Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Pacific Rim, 22 Jun 2013
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Man, Machines & Monsters (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:24 Mins

SPOILERS APPEAR IN THE FLIP-THROUGH VIDEO BESIDE

-

Pacific Rim: Man, Machines, and Monsters is the art-and-making-of book for the film.

It's a great book. Big, hardcover, 156-pages. There are additional sticked on materials on the pages, stickers and two big posters.

The book is packed with amazing content. There are lots of concept art, set photography and lengthy writeup on the production. Everything's beautifully laid out.

The concept art consist of the characters, Jaeger robots, Kaiju monsters and film scenes. The bulk of the art, more than half the book, is on the Jaegers and Kaijus. The development art are just awesome. They are very detailed. There are Jaegers with their front and back with closeups to their heads, battle damaged versions, 3D wireframes, 3D gray models and some discarded concepts.

Kaijus are crustacean-lizards-insect inspired. The designs look great, menacing, and dangerous. The texture work is really well done. The sculpted maquettes look terrific. There are twelve Kaijus if I counted correctly. Guillermo Del Toro has his unique sense of art direction. It's clear he likes monsters very much. Kudos to Hugo Martin, Alex Jaeger, Francisco Ruiz Velasco and other artists on the designs also.

The set designs are illustrated with mainly photographs and art. Again, they are very detailed and there's a strong sense of worn and tattered feel to most places.

The commentary is excellent. There's plenty to read about the characters, the designs of the Jaegers and Kaijus, and many stories on the production process.

This is a fantastic art and companion book to the movie. One of my 2013 favorites.

Highly recommended.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guillermo Del Toro's attention to details is awesome, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Man, Machines & Monsters (Hardcover)
First off I was a little surprised when I got this book as it follows the Vault books and includes little bonus items throughout. Anyway Guillermo Del Toro's films are known for there attention to detail and this book certainly shows the details behind the designs for the robots and monsters and sundry other behind the scenes designs and trivia. I was so impressed with this book I poured through every page upon receiving it (a rare thing indeed.)

I haven't seen the film yet so I can't comment more. I'm off to the IMAX to see it later this week and if the book is anything to go by it will be amazing....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really great book, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Man, Machines & Monsters (Hardcover)
great book, with lots of extras. Well written and full of detail about the creative film making process, well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality and indepth, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Man, Machines & Monsters (Hardcover)
For all those who loved the movie i highly recommend this book. Alot of details of every little thing that this movie went through... its there, from places to robots, monsters, crew cards, sketches and so on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful, if typical, coffee-table book, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Man, Machines & Monsters (Hardcover)
Plenty of good, high-quality images. Very little in the way of explanatory text, but this is usual for the genre; if you're looking at this book for in-depth info, it will not deliver. This is a book to look at, not to read, and for that purpose it is excellent. Quality content, an interesting mix-up of concept work, photography, CG and film stills.

My only real complaint is the removable inserts drive me crazy. They pop up once every four or five pages. I don't like taking these things out of the book as they could get lost, but that means I'm left picking something up off the floor every few seconds as it drops out while I flick through the pages.

It wouldn't be a bad idea to invest in a thin cardboard folder to store the additional content in.

-Ash
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Man, Machines & Monsters (Hardcover)
L overly book. Great and readable text - film makers can be very dull sometimes when it comes to writing about what they have done. Super pictures, great extras, and it doesn't give away the plot too much. Definitely a must for those of us who love their movie tie in books, and I've got lots I might add.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Man, Machines & Monsters (Hardcover)
If you love the film, have an appreciation for art, and books that go the extra step to make it really great - buy this book! You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Man, Machines & Monsters (Hardcover)
great artwork, concept artwork, baughtifull pictures from behind the scenes about how this masterpiece of a movie was made...!
and all of that in one book that you just can't get enough of reading...!
recommended reading material I would say!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Man, Machines & Monsters (Hardcover)
This book of man and machines and monsters is a joy to view. The photographs and images are spectacular and the information is well presented. A must for fans of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 156 pages of awesome..., 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pacific Rim: Man, Machines & Monsters (Hardcover)
I LOVE THE kAIJUS, love robots, this books is like a "in proccess" bible... I'mnot into the robot fever bur the monsters are just so great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pacific Rim: Man, Machines & Monsters
Pacific Rim: Man, Machines & Monsters by Guillermo Del Toro (Hardcover - 18 Jun 2013)
£20.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews