Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valor's Choice
I enjoyed the challenge set our heroine by the circumstances of the battle, her training, her sense of honour, and the kinship of those around her. This is hard edged science fiction with the always successful combination of thought provoking new ideas and good old fashioned stand up battles between alien races experiencing the misunderstandings of different cultures and...
Published on 6 Jun 2008 by AJ

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish
The author admits this books is based on the film Zulu, she claims "loosely" but in reality the heart of the book comes straight from the film. That is bad both because it is unoriginal and because the comparison between the two doesn't help the book, Zulu has depth of character and intelligence that this book completely lacks.

There is nothing original here,...
Published on 25 April 2010 by plot hound


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valor's Choice, 6 Jun 2008
By 
AJ (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
I enjoyed the challenge set our heroine by the circumstances of the battle, her training, her sense of honour, and the kinship of those around her. This is hard edged science fiction with the always successful combination of thought provoking new ideas and good old fashioned stand up battles between alien races experiencing the misunderstandings of different cultures and perspectives. My suggestion? Read it. Then read the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, unchallenging sf romp, 16 May 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the kind of thing I like to relax with, good fun standard sf with a wry sense of humour, good set-pieces, interesting aliens and a believable universe. The story follows a put-upon female space marine in charge of a varied bunch of soldiers on a routine diplomatic mission.. until things go wrong. Good strong story development, engaging dialogue, and in fact I stayed up all night to finish it, which doesn't happen often these days. Nothing new here but an expert retread of well-loved themes. And very very funny, reminded me a lot of Elizabeth Moon at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars strong heroine with kickass attitude, 19 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the discipline and control as well as the echoes of real campaigns used to outline the Sergeant's role.
picked this up because I enjoyed the Blood ties series - this was totally different but just as well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sci.fi, 16 Dec 2013
This review is from: Valour's Choice: A Confederation Novel (Paperback)
Sci-fi, military and action. That is what you get when you read this book. And for the history buffs out there one of the battles is based on a battle in the Zulu war.

In the future a confederation of planets is formed to guard against the threat of an alien race called The Others (I totally want to know more about them btw). Humans are welcomed to serve as the military as those who formed this federation do not fight. But many others fight too so in Torin's (our heroine) squad there are many more lifeforms, "elves", big spiders, the gluttony alien, you get the picture.

Torin is a true marine, kicking ass, liking the life. Even if she is higher up than the foot soldiers they can trust her. She is a good leader and in this book she gets to prove it too.

There is lots of fighting, but also an interesting introduction to a new planet that wants to join. Reptiles who really likes to fight, and I would not want to meet them. They are pretty crazy.

Conclusion:
Now what to compare it too? I have read too few as I can only think of one book by Jean Johnson, but not in every way. So anyway, if you like action, new worlds, adventure, then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great new series from Blood Ties Author, 15 Dec 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Valour's Choice: A Confederation Novel (Paperback)
Changing from one subgenre to another can at times work heavily against an author yet the skip from Urban Fantasy to Science Fiction is not that big of a jump and one that works wonderfully in Tanya's favour in this brand new series. It has a real kickass lead heroine who like others of Tanya's female leads has a great sense of honour, a can do attitude and whilst hiding from her enemies also faces off against some of the toughest that the galaxy has to offer.

It has some great twists and when added to Tanya's ability to bring the lead across in a future that you can easily believe all round gives you something to occupy your mind during this busy season. It asks a lot of questions and whilst some may not be too happy with this title spending more time on developing relationships, all round works better for me. I can't wait for the second offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good- nothing wildy original, but a good story, written well, 20 July 2000
By A Customer
The story's good, if a bit basic- Nasty Enemy Aliens, seeking the destruction of all life on one side, good aliens wanting to live in peace and harmony on the other- slight problem, in that the good guy aliens are so morally opposed to war and murder that they can't fight and kill the nasty guys. Up to the plate comes three spieces, of which humans are one, that make up the good guy army. It's in the process of trying to recruit a fourth spieces that the story takes place. Some excellent characterisation, a nice set up for the story. My main complaint is that the main enemy is off stage for the story. Needs a sequel or three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a stunning debut novel of military sci-fi., 4 May 2000
this proves miss huff is a very versatile author capable of thriller/horror,fantasy and now military science-fiction. recomend this book to anyone who has read David Weber's "Honour Harrington" series and Louis McMaster Bujold'S "Miles Vorkossigan Adventures". only one question will there be another book? if so when?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Valour's Choice, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: Valour's Choice: A Confederation Novel (Paperback)
I enjoyed Valour’s Choice from the get-go. The Prologue introduces the world quickly and painlessly then we’re straight away introduced to Staff Sergeant Torin Kerr. I loved Kerr; she’s tough, funny, devoted to her people, and not immune to the charms of the di’Kayan. The story proper begins with the morning after the night before. Kerr’s indulged in some post-battle R&R with a nameless di’Kayan, the most sexually adventurous known race and almost irresistible to humans. Certainly Kerr had no intention of resisting this particular one last night, but now duty calls.

What ought to have been a standard debriefing turns into something less welcome and with a few surprises. Kerr is assigned to a diplomatic mission designed to convince the Silsviss to join the Confederation against the Others. She also has a new senior officer to train up with her unique blend of humour and influence. Kerr is anything but thrilled at her new mission but orders are orders.

I enjoyed how the story developed, both the tedium of diplomatic negotiations, especially for a combat unit, and the unscheduled call to arms. The heroic last stand was pretty exciting and I did like the ending - it just confirmed how very excellent Torin Kerr is. The array of alien races is well imagined; I especially liked the slow, smelly, furry Dornagain. Aside from Kerr there are some other great characters; Lt. Jarret, Cri Sawyes, and Haysole all deserve a mention.

I was very impressed with Valour’s Choice and will definitely go on to read more of the series. This edition also has a bonus short story, which was a nice little extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read !, 22 Aug 2011
By 
Book Addict "jackie" (ABERGAVENNY, MONMOUTHSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Staff Sergeant Torin Kerr is a wonderful invention from author Tanya Huff. She is a professional soldier, a marine, who, in between kicking ass, spends time looking after and guiding a new officer.
The mission is a diplomatic one, tasked to encourage an alien species (The Silviss) to join a Confederation of allies fighting a formidable enemy. It all seems to be going well, in spite of her dislike of and unfamiliarity of diplomacy and protocol, but suddenly, following a crash while on route to yet another diplomatic event she and her platoon are forced to fight the young of the Silviss.
While reading I was struck by the similarity between the battle and the fight from the film Zulu, between the Brits and the Zulus. And , indeed the author freely admits that her battle was loosely based on the film, although there is no competitive singing!
The aliens are well drawn, all very different with various strengths and weaknesses,including the intriguingly sexy di'Taykan and the spider-like Mictoc.
I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the books featuring Staff Sergeant Kerr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Valors Choice, 9 Mar 2010
By 
B. Hawkby "metallicatbek" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great fast moving read. Good strong characters which generate a sense of empathy. I like David Weber books and this is in a very similar vein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4d0fc84)

This product

Valour's Choice: A Confederation Novel
Valour's Choice: A Confederation Novel by Tanya Huff (Paperback - 6 Dec 2013)
7.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews