Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good read
I thoroughly enjoyed the book, with its unusual theme and hope that Tanya Huff will write a sequel or a similar story line.
The delivery was on time and I was able to start the book immediately and could not put it down. There were sufficient twists and turns in the plot that, although I expected a "happy ending" it was not certain and indeed there were times...
Published 11 months ago by Busy Lizzy

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Item not dlivered! Still "out with courier!"
Published 2 months ago by Mr D T Musgrove


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good read, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silvered (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed the book, with its unusual theme and hope that Tanya Huff will write a sequel or a similar story line.
The delivery was on time and I was able to start the book immediately and could not put it down. There were sufficient twists and turns in the plot that, although I expected a "happy ending" it was not certain and indeed there were times when I was unsure it would end happily. This is just what I like....but just in case you think I am giving the plot away the ending does have a little twist leaving me desperate for a second book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huff is back!, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silvered (Hardcover)
Tanya Huff is back and better than ever. This book combines the intense interpersonal relationships of the Blood series with the action and drama of her SciFi books. If the forces that be are kind to readers, her publisher asked her to sign a multi-book deal for this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This has some nice fantasy world building, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silvered (Paperback)
This has some nice fantasy world building, starting from the standard content of werewolves and mages, and weaving them into something more, in a post-mediaeval society. As usual with Huff, we feel the realistic grit and grime, and exhaustion, of a campaign.

A good fantasy war complement to the Valor series. I wonder if we will see more of Mirian’s world?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silvered (Kindle Edition)
Another readable book from Tanya Huff. Fast paced and with a strong female lead, it is the kind of story I like, and without any pretensions to realism, the book did however have its own logic and was an enjoyable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent multi-layered story, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silvered (Paperback)
Just finished this. Excellent fantasy adventure with some unexpected twists - or not so much twists in a way but a multi-layered story. It can be read as "just" a fantasy adventure - but it also has some underlying commentary and character development around what is, and is not, moral and what it is reasonable to do as a patriot and what you should not.
The "cast" including the villains were all brilliantly characterised and even minor characters are 3D. It is written as a stand-alone, so far as I can see, but I too hope there will be a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is quite a simple story which is easy to read with good characters, 18 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silvered (Paperback)
This is quite a simple story which is easy to read with good characters. I enjoyed it a lot and tbh it made a change to be able to read a whole story in one book (I'm in the middle of about 8 different series at the moment!). Good characters, interesting take on were-wolves/witches etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silvered (Kindle Edition)
Not a typical 'werewolf' story in any way, the author has created a detailed and complex society, this story has all the elements of characterisation, adventure, danger, tension and heroism. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silvered (Hardcover)
Big fan of Tanya Huff's and this is another excellent book. Characters you can live with and want to find out more about, hopefully we may get a sequel one day, after the sequel to Wild Ways maybe ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars similar to Ann Bishop ?, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silvered (Kindle Edition)
Hi - I loved this book timeless set in another world - characters who are interesting made me page turn quickly to see how they were faring ! So I read it very quickly.......
Thought it similar to Ann Bishops The jewels series - I have not read a lot of Tanya Huffs' work been meaning too - can highly recommend this as a good story hopefully the start of a new series - intriguing world. Loved the asides to an overbearing mother shades of Jane Austin?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Fantasy Outing, 29 Nov 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Silvered (Paperback)
I'm a reader who loves a good fantasy story, they take you on a journey that not only delivers a solid kickass story but also gives the reader a tale that whilst appearing relatively straight forward has some wonderfully solid twists that go to show that what is originally perceived as a straight line, is often a long and complex road.

Here in this book by renowned UF author Tanya Huff is a story that brings out the spirit of man with the fantastical elements, whilst present, secondary to the characters development. Its well written, the prose sharp and when added to characters that you really want to spend time with gives the reader a magical outing. Add to this some great dialogue and all round I was a more than happy reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silvered
The Silvered by Tanya Huff (Paperback - 8 Nov 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews