Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another terrific Castle (Patterson!)
Patterson , writing under the name of Richard Castle is without doubt his usual master of mystery, humour intruigue and this the third castle novel (not counting the graphic version) is so good. The constant to/fro between Nikki and Rook( as he is known in the books) is great, Personal lives cross over into the world of criminal detection in all "cast" members, This one...
Published on 14 Oct 2011 by rhosymynydd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick Delivery
I was very satisfied with this,the book was a bit off colour and used but for the price,great value and prompt delivery would recommend this seller to anyone
Published 1 month ago by PaulAinger


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another terrific Castle (Patterson!), 14 Oct 2011
By 
rhosymynydd "liz" (west wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Patterson , writing under the name of Richard Castle is without doubt his usual master of mystery, humour intruigue and this the third castle novel (not counting the graphic version) is so good. The constant to/fro between Nikki and Rook( as he is known in the books) is great, Personal lives cross over into the world of criminal detection in all "cast" members, This one sees Nikk disgraced and cast out with no-one to help other than Rook - we all know it will work out all right in the end - - er, won't it? But this is the best Castle BOOK yet. I thoroughly enjoy the TV series, but it is a great read too. Do buy this one, its really better to read than watch (my personal opinion). Heat Rises (Nikki Heat 3)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great title in the series!, 19 Dec 2011
If you love the show, these books are a must read. They're almost exactly what you'd imagine Richard Castel writing, and quite well written to boot (unsurprising, as they're written by a famous crime writer - we're just not told who). They're not as thick as I would have imagined, but still great storylines and interesting plots.

This one is my favourite so far; the plot is more complex, and there's more action, too.

Warning: theses books are definitely not PG!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 29 Jan 2013
This review is from: Heat Rises (Nikki Heat Series Book Three) (Paperback)
Book 3, in the Nikki Heat series

This series is as entertaining as the TV show "Castle", one of my weaknesses is that I am a huge fan of both. All three books have been a wonderful read, whoever the real author may be (Richard Castle is a character), he is one that has a knack with words. With his graceful prose he knows how to produce a page-turner that has endless boundaries.

"Heat Wave" is a fun romp through the world of imagination. It pairs the tough and sexy NYPD Homicide Detective Nikki Heat with hotshot reporter Jameson Rook in the most dangerous case so far. It opens with the bizarre murder of a parish priest in a New York bondage club. Through the investigation the book takes us deep into the world of sex and bondage and everything related.

As usual Nikki's case becomes even larger than first expected. The writing creatively sends your mind on one red herring after another adding plenty of intrigue and flavor to the story. At one point, clues direct the investigation back to home base were Nikki finds herself caught in the middle creating shock waves for all. Nikki really shows her skills while doing all the legwork from facing down the brass at headquarters to saving her own skin.

The plot is quick paced and entertaining there is enough going on to keep boredom at bay and your mind spinning while trying to speculate what is going to happened next. This is not a complicated mystery but is fun to read perhaps the best one yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite to Date, 17 Oct 2011
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The third book in the Nikki Heat series finds the NYPD detective called to the scene of a murder at a bondage club. The victim is naked with no ID, but Nikki and her team soon learn the victim was a parish priest. Was he hiding a secret life?

While that's a logical leap to make, Nikki soon suspects that something much larger and darker is at play in this case. A second murder makes this case very personal. As the stakes for Nikki keep mounting, can she uncover the truth?

I've read and enjoyed all these books that tie into the TV show Castle, but this is my favorite to date. Lots of things are pulled in from the show, from twists to little throw away bits. Heck, they even make a reference to Rook looking like Nathan Fillion's character in Firefly. The humor seems stronger for much of the book. And the plot was non-stop action. As always, the author tells us a bit too much instead of showing us, but overall it is a very fun book.

So if you enjoy the TV show, be sure to check out this book. You'll find yourself hooked on these clever tie ins in no time at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have enjoyed reading the books and watching the show and can ..., 3 Sep 2014
This review is from: Heat Rises (Nikki Heat Series Book Three) (Paperback)
The books can be read separately to the show but if you know the show you will recognise where some of the story comes from. I have enjoyed reading the books and watching the show and can see the characters of Kate Beckett and Richard Castle within the characters of Nikki Heat and Jamieson Rook and this just adds to the enjoyment of the book, and also the show when they mention something about the books in the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from the get go, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Normally I would say nikki's heat books are aimed exclusivly for castle fans but book three breaks the current mold In that it's an excellent read no matter if your new to the series of just after an intense crime thriller. Some characters are new others return, but honestly once I started reading I couldn't put it down it was that good.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Rises (Nikki Heat Series Book Three) (Paperback)
I love nathan fillion/richard castle, hes a great guy, his books are a great read, you really get into the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for fans of Castle, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderfully entertaining and gripping.
The book is a must for fans of the show Castle as parallels may be drawn between much of the events and places within the story to familiarities and events on the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good read. I was a bit unsure about the 'Castle' connections but it followed the atmosphere really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read first two books in series looked forward to reading this one & it didn't disappoint, well written story keeps you turning pages also has touch of humour which you can actually relate to characters saying. Thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heat Rises (Nikki Heat Series Book Three)
Heat Rises (Nikki Heat Series Book Three) by Richard Castle (Paperback - 26 Oct 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews