just confirmed how very excellent Torin Kerr is. The array of alien races is well imagined; I especially liked the slow, smelly, furry Dornagain. Aside from Kerr there are some other great characters; Lt. Jarret, Cri Sawyes, and Haysole all deserve a mention.

I was very impressed with Valour’s Choice and will definitely go on to read more of the series. This edition also has a bonus short story, which was a nice little extra.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 December 2013
Sci-fi, military and action. That is what you get when you read this book. And for the history buffs out there one of the battles is based on a battle in the Zulu war.

In the future a confederation of planets is formed to guard against the threat of an alien race called The Others (I totally want to know more about them btw). Humans are welcomed to serve as the military as those who formed this federation do not fight. But many others fight too so in Torin's (our heroine) squad there are many more lifeforms, "elves", big spiders, the gluttony alien, you get the picture.

Torin is a true marine, kicking ass, liking the life. Even if she is higher up than the foot soldiers they can trust her. She is a good leader and in this book she gets to prove it too.

There is lots of fighting, but also an interesting introduction to a new planet that wants to join. Reptiles who really likes to fight, and I would not want to meet them. They are pretty crazy.

Now what to compare it too? I have read too few as I can only think of one book by Jean Johnson, but not in every way. So anyway, if you like action, new worlds, adventure, then this is for you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on 16 May 2002
This is the kind of thing I like to relax with, good fun standard sf with a wry sense of humour, good set-pieces, interesting aliens and a believable universe. The story follows a put-upon female space marine in charge of a varied bunch of soldiers on a routine diplomatic mission.. until things go wrong. Good strong story development, engaging dialogue, and in fact I stayed up all night to finish it, which doesn't happen often these days. Nothing new here but an expert retread of well-loved themes. And very very funny, reminded me a lot of Elizabeth Moon at times.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Changing from one subgenre to another can at times work heavily against an author yet the skip from Urban Fantasy to Science Fiction is not that big of a jump and one that works wonderfully in Tanya's favour in this brand new series. It has a real kickass lead heroine who like others of Tanya's female leads has a great sense of honour, a can do attitude and whilst hiding from her enemies also faces off against some of the toughest that the galaxy has to offer.

It has some great twists and when added to Tanya's ability to bring the lead across in a future that you can easily believe all round gives you something to occupy your mind during this busy season. It asks a lot of questions and whilst some may not be too happy with this title spending more time on developing relationships, all round works better for me. I can't wait for the second offering.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
Staff Sergeant Torin Kerr is a wonderful invention from author Tanya Huff. She is a professional soldier, a marine, who, in between kicking ass, spends time looking after and guiding a new officer.
The mission is a diplomatic one, tasked to encourage an alien species (The Silviss) to join a Confederation of allies fighting a formidable enemy. It all seems to be going well, in spite of her dislike of and unfamiliarity of diplomacy and protocol, but suddenly, following a crash while on route to yet another diplomatic event she and her platoon are forced to fight the young of the Silviss.
While reading I was struck by the similarity between the battle and the fight from the film Zulu, between the Brits and the Zulus. And , indeed the author freely admits that her battle was loosely based on the film, although there is no competitive singing!
The aliens are well drawn, all very different with various strengths and weaknesses,including the intriguingly sexy di'Taykan and the spider-like Mictoc.
I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the books featuring Staff Sergeant Kerr
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 20 July 2000
The story's good, if a bit basic- Nasty Enemy Aliens, seeking the destruction of all life on one side, good aliens wanting to live in peace and harmony on the other- slight problem, in that the good guy aliens are so morally opposed to war and murder that they can't fight and kill the nasty guys. Up to the plate comes three spieces, of which humans are one, that make up the good guy army. It's in the process of trying to recruit a fourth spieces that the story takes place. Some excellent characterisation, a nice set up for the story. My main complaint is that the main enemy is off stage for the story. Needs a sequel or three.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 19 January 2014
Loved the discipline and control as well as the echoes of real campaigns used to outline the Sergeant's role.
picked this up because I enjoyed the Blood ties series - this was totally different but just as well written.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've recently been disappointed a couple of times by following Amazon 5-star recommendations - but this is not one of the disappointments. In fact, it's pretty good: a whole series of believable aliens, each with their own traits and still with individual personality as well; a nicely cynical approach to politics, and very believable military interaction. Couple this to a good story, well told, and it adds up to an author and a series of which I'll be buying more.

Forget the truly awful cover on this book - something DAW seems to be prone to - this is good, solid military scifi. An excellent read! And many thanks to the reviewers, too, this time
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 4 May 2000
this proves miss huff is a very versatile author capable of thriller/horror,fantasy and now military science-fiction. recomend this book to anyone who has read David Weber's "Honour Harrington" series and Louis McMaster Bujold'S "Miles Vorkossigan Adventures". only one question will there be another book? if so when?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The Truth of Valour: A Confederation Novel
The Truth of Valour: A Confederation Novel by Tanya Huff (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2014)

Valour's Trial: A Confederation Novel (Confederation 4)
Valour's Trial: A Confederation Novel (Confederation 4) by Tanya Huff (Paperback - 17 April 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.