Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Man of Steel - Art Book
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:04 Mins
Fans of "Man of Steel" should enjoy this book. It primarily focuses on the visual aspects of the film -- director Zack Snyder and his design team really do a great job of creating a unique-looking movie, so it's nice to have a book on the subject.

It's worth noting that around 75% of the book is designated to all...
Published 1 month ago by JMM

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not that good
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:27 Mins
I wasn't very impressed by this Man of Steel art book. It's not bad but it's not that good either.

There aren't many character designs. Strangely, Zod's the only character with art featuring various designs. The rest of the characters, including Superman, are just shown with one or two illustrations or photos. The designs are the...
Published 18 months ago by Parka


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not that good, 23 Jun 2013
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:27 Mins

I wasn't very impressed by this Man of Steel art book. It's not bad but it's not that good either.

There aren't many character designs. Strangely, Zod's the only character with art featuring various designs. The rest of the characters, including Superman, are just shown with one or two illustrations or photos. The designs are the finalised ones. There's nothing on Superman's new suit besides the brief mention by director Zack Synder that underwear outside is no longer cool nowadays. The cover does have a nice embossed S with repeating patterns from the fabric of Superman's suit.

The concept art are generally nice but there aren't any mind blowing pieces in particular. There are some beautiful detailed pieces but also pretty rough ones. The overall tone is quite dark with a sense of grim throughout. There's a preference for the strong use of shadows, either to obscure detail or to suggest I'm not too sure, but I feel it's for the former because the detail I want to see usually fades into the shadow.

The art feels quite static. Environment art are meant to be static but I mean those scene paintings with characters. There are many pieces with characters just standing on location. Superman usually stands alone staring into space. Comics usually have their characters in dynamic poses. Not so here. And there aren't any storyboards. You won't get the idea that this is an action film from the art.

There aren't any set photography on the props and locations. Most of the photos included are film stills, mostly portraits, but they look great.

The commentary is quite insightful and focuses on the design and direction of the film. It talks mainly about the interpretation of the characters and stories for the audience that are so used to superhero movies nowadays. There's not much on the actual production shoot and stories behind the scenes.

Those who have watched the film would probably enjoy this book more but that would also depend on what you're expecting.

I recommend flipping through the book before you buy.

3.5 out of 5 stars.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something Missing., 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed the movie so decided to buy this book. I do wish now though, that I had a chance to browse it first. Although it is beautifully packaged and bound, and has superb reproduction of the art and stills from the film, for me, it just doesn't have enough in it. The book has a lot of colour reproduction of the concept art, which are fantastic. However, many of these are two page spreads and I believe they could have reduced some of them in size so more sketches, prop designs and behind the scenes photo's could have been included. It feels that something is missing.

A good book, but not fantastic, unlike the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Man of Steel - Art Book, 8 Nov 2014
This review is from: Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:04 Mins

Fans of "Man of Steel" should enjoy this book. It primarily focuses on the visual aspects of the film -- director Zack Snyder and his design team really do a great job of creating a unique-looking movie, so it's nice to have a book on the subject.

It's worth noting that around 75% of the book is designated to all things Krypton (even though only 20-30 min of the movie are spent there). To be fair, the Krypton portion of the film is perhaps the most creative and certainly worthy of inclusion here. The book goes in-depth on Krypton environments, technology, costumes, and creatures. Many of the concept art is really great (and printed full-page). Also included are samples of the written language and symbols used on Krypton - it's fascinating to see how much detail went into portraying a realistic civilization.

But this leaves only 25% of the book focused on the rest of the movie and Earth. Overall, the book does leave something to be desired. In particular, I would have liked to have more insight into the design and creation of the Superman costume (it only gets about 2-3 pages).

It's definitely worth buying this book if you can find it for a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just a big ol' book of movie art., 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman (Hardcover)
Just a big ol' book of movie art, nothing like the previous dark knight rises but then again superman has no gadgets to delve into. Definately one for fans to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing book, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman (Hardcover)
I have a large collection of books that are "art of " or film related and this has been one of the most disappointing one's that I have purchased for sometime. Maybe I was expecting to much, but given the directors track record with his openness to the film making process, the book gives almost nothing away. Sure their is plenty of concept art and a few set photos, but most of these have already been used to publicise the film and can be found in other places. My copy of the book also suffered from some of the pages being stuck together, due to the ink not being dry before the book was bound. Overall I would only recommend this book to the diehard fan who cannot live without anything to do with superman. For the rest of us mere mortals, wait for the blue ray release and hope that the film studio and director puts as much effort into the extras as they did with the watchmen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie tie-in for the Superfan!, 19 Jun 2013
This review is from: Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman (Hardcover)
I received this book the day after it's release and for someone who is a self confessed Superman fan I must say I love it.
The hardcover is beautifully produced, with a textured pattern that mimics the suit that Henry Cavil wears in the film and a raised "S" shield. Combined with a minimalist title, you have a product that will look fantastic on any fan's bookcase.

The book itself is a behind the scenes look at the production of the recently released film and as such offers insights into the different facets of the production. Everything from examples of the kryptonian language, through to the design of the various costumes and profiles of the actors and their respective characters is covered.
Accompanied by high quality photos from behind the scenes, a wide selection of beautiful concept art, and commentaries by both Christopher Nolan and Zack Snyder, fans get an exclusive look at not only the process of producing the film but an insight into the minds of those who made it possible.

Overall an interesting and well produced book to accompany the release of "Man Of Steel" and a wonderful edition to the collection of any Superfan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman (Hardcover)
if you are like me and like knowing the how did they do that? and why?, this is the book for you, the photos and drawings are stunning too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman (Hardcover)
75 years ago this superhero was born and he is still as new today as he was then ...the graphics are amazing and the story captivates the reader. Zach Snyder did an excellent job and he chose the perfect actor to play the part xXx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Art concept and insider guide, 26 July 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman (Hardcover)
Whilst I'm a huge fans of films, the viewer on really gets to see the final product on the screen and not all the hard work that has gone before, so when I get the chance to review books that bring information to the fore that take you not only into the world that they're trying to produce buy the minds of those within it's a title that I have a lot of fun with.

Here in this title the reader is treated to the training regime of the principle actor, the original artwork in creating Krypton, comments that bring the whole thing to life and images of the cast as they bring it all to life. It's a great book, one that has a lot to offer the reader and for me, more than made up for the sadly lacking Man of Steel Novelisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing pictures, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman (Hardcover)
and words too. This book is full of info on the making of the movie and is a necessary addition to my collection of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman
Man of Steel: Inside the Legendary World of Superman by Daniel Wallace (Hardcover - 18 Jun 2013)
£23.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews