Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fleshes out the series wonderfully
Over the course of four novels, Sir Maurice Newbury and Miss Veronica Hobbes have combatted foes both technological and occult, serving as agents of the crown to protect and foster the interests of her majesty, Queen Victoria. They're not alone in their endeavors, at times enlisting the help of, at other times being seconded to, Sir Charles Bainbridge, chief inspector of...
Published 6 months ago by gutenbergsson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I was left wanting more
My conclusion on reading these stories is that whilst they have good ideas, they could be so much more. Unlike Sherlock Holmes (who inhabits the same time and world and occasionally makes an appearance) pthere isn't a sense of coherence and logic to the deductions the detectives make. There's also an overall lack of detail and explanation of the steam-punk world they...
Published 1 month ago by Max Speed


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fleshes out the series wonderfully, 6 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Casebook of Newbury & Hobbes (Newbury & Hobbes Investigations) (Paperback)
Over the course of four novels, Sir Maurice Newbury and Miss Veronica Hobbes have combatted foes both technological and occult, serving as agents of the crown to protect and foster the interests of her majesty, Queen Victoria. They're not alone in their endeavors, at times enlisting the help of, at other times being seconded to, Sir Charles Bainbridge, chief inspector of Scotland Yard. However, everyone has an origin story, and The Casebook of Newbury and Hobbes is Mann's way of fleshing out the history of Newbury and Hobbes during the periods not chronicled by the novels. It also reveals a ghost of the past in the person of Templeton Black, Newbury's former assistant, and introduces the future in Peter Rutherford, a member of the British Secret Service who will go on to create his own legacy.

According to the author's notes, each of these stories can be found in other venues, but this is the first time they've been compiled into a Newbury and Hobbes collection. Overall, it's an excellent addition to Mann's Steampunk universe, filling in some of the details of Newbury's past and looking forward to the future of his "Ghost" series of roaring twenties novels set in a Steampunk New York. Stand out stories include his Sherlock homage, The Case of the Night Crawler and his tribute to H.P. Lovecraft, Strangers from the Sea. My personal favourite is The Shattered Teacup, which brings to mind the best of both Arthur Conan Doyle and Agatha Christie. It's a fun murder mystery with obvious steampunk influence in the clockwork owl that proves essential to solving the case. The only story that falls flat (for me, at least) is What Lies Beneath, but honestly, that owes more to my distaste for epistolary writing than anything Mann did with the story.

The Casebook of Newbury and Hobbes is a seamless blend of Victorian detective story sprinkled with Steampunk elements and a dash of the occult. Mann captures the flavour of Victorian mystery fiction usually identified with Arthur Conan Doyle and manages to put a steampunk flourish to it. It's a great addition to the universe established in the Newbury and Hobbes mysteries, fleshing out the series for those fans that want to see a bit more. However, if you haven't faithfully followed the series from the outset, it may not be the book for you. Simple solution for those who are unfamiliar--get yourselves to a bookstore and catch up on the series before delving into this wonderful backstory of Newbury and Hobbes, occult detectives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another excellent addition to the Newbury and Hobbes universe, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives background and fills in some of the blanks. We learn a little more about Angelchrist and the relationshipmbePerfect bedtime read,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection of stories, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Casebook of Newbury & Hobbes (Newbury & Hobbes Investigations) (Paperback)
An interesting selection here which fills a few gaps in the existing series .as well as stand alone stories that in the main work well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I was left wanting more, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My conclusion on reading these stories is that whilst they have good ideas, they could be so much more. Unlike Sherlock Holmes (who inhabits the same time and world and occasionally makes an appearance) pthere isn't a sense of coherence and logic to the deductions the detectives make. There's also an overall lack of detail and explanation of the steam-punk world they inhabit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joining up the dots, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable short stories in their own right, tying up a lot of loose threads from the novels even Dr Who and Sherlock Holmes are involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good background to the Newbury & Hobbes universe, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Casebook of Newbury & Hobbes (Newbury & Hobbes Investigations) (Paperback)
I have been fan of George Mann's alternative history stories since picking up "TheAffinity Bridge" at an airport a few years back. While the stories here stand on their own merit they also provide some background into the character of Sir Maurice Newbury that explain some of his reactions in the main novels. We also get a teasing look at the character Templeton Black and the promise of more stories including this brandy drinking investigator. Bring them on Mr. Mann bring them on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Annette Baca (Bothell, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Casebook of Newbury & Hobbes (Newbury & Hobbes Investigations) (Paperback)
Clever plots and of course the characters are always delightful. Caveat, I did like some of the stories better than others, but of course that's generally the case with an anthology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Casebook of Newbury & Hobbs, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book from start to finish the characters were well rounded and I felt like is was right there in the story with them. This is my first foray into the Newbury & Hobbs genre but I am certain that it will not be my last!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Read, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Casebook of Newbury & Hobbes (Newbury & Hobbes Investigations) (Paperback)
George Mann is on spiffing form with this collection of short stories, great fill-in stories that help link the novels and a taste of the future too. Already looking forward to volume two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Casebook of Newbury & Hobbes (Newbury & Hobbes Investigations) (Paperback)
I was most disappointed in this book, it is allegedly a casebook and yet there are very few cases in it, I have read many other casebooks of detectives and they are just that casebooks, not stories about one person interviewing another about cases that are only mentioned in passing, maybe the title should have been brief details of a few cases
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Casebook of Newbury & Hobbes (Newbury & Hobbes Investigations)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews