Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning vehicle designs from Daniel Simon again, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Timeless Racer: Machines of a Time Traveling Speed Junkie (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:55 Mins

Daniel Simon who put out the amazing vehicle concept art book Cosmic Motors in 2007 is finally back with a new book in The Timeless Racer.

After Cosmic Motors was published, he has went on to work on films like Tron: Legacy, Prometheus, Marvel's Captain America and Oblivion.

The Timeless Racer is Daniel Simon's personal project, one that he took time off in 2011 from movie work to create. It's a cumulative of 4,500 hours of work in the book.

It's a big 12 by 14 inch hardcover book. The beautiful cover is of matte smooth surface. There are only 72 pages so you'll most likely be left wanting more after looking at the amazing visuals and work inside, and also if you compared it to the 176-page Cosmic Motors.

The book is designed like one of those luxurious picture books on race cars and legends. In this case, we are introduced to the world of futuristic racing with a time-traveling race driver Vic Cooper, and his record-breaking team Masucci.

The visuals are created with a blend of photography and 3D renders. The huge canvas of the book really shows off the detail and beauty of the cars. The gloss, decals and designs are just wonderful. There are also some schematic concept sketches. The designs of the cars are like super evolved F1 race cars but sleeker. They are not exactly sci-fi designs but feel real enough that they could be from the future.

Even the photo shoots are handled with attention to detail with custom made costumes, and even in one picture, some girl was wearing a pair of headphones, on them were printed with Masucci logo. Vic Cooper's boots are also stamped with those logos. Look at the photos carefully to spot all these little details.

Towards the back, there are also some race track layouts, and behind-the-scenes photos on how the photos were created.

It's an artbook of stunning visuals.

Note that in addition to the standard hardcover edition, there are also the limited slipcase edition and an even more limited Pitlane-club edition. Those would be available on publisher Design Studio Press website. The books come with English, French and German text. And there's a Japanese edition as well.

(See more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just 'WOW', 22 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Timeless Racer: Machines of a Time Traveling Speed Junkie (Hardcover)
What can I say, this is the MUST have for anyone who wondered what Group C could have grown into!

The pictures are amazing and the story behind it makes you wish we could achieve the things you read.

I can't wait to see what comes out again from Daniels head, this is the ideal addition to any Motorsport fans coffee table or bookshelf (just make sure it's a tall shelf as at 12" x 14" this is no small book)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly inspirational and brilliant book., 10 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: The Timeless Racer: Machines of a Time Traveling Speed Junkie (Hardcover)
Asked for and got this for Christmas and was by far my favourite present. I loved the previous Cosmic Motors book so was very excited when I learnt about this. The concept of creating a history to go along with the superb 3d renderings is brilliant and makes for a compelling alternate history. As ever the renderings are flawless and the attention to detail is incredible, you can feel the passion. Being in a similar line of business I know just how much work goes in to getting this kind of result.

The books size and printing quality make it a pleasure to read. Cannot wait for the next instalment.

If you love cars, motor racing or art then get this book. May have to buy one of the special editions so they will look cool on my shelf when the new editions are released.

Buy this now and the Cosmic Motors book, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Timeless Racer, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Timeless Racer: Machines of a Time Traveling Speed Junkie (Hardcover)
If you have a racing soul then you will be moved by this stunning creation. Unique. Lose yourself in the superb detail. Dream machines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the hype, 10 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Timeless Racer: Machines of a Time Traveling Speed Junkie (Hardcover)
As a 3D artist and Cosmic Motors fan I was intrigued enough to buy this latest instalment. On the face of it is a very exciting book which is physically stunning in its oversize square aspect. Unfortunately I don't think there is enough variation in the content with many of the cars looking too similar for me. I also do not think the renderings have the same depth of the images in Cosmic motors. They seem to lack the sparkle which really inspired me the first time round. Still, totally amazing stuff and a talent I can only aspire and dream to get close to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Beautiful. A Must Own, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Timeless Racer: Machines of a Time Traveling Speed Junkie (Hardcover)
I was on the order list for this in March, so I had been feeling much sadness at the delay. Finally understand why every second was worth the wait.

First, it is so brilliantly presented - massive size, exceptional print quality. A genuinely nice product to hold.

Every page is a delight. The balance of the layout, the quality of the designs and artwork within. I found Cosmic Motors very inspiring, and this has upped the game again.

Regardless of whether you are a designer, artist, race enthusiast or just a dreamer, you will have a lot of fun.

The only upset was getting to the end. So take your time and fully appreciate the care that has gone into each page. Then start looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Timeless Racer: Machines of a Time Traveling Speed Junkie (Hardcover)
After reading Daniels "Cosmic Motors" I didn't think there would be a book like it, let alone better again.

How wrong was I, Daniel has done it again. I have a huge love for the Le Mans/FIAWEC endurance racing. This book fuels that love with it's futuristic take on the cars and races. It is cover to cover with glorious illustrations and a story to go with them.

With more to come I'd grab one while you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly produced, amazing attention to detail, so exciting!, 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Timeless Racer: Machines of a Time Traveling Speed Junkie (Hardcover)
Just received this book today; after being hotly anticipated by myself and a number of my friends who are also car designers, this absolutely does not disappoint. Daniel Simon's work has, over the years, deservedly gained a reputation for being stunningly well resolved and a fantastic source of conceptual inspiration. After a number of delays and a lot of waiting, thankfully this book absolutely lives up to that reputation!

The size of the book makes it such a joy to look through and really drink in the details and colours. The back story that has been carefully created is highly compelling and really draws you into the "Timeless Racer" universe. Some of the full page spreads are absolutely stunning and are true pieces of art, celebrating and communicating the rush and raw excitement that motor racing has whilst also pointing to what the future might have in store. A genuinely cinematic experience in printed form.

Even if you have just a passing interest in cars or motor racing, I can't see how you couldn't be excited by this book and want to keep coming back to it.

The best stories are the ones that make you wish that they were real; "Timeless Racer" absolutely achieves this and I can't wait for future instalments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Timeless Racer: Machines of a Time Traveling Speed Junkie
The Timeless Racer: Machines of a Time Traveling Speed Junkie by Daniel Simon (Hardcover - 6 Dec 2013)
26.03
Usually dispatched within 7 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews