Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Nikki Heat adventures yet
For the uninitiated; the Nikki Heat series is a series of companion novels to the U.S TV series 'Castle' written by "Richard Castle" (the main character of the show, who is writing a series of books based on the exploits of Detective Kate Beckett). The books are, basically, like props from the show. Like the previous instalments in the Nikki Heat series, 'Deadly Heat'...
Published 10 months ago by Tim

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Same characters, different author?
I really loved the Heat series, until now. No, I'm not saying that all of a sudden I've stopped enjoying the books; I'm only saying that Deadly Heat is so predictable that it just makes no sense.

It was the suspense and the mystery that kept the pages turning in the previous novels, and these two elements seem to have gone missing from the latest installment...
Published 9 months ago by Lakis Fourouklas


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Nikki Heat adventures yet, 8 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the uninitiated; the Nikki Heat series is a series of companion novels to the U.S TV series 'Castle' written by "Richard Castle" (the main character of the show, who is writing a series of books based on the exploits of Detective Kate Beckett). The books are, basically, like props from the show. Like the previous instalments in the Nikki Heat series, 'Deadly Heat' follows NYPD detective Nikki Heat and her partner/lover Jameson Rook. This time, we see them continuing the hunt for the man responsible for the murder of Heat's mother years before, while simultaneously pursuing a serial killer who marks out Heat as his next target. This book, like the previous four in the set, basically plays out like an episode of 'Castle' and reading the book you can see those characters in your mind(Heat=Beckett, Rook=Castle etc...) This book, like the others, does not take itself too seriously and that makes it an enjoyable read; the characters are engaging and fun, without being too cliché and the plot moves along at a steady rate and throws the occasional twist at you (some I saw coming, others I did not) I loved this book simply because it is fun and easy to read, you can just switch off and enjoy it without having to think too much and sometimes I want that.
It isn't perfect though (yes, just because I loved it doesn't mean I am blind to its faults). In this case: where this book does suffer, in my opinion, is that it does rely on having read the previous book- 'Frozen Heat'. The first four novels, you could pretty much just pick up any of them and read them without having to have read any others, each one of them gave you enough back story that you could relate to the characters and understand what was happening. With this one, however, there is much more emphasis on events that occurred in the previous book and in a way it kind of becomes 'Frozen Heat-Part II). Having read that book it doesn't cause me a problem, but I'm not sure if it would be as enjoyable to someone who has not read the previous instalment.
Despite that, I would rate this as one the best of the Nikki Heat books. I will accept that this style of book isn't going to be everyone's liking, but it does make perfect reading if you in the mood for some silly harmless fun that you can lose yourself in; it would make excellent holiday reading, for example. I thoroughly enjoyed 'Deadly Heat' and would recommend this to anyone (assuming they'd read the last one; if not I would say read it AFTER you read 'Frozen Heat')
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These books keep getting better!, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could be extremely biased in giving this book 5*'s purely because I love Castle!!

This is the fifth Nikki Heat novel which ties in to the TV show Castle and follows on from where Frozen Heat ended with Nikki still trying to find the people behind her mother's murder - something which ties in to Beckett's story on the show. Nikki ends up juggling 2 cases, still investigating her mother's case along with a new serial killer that ends up targeting her. This case also bears a resemblance to a case that Beckett and Castle investigated in Season 2 - the 2 part one which had Dana Delany as an FBI agent - where someone targeted Beckett referring her to as Nikki Heat and trying to outsmart her.

There are so many nods to the TV show and to Nathan's time on Firefly. Even going so far as to say that that Nathan fellow would be great to play Jameson Rook in a Hollywood adaptation of his articles about Nikki Heat. Also having two detectives called Malcolm & Reynolds. Plus there are characters in the book using the same names as characters from the show.

Although this series does stand alone as a good read with great storytelling I know that I enjoy them more simply because of my love for the show.

I'd love to know who the actual author is - unless Nathan Fillion has been working hard behind the scenes and has gone method in writing these books!!

Another great Nikki Heat book - they just keep getting better with each one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars By far the best if the Richard Castle books, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadly Heat (Nikki Heat 5) (Paperback)
By far the best of the Richard Castle books. Having read all of the Nikki Heat series and being a big fan of the TV show I have found at times the storylines of the Heat novels to have too much déjà vu, as if you are just watching an old episode of Castle slightly re-written. Deadly Heat stands away from its predecessors as a solid crime novel with a more original and gripping storyline.

You would benefit from having read Frozen Heat before this as this is the continuation of that story. Fans of Nathan Fillion's previous TV series Firefly will enjoy the side references though I found the addition of the characters Detectives Malcolm and Reynolds do make it harder to take the book seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great story... but then I'm biaised. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A different Castle, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadly Heat (Nikki Heat 5) (Paperback)
Great holiday read. Much better than I expected. Really good plot. Couldn't put it down. Now waiting for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fun book in the Heat series, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Althouhg they will never be classics, I thoroughly enjoy the crossover with the tv series, they are brilliant books to take on holiday and look forward to each installment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! The best so far!, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadly Heat (Nikki Heat 5) (Paperback)
If you like the Heat series you'll love this one! Excellent plot and clever hints alluding to the actual tv series.
Loved the mystery and how he handled it.
Had I known that it was THAT good I would have bought the hard cover edition...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy fun!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes it's a TV Castle tie in, and yes that's pretty much the reason I bought it, but the story is quite good even if the writing is a little cheesy in places (especially with character names!), but if you enjoy Castle the TV show, you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another pleasant read from 'Richard'. What I like about all the Heat the books is that they are a spin off of the series but are a good read. Several series have fostered spin off books but many of them are either formulaic, obvious or just not worth the time (IMHO). The Heat books are worth the read and not just for fans. I also like the tie in in that 'Richard' is writing the 'Heat' books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 15 April 2014
I enjoy the tv series so I thought I would read the books, they are also very good enjoyed the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deadly Heat (Nikki Heat 5)
Deadly Heat (Nikki Heat 5) by Richard Castle (Paperback - 25 April 2014)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews