Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in the Nikki Heat series
Frozen Heat is by far the best novel in the Nikki Heat series. In here we have lots of action, mystery, secrets and lies, and a love affair that comes to full blossom in the streets of Manhattan, Boston and Paris.

While reading this book I have somehow felt that Nikki Heat and Jameson Rook have stepped into Derrick Storm's shoes; however that's because the...
Published 21 months ago by Lakis Fourouklas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok but not as good as book 3
I had high hopes for book 4 in the series, yet unfortunately it fails to ignight the passions and character depth that made the previous instalment such a good read. To me whilst the plot has a good idea to begin with its poorly executed and as feel of a series of events thrown together than a crafted script.

For castle fans you can see some of the corilation...
Published 10 months ago by nemo man


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in the Nikki Heat series, 29 Oct 2012
Frozen Heat is by far the best novel in the Nikki Heat series. In here we have lots of action, mystery, secrets and lies, and a love affair that comes to full blossom in the streets of Manhattan, Boston and Paris.

While reading this book I have somehow felt that Nikki Heat and Jameson Rook have stepped into Derrick Storm's shoes; however that's because the novel at hand reads not only as a classic whodunit but also as a spy story.

The body of a woman, stubbed to death, is discovered in a suitcase and Nikki Heat is called to the scene to investigate. And before too long she's shocked to discover that the suitcase used to belong to her. It was stolen by the man who murdered her mother.

But why? Why did he use that specific suitcase to dispose of the body? What does he seek to achieve by leaving such an obvious clue behind? Was the dead woman in some way connected with her mother? If yes, how did she know her? And when?

She feels at a loss at first, and as the story unfolds, she doesn't get to feel any better. In fact, if it wasn't for Jameson, she'd probably go nuts. Her partner in bed and in crime solving, is always there, for whatever she needs. And since he took a bullet for her, while trying to save her life, he's become a hero of sorts for the cops. And it's exactly this newfound popularity that they are going to use in order to solve the crime; but also, oh yes, some of his money.

As we follow Nikki and Jameson from place to place, while they retrace her mother's footsteps and she's trying to make peace with her dad, we see this strong and determined woman at her most vulnerable moments. The past seems to haunt her all the way, and until she finds the answers she's looking for, she's not going to rest. But will the answers give her the peace of mind that she needs? By the looks of it, no, they won't.

So, what do you do when you find out that your mother was not at all the person that you remembered her to be? How do you react when her dark secrets come to light? How do you live today and plan for tomorrow when you come to realize that most of yesterday was nothing but a lie?

The reader watches Nikki closely as she takes a deep breath and dives into her mother's secret past, and in the end he can feel nothing but sympathy for her plight. However, at the same time, one can say that that poor soul is blessed since right there, standing next to her, is Jameson, somebody who would do everything in his power to help and protect her, and, most important of all in times of darkness, make her smile.

Well-written, action-packed, rich in character development and with light touches of humor, Frozen Heat is the complete package. Read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can Nikki Solve a Frozen Case?, 28 Sep 2012
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frozen Heat (Paperback)
At first, it looks like just another bazaar murder to NYPD Detective Nikki Heat. A woman has been found in a suitcase in a delivery truck's freezer compartment. But then Nikki takes a closer look at the suitcase and discovers her initials in the top. She carved them there when she was a little girl. And the suitcase was stolen when her own mother was murdered a decade ago.

Pulling in every available person, including writer and boyfriend Jameson Rook, Nikki begins investigating the fresh murder and reopening the cold case of her own mother's murder. Will this new corpse help her solve the one case she most wants to solve?

I was surprised when I realize where the plot of this book was going since on the TV show Castle, Beckett wasn't quite to this point when the book came out. But since the plot goes in a very different direction than the TV series, it makes sense. And the end will definitely leave you wanting more.

As always, catching the references to the show and watching the characters based on those characters adds to the fun. But if you aren't a fan of the show, you'll still get a great mystery out of it. There are plenty of twists and things don't resolve until the last few pages.

Unfortunately, the writing is still a factor. It's lazy, telling instead of showing and head hopping like crazy between Nikki and Rook. It seemed better in the last one, but it's worse again here.

Fans of the series certainly won't mind, and if you enjoy a good book you'll still enjoy this one. Just know it isn't as fast a read as it could be as a result of the poor writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love all the castle books and DVD's.
they are a must when they come out on release.
Can't wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen Heat (Paperback)
A excellent read

Ignore the television programme, the Nikki Heat series are must read. Starting with Heat Wave, the story builds through each of the books, finally finishing with Frozen Heat.

Only one question to ask. Is there going to be a fifth book because the writers cannot leave the readers in limbo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to watch the tv show to enjoy, 23 Oct 2012
By 
Luanne Ollivier - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I'm a latecomer to the world of 'Castle' - which is a hit television series built around author Richard Castle's time with the NYPD as a ride along observer with Detective Kate Beckett. Castle has turned those ride alongs into a series of successful books featuring Detective Nikki Heat and writer Jameson Rook. But.....Richard Castle isn't real either. He's portrayed by actor Nathan Fillion who does a fantastic job pitching 'his' writing. With me so far? It's a great fun premise! I enjoyed Heat Rises last year. I don't watch a lot of television, but you don't have to be a fan of the show to enjoy the books.

The fourth book is Frozen Heat. Detective Heat's latest case involves a woman found stabbed and stuffed into a suitcase in Manhattan. Nikki is in shock - her own mother was found killed in this manner. It can't be coincidence. And when she looks closely at the suitcase, she finds her own initials - the suitcase belonged to her. Nikki's mother's murder is unsolved after ten long years. Who has duplicated her murder? Why? Did the two women know each other? As she digs further, whoever is out there seems determined to make Nikki number three.....

I chose to listen to Frozen Heat as I knew the reader - Johnny Heller - was excellent. Although you might think that a male reader for a female protagonist might be an unusual choice, in this case, it just really works. Heller has a unique gravelly voice that is perfect. He modulates it to differentiate between the male and female voices. Much of the charm of Castle's books lies in the short, snappy dialogue and one liners. Heller's animated delivery of these lines is really entertaining.

But, along with all that snappy dialogue, Frozen Heat is a good mystery as well. The plot was well-paced and action filled. The ending left me a bit unsatisfied, but the door has been left open for the next book in the series. And I'll be listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, should be bought with (Deadly Heat:5), 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen Heat (Nikki Heat Series Book Four): 4 (Hardcover)
This was a nice book. I finished it and I just wanted to keep reading... You should definitely buy number 4 and number 5 together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen Heat (Nikki Heat Series Book Four): 4 (Hardcover)
Nathan fillion/richard castle, love his books, the characters of rook and nickii, really take you into the story, its ace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is definitely worth the read!! An amazing story with amazing characters! Castle has out done himself!!!!!!!!!! I can't wait for the next!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars can't wait for the next one!, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Keeps getting better and better. Love the storyline winding between the crimes and the relationship with Heat & Rook.
The "spy" aspect is great. Can't wait until the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love CASTLE, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read the book at least twice very happy with contents and story, can't wait for Rage Heat which i have pre ordered!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frozen Heat (Nikki Heat Series Book Four): 4
Frozen Heat (Nikki Heat Series Book Four): 4 by Richard Castle (Hardcover - 16 Nov 2012)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews